Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Get to mystuff from the front panel

Page 1 of 1
halibut
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 230
I think my ir sensor just packed up! Two remotes not working.

Is there anyway to get to mystuff, or at least to recordings just from the front panel while I figure out what's up? The menu button on my 5800 just seems to go to the system menu and I can't see anywhere to get to taps or the recordings with it.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+BmEvEzPePsR0SbScVd TAPs: MHEG Control B2.1; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5;Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/2/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4134
Just guessing but it sounds like you have lost all channels and you are being locked into the system menu until you rescan.

Have all the capacitors in the psu been replaced? If not this is the likely cause of the problem and you should switch it off until they have been replaced. Contact andyfras for details of his repair/replacement services. Do not rescan if you think it is the psu as a scan stresses the toppy.

It is also possible that the toppy file system has been corrupted ( this may or may not be down to a psu problem). If the recordings are important to you, I can recover them for you.
Alternatively, andyfras may be able to get them back for you (I can do a more comprehensive job).

Anyway, switch it off, and post whether or not the psu has been fiuly repaired.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
halibut
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 230
It's still tuned in. Powers up, mystuff roundels go for L and S. BBC BBC on no problems. Just no led response from the remote. Looks like the front panel buttons work for a bit, then stop. Not sure if it's recording anything yet.

Could well be the capacitors. I replaced some with a kit from Andyfras years ago. Possibly need doing again now.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+BmEvEzPePsR0SbScVd TAPs: MHEG Control B2.1; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5;Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/2/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4134
Sounds as though the disk is not corrupted (or not badly anyway).

Every now and again, someone on this site offers a toppy they are getting rid of; suggest you get one (aids diagnosing and a source of spares).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 120
There's a very easy way to find out if the remotes are working, point the remote at a digtal camera (phone will work fine) and press a button you'll be able to see the IR led flashing on the camera.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800
albertd
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 558
If it helps, I recall using the OSDRemote TAP when I first had my Toppy but no remote. My recollection is that it is very fiddly but worked. I have no idea if it is compatible with MyStuff, however.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4134
andyfras recommends changing all the capacitors; advice a few yrears ago was only to change 6 or 8

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
halibut
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 230
So 10:30 last night it starts working again. Responds to the remote, etc. and wakes up for recordings no problem.

I'm talking to AndyFras to see what's needed before it goes again. Thanks for all your help. Smile

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+BmEvEzPePsR0SbScVd TAPs: MHEG Control B2.1; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5;Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/2/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:16 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4134
Suggest switch off until psu fixed - you know all the bits are currently workibg!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 716
FWIW many newer digital cameras and phones don't register the IR any more, so it may be working even if you can't see it in the viewfinder Wink

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum