Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Site news and feedback  ~  Not all script references https

Page 1 of 1
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4134
Hi Nigel.

Just noticed that my chrome browser has a marker next to the star at the right edge of the URL bar. (url = https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/search.php?search_id=newposts )
Hovering the mouse over the marker displays "This page is trying to load scripts from unauthenticated sources"

Adding to this "Site News and feedback" forum displays "Not secure| https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/posting.php?mode=newtopic&f=1" with the https: crossed out.

It all appears to be working but a bit disconcerting (and don't know if I'm supposed to click the marker to make it work)

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:02 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9577
This is probably because I didn't edit any of the site scripts beyond the bare minimum necessary, on account of life just being too short. And instead, the server automatically redirects everything to https anyway.

So, you might see the odd warning, but it should all be delivered over a secure connection.

If Chrome starts to be a real pain about this, then I'll have to go through all the scripts and templates at some stage. Which will be a pretty tedious task

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TopTapper
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Jan 2006 Posts: 223
Hi Nigel

There's potentially an easy win to remove security warnings/blocked content...
firefox wrote:
Blocked loading mixed active content "http://www.google.com/cse/api/branding.css"[Learn More] viewtopic.php
Blocked loading mixed active content "http://www.google.com/cse/api/branding.css"[Learn More] tab.js:1042:10

The first is from viewtopic.php, line 187 (here):
Code:
@import url(http://www.google.com/cse/api/branding.css);
... and might well sort the second.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum