Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Build Offline MyStuff Installer

Page 2 of 3
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
Uploaded version 2.0 of this software

The original MyStuff installer that we have used for years will shortly cease to work (it accesses files on EMJB's site and this is disappearing).

The disappearance of EMJB's site means that versions below 2.0 will also cease to work
V2.0 will not be affected because it uses a consolidated base kit; this eliminates the need to access other sites (apart from the site that provides the logos).
The original Mystuff installer provides HDDInfo v2.3a; the V2.0 kit provides v2.4b (I doubt anyone uses it anyway)

The output kit can be run on the pc that generated it or it can be transferred to another pc (a network connection is not required as the kit does not access the internet))

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
I have just updated the Freeview.dat and FvTxData.tsv files on the GeeCeeBee site.

Please use TopManager| Tools| Install Files to update your toppies.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pjtoppy
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:13 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 10 Location: Manchester
Just wanted to say a big thank you for making the off-line installer.
I installed MyStuff last week after a hard disk died.
Tried to do the same today on a 2nd Toppy
(it suddenly started rebooting during bootup)
and the installer failed.
It was unable to download ChannelOrganiser.zip
Looks like TalkTalk have closed the site down.

Used your off-line installer and it worked flawlessly.

Cheers PJ

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.2; MHEG Control B1; Font Manager 1.0d; SDS V1.3e; MyInfo B5.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/9/10
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
@pjtoppy

Thanks for the feedback confirming that it worked and your kind remarks.
I'm guessing that you used option 1 because there is currently a problem with option 2 (the script file is too large for the Setup program)

I'm currently reworking the whole MyStuff installer mechanism. Bearing in mind the age of the product and the diminishing user base, it's all probably wasted effort but I'm treating it as a challenge to my programming skills.

Just in case you are not aware, I can recover recordings from corrupted toppy disks using my ToppyDiskMedic (TDM) program. This assumes that your issues were due to data corruption rather than mechanical failure (possibly caused by the heat).
If you have decided to just reformat before installing MyStuff then I suggest you run my fsCheck tap (in Utilities folder) and post the results in the fsCheck Reports thread; this will allow me to check the state of the disk hardware.

Just checking: Have all the capacitors in the PSU been changed? If not, contact andyfras for details of his repair and/or PSU swap service


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gramps
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 323
@Geoff

Just realised this may be a better place to post after posting here.

As we both use Google Sites. Are you aware that Google wants us to move our websites to their New Google Sites platform? I'm letting you know as moving to the new google sites will change where you get my logo files from. If I cant work out how to do it.

I think I've got a while before I have to move but it could be by the end of this year. How does it affect you?

gramps

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
They haven't notified me yet so I'm holding off as long as I can (one of my Ukulele groups has switched and I don't like the new layout)

I can currently "easily" update files to say where the logos are; I expect it won't be too difficult on the New Sites (but I may not be able to have my attachments hidden!)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gramps
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 323
Be careful Geoff as they may not notify you as you use your own domain name.

I only found out when I last logged in to my site and Google had put links to try out the 'new' sites. Plus there was access to a migration tool. But you may not see these.

I tried the migration tool to see what it did. The logo page sort of had the images there but the layout was different. But none of the links to the files on my site were migrated. It created a folder on my google drive and put all the files and images in it. But I've yet to work out how to do html on the new sites so I can add a link to the files.

gramps

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
Ta

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gramps
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:52 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 323
Geoff to clarify...

I only found out about the new google sites when I updated my site back in May. I've had no communication from google so far to let me know when my site needs to be moved to the new platform. But it looks like the classic sites will not be editable at some point. I just don't know when but could be the end of this year. I'm assuming if i want to keep using it I will need to move it at some point or go elsewhere.

I've found one way to create a download link to a file on google drive that appears to work in the new sites. It's not pretty and may only work in a browser. I don't know if it would work in the Offline Installer or TopManager.

If you want to try it out the link looks like this.
Code:
https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=<file_id>

You can get the <file-id> from the shareable link for the file in google drive.
Code:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/<file_id>/view?usp=sharing


gramps

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
litton4
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Mar 2010 Posts: 122
Hi - just trying to use your offline installer and topmanager to update my toppy.

When running the offline install builder, I just get a box containing blank white space and 3 lines of instructions:

This program creates a MyStuff Installer kit that doesn't require the installing pc to be connected to the internet.
To use: Click Start, Unzip resulting zip file on pc connected to Toppy and Perform a "normal" MyStuff install.
To ensure the latest files are used, ALWAYS regenerate the zip before use (rather than using an old zip).

I dont' see "start" anywhere.
Tried running it as admin, no difference.

Should it have created something?

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/6/15
View user's profile Send private message
litton4
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Mar 2010 Posts: 122
Reason I did this is that after I tried to add paramount network to one toppy, mystuff would crash during the search phase (S on the screen)

After a lot of trouble, I eventually managed to get it back by removing the channel again.

Recently I noticed that BBCnews was missing from the toppy, so tried to add it back in

Now I'm stuck with the crash again


(yes, I know, if it ain't broke....)

I've now updated freeview.dat and fvtxdata.tsv and I thought a re-install of mystuff would help.

But the offline installer doesn't work.....
Edit: That isn't clear, it is the offline installer BUILDER that I am stuck with.
Not the Mystuff installer.


Last edited by litton4 on Sun Aug 12, 2018 9:53 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/6/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4123
Not at home so can't check what you are seeing.

Currently, you need to select option1 in the installer (option 2 won't work).

I have a new version of the installer but still have a few things to check out before release.

Suggest you boot the toppy "tapless" and use Channel Organiser or topmanager to delete the offending channel.

Then reboot the toppy and post the Mystuff log (preferably in a new thread to prevent this thread being sidetracked )

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
litton4
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 9:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Mar 2010 Posts: 122
OK, at the moment, my problem is with your "Build offline installer"

Downloaded and unpacked the zip, but it just comes up with that blank screen and doesn't make any install directories.

Any thoughts about this? This is Windows 7 btw.
The other thing I see, is that my anti virus (Semantec Endpoint Protection) comes up with a warning on the "build" exe, which it claims to just be logged, but maybe it is getting in the way.
I'll also try a temp removal of that to see if the problem goes away).
This is what SYmantec say about it:
https://www.symantec.com/security-center/writeup/2010-051308-1854-99?vid=4294919973
TopManager installer also generates this error, but that works.
Sounds a bit like they've sprayed "xxxxx" on the outside of the "build"ers house!

Happy to try a beta if you have one......


I've got the toppy working again for the moment, the updated files seemed to have fixed it.
The files on the unit were old. Now updated to the latest.
I'll have another go when I get some time (probably next weekend now) and see if it is ok. I've updated the same files on my other "production" toppy, just to be safe.
I'll start a new thread if i'm still stuck.

Keeping this one for the problem with the offline builder.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/6/15
View user's profile Send private message
SunnysideUK
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:07 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 02 Sep 2008 Posts: 46
[quote="litton4"]OK, at the moment, my problem is with your "Build offline installer"

I'm getting the same problem with my Win7 x64.
I'm using Avast. Disabled it's the same.
NO Start button mentioned in the instructions.
There's a box below, presumably to list the running operations...just no start to get it going.

v1.4 is the same.

_________________
3x8500PVRt, 1x5810 (little used)TF5800t, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+CfCtDsFsIPePsUUuWf
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; EPG2MEI v0.96; TF5000 Display v1.53; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; UK Subtitle 1.9; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; fsSave 1.1; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/5/18
?
View user's profile Send private message
litton4
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Mar 2010 Posts: 122
[quote="SunnysideUK"]
litton4 wrote:
OK, at the moment, my problem is with your "Build offline installer"

I'm getting the same problem with my Win7 x64.
I'm using Avast. Disabled it's the same.
NO Start button mentioned in the instructions.
There's a box below, presumably to list the running operations...just no start to get it going.

v1.4 is the same.


In my case, its wasn't the AV (I removed it and no difference)

It was something on my work laptop that was causing the problme.

When I ran it on one of our departmental machines (with a custom install) it worked fine. Woth times using Win7

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/6/15
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 3
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum