Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Bad Tuner Report

Page 1 of 1
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 2:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 191
Hi,

I've been having problems with Toppy 5810 resulting in some maintenance.
Replaced the full set of capacitors for the PSU. Being a retired electronics design and development engineer I changed the capacitors myself and all was well for a few days.

Then the Toppy HDD report suggested it was was on it's last legs so I've just replaced that, using a Samsung HD105SI 1TB SATA 3.5 because it's one of those in 'The List' of working drives, and a Lycom ST-106-2, IDE to SATA adaptor supplied by Andy.

Ok, so far so good, new drive appears to be working just fine. But... I still have a problem with 'No signal at Tuner 1'.

And now I can't find how to post an image in here ! I tried (img)(url)...(/url)(/img), I tried (url)(img)...(/img)(/url), (Yes I know square brackets). I'll have to settle for just the URL... Sorry.

https://pix.sfly.com/N4VbeY

You'll also see the message I get, despite Toppy having been booted for nearly an hour.

Toppy's working ok, but the problem still exists.


Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
ccs
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2481
If you swap the tuner leads around, does the problem still remain on tuner 1?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 191
Thanks for the idea CCS,

I tried that, and the results were much the same, very sleight changes to values, but no warnings.
I swapped 'em back and re-measured, the results were much the same again, very sleight changes to values, and again no warnings.

Poppa.

Edit:
Two images in here, the first is with the connections swapped, the other is swapped back.

Pop.

https://pix.sfly.com/eJKhcS


Last edited by Poppa Mintin on Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:42 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
mstombs
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 937
I'm sure Andy has had to swap tuners before, there is also a transistor that could have been damaged by PSU excursion

https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18995
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4174
I think someone offered a 5810 on the forum a couple of days ago.
It hadn't had the psu repaired but, if you got it, you could move your board into it.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 191
Hmmm....

A new development: A programmed timer kicked in and started recording, actually two kicked in at the same time.
Channel 1 was selected, and channels 3 and 4 started recording. Because channel 1 was playing I didn't notice any change except for a short blank moment. However, a few minutes later my wife switched over to watch channel 3. MyStuff asked did she want to watch from the start or live, she chose start and the whole screen went black... a few moments later I had the 'not running or scrambled' error message (again!)
I found that the programme wasn't being recorded, nor was the programme on channel 4. I stopped both channels recording, they weren't recording anything anyway. Channels 3 and 4 were both still 'black' and so were the other channels on the same mux. A reboot, via the remote, restored them.
I stuck my neck out while SWMBO was watching her show and started recording her channel! it was ok, nothing was lost, but I'm not risking checking that it's actually recording while the programme is still running, nor trying to record a 2nd channel.


Poppa.

Edit:

Yes, the channel recorded from where I started it.

Pop.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
andyfras
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3427
Not so much a new development, just the manifestation of the faulty tuner. At that point you were watching a channel on tuner 2, so the recordings were using tuner 1, which is why they failed (channels 3 & 4 are from the same mux, so only require one tuner).

As Geoff suggests, a replacement Toppy is your best solution:

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=272633#272633

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum