Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Toppy not responding to remote control.

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Hi,

I can't get this forum site's search to work so this may be a repeat question.

I've recently replaced all the electrolytic capacitors in my TF5810 PSU.
I then found I had to re-install z4t to get it to work at all. However I did get it working correctly. When I checked for a firmware update, the reply was that there was no update available, but later without my deliberate instruction Toppy reported that it was up-dating it's firmware, which now reads: -

System ID: 457
Loader version: C5.19
Device version: V5.4.10
Software version: TF-NTP-5.15.09T
Hardware version: V1.01
Last update: Sep 02 2010

I don't believe this has changed from a couple of weeks ago.

Now I have a new problem... Toppy has stopped responding to the remote control.
The batteries are brand new, the remote is a replacement model which signals that it's transmitting, Toppy's indicator says it's receiving the signal, but that's it's only response.

When I re-boot Toppy by switching the mains power off, and then a minute later, switching it on again Toppy works properly responding correctly to commands from the remote. This may last for a day or two (or it might not ! ) before it stops responding to the remote again.

Where ought I to be looking to fix this ?


Poppa.

Edit:

Just checked, no change to info data.

Pop.


Last edited by Poppa Mintin on Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
ccs
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2472
The 5810 has a battery in the front panel.

Try google 5810 battery site:toppy.org.uk

for a link.

This is what you get....

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=252459

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
ccs wrote:
The 5810 has a battery in the front panel.

Try google 5810 battery site:toppy.org.uk

for a link.
Thanks ccs,

Yes, I ought to've said, also, I replaced the button battery with a newly bought one, just a short while ago.

Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4158
I never use the site search interface; I just do a standard google search and, if that doesn't produce anything of interest, I try again for the same search string with "site:toppy.org.uk" added to it.

Your z4t issue is solely due to your computer - it has not been caused by the capacitor changes. If on Win 10, you may have had an automatic update that required the drivers to be reloaded.

You are not running the recommended firmware for MyStuff. If you had been running it, you shouldn't have been affected by a firmware update (it should have a patch to disable over the air updates).

You need to post your MyInfo Log file so that we can see exactly how the toppy is now configured.

Are you sure that the caps have been properly fitted (and they were all changed)?

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2472
There hasn't been an over the air update for donkey's years.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4158
I'm just going by what poppa said he saw. No OTA update doesn't necessarily mean that are not still sending out their latest version (unlikely but possible).

Of course it could just be that he used the Offline MyStuff Installer and he is just reporting that it updated the firmware (as it should do).

We need the MyInfo Log as a first step.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Thanks for the help guys, Ok, herewith MyInfo Log file.


MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 5/11/2018 at 21:59

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 60 seconds from boot

System ID: 457
TV Output: Type = PAL, Video = RGB
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.15.09T dated Sep 02 2010
Base firmware version: 5.15.09

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: PcControl B1.4 : Toppy control from PC
Slot 1: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 2: MyStuff 6.6 : UI Replacement
Slot 3: Font Manager 1.0d : Manage TAP Fonts
Slot 4: Extend v1.7 : Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
Slot 5: SecCache (UK) v0.4 : Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
Slot 6: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 : Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
Slot 7: MHEG On/Off A3 : MHEG control
Slot 8: MyInfo B5.6 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slot 9: PruneEPG 1.0 : Program to remove unnecessary entries from the EIT table
Slots 10 - 15 not used


Installed patch list:- Ab Af Bf Bq C0 Ce Ck Cp Cw De Ec Ef Eg Em Ep Er Es Ev F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot Pc Pe R Ra Rh Rm Rp Rs S Sd Sf Sl Sr Sx Td Te Tf Tp Tq Tt Vr Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 modified thus: €

Unparsed line: <¤>
Patch Decode Link - Will explain your patches:
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbAfBfBqC0CeCkCpCwDeEcEfEgEmEpErEsEvFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPcPeRRaRhRmRpRsSSdSfSlSrSxTdTeTfTpTqTtVrXwXl

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 35 TV channels and 8 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 44 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 13, 14, 15, 24, 28, 33, 100,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 47 are: 1, 2, 9, 231, 232, 250, 700, 702, 703, 704, 710,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 48 are: 19, 31, 47, 715, 718, 731,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 51 are: 20, 21, 27, 30, 34, 44, 57, 266,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 52 are: 12, 29, 32, 46, 48, 233,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 8 MB, Available: 6 MB
Disk - Total: 466 GB, Free: 414 GB

28 recordings (34 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 1 folders (+ 0 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:1 (d:h:m)

Suggested signature for Toppy forum - copy following lines to signature block at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=editprofile
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/11/18


End of log.

Also a new development which may shed some light on my problem, the TV was off... I switched it back on, with Toppy selected as source (as usual) and found that MyStuff was displaying a warning that there was no more space on the HDD. Toppy wouldn't respond to the remote again so I had to re-boot.

My HDD is 500 GB.
Prior to reading your replies I just removed twenty - odd hours of recordings, trying to prevent the same warning recurring, so I don't know exactly how many recording there were, but there are now about 14 hours of recordings in 16 files and Antares now reports: -

450 GB Free / 466 GB Total

I tried to copy the HDD info for you but TopManager wouldn't do it because there's an update to the TAP which I had to download before I could run it... Now I can't find how to run it (I'll try later) but I figure it's more important to get this posted first.


Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:48 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Ok, just ran HDD info: -


Code:
HDDModel:    WDC WD5000AVJB-63J1A0                       6/11/2018 at 01:45
Firmware:    05.04E05
HDDSerial:   WD-WCASY3096870
Disk Space:  450 of 465 GB free
AAM:         Supported     (Mode 4/4: Silent)
APM:         Not supported
Smart:       Enabled, AutoSave On, Tests passed

Attr  Description                 Value Worst Thr        Raw  Flags
0x01  Raw Read Error Rate          194   194   51      36888  0x002f  wpr_os
0x03  Spin Up Time                 166   160   21       4675  0x0027  wp__os
0x04  Start/Stop Count              99    99   ..       1977  0x0032  ___cos
0x05  Reallocated Sector Count     200   200  140          0  0x0033  w__cos
0x07  Seek Error Rate              200   200   ..          0  0x002e  _pr_os
0x09  Power On Hours Count           3     3   ..      71114  0x0032  ___cos
0x0a  Spin Retry Count             100   100   ..          0  0x0032  ___cos
0x0b  Calibration Retry Count      100   100   ..          0  0x0032  ___cos
0x0c  Power Cycle Count             99    99   ..       1018  0x0032  ___cos
0xc0  Power-Off Retract Count      200   200   ..        286  0x0032  ___cos
0xc1  Load Cycle Count             200   200   ..       1968  0x0032  ___cos
0xc2  Device Temperature            88    82   ..         59  0x0022  ____os
0xc4  Reallocated Event Count      200   200   ..          0  0x0032  ___cos
0xc5  Current Pending Sector       183   183   ..       1463  0x0032  ___cos
0xc6  Uncorrectable Sector Count   100   253   ..          0  0x0030  ___c_s
0xc7  UDMA CRC Error Count         200   200   ..         14  0x0032  ___cos
0xc8  Write Preamp Errors          100   253   ..          0  0x0008  __r___




Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4158
Looks like you have lots of pending bad sectors on the disk.


Please run the fsCheck tap stored in the \ProgramFiles\Utilities and post the result in the fsCheck Reports thread

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Please run the fsCheck tap stored in the \ProgramFiles\Utilities and post the result in the fsCheck Reports thread

Geoff


Thanks Geoff, fsCheck posted.

Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Geoff Bacon wrote:

You are not running the recommended firmware for MyStuff. If you had been running it, you shouldn't have been affected by a firmware update (it should have a patch to disable over the air updates).
Geoff


Hi Geoff,
Which firmware ought I to be running? Where should I look to find how to change the firmware and from where to download it?
I wouldn't have guessed I had the wrong firmware, Toppy has (almost) always run as I expect without problems.


Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
ccs
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2472
The spurious OTA firmware update message is a common indication of firmware getting corrupted, nothing at all to do with a real update.

You've already got the latest MyStuff 5810 firmware.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4158
The fsCheck report indicates that the disk is nearing end of life.

Your lack of disk space may have been caused by extremely large recordings e.g. the toppy got stuck and kept recording after the programme finished

Apart from the disk, everything else looks ok.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Poppa Mintin
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 09 May 2011 Posts: 188
Geoff Bacon wrote:
The fsCheck report indicates that the disk is nearing end of life.
Geoff


Thanks Geoff, I suspected as much when I saw the warning.
Please confirm that the firmware, as the name suggests, is on Toppy's motherboard (or similar) and that fitting a new HDD won't affect the firmware.

Is there a HDD that you'd recommend or can I just try to find the same model that's currently fitted? Is there anything I ought not to get? a 1TG drive for instance. I doubt I'd ever actually need a 1TG drive but I think the question's worth asking. We do sometimes leave Toppy running unattended for three months.


Poppa.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 29/9/17
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger TP5810PVRt
ccs
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2472
Replacing the HD won't affect the firmware.

There's a thread somewhere (very old now) detailing which discs will work, because a lot of them won't.

Try https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=264391#264391

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum