Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Satellite receivers, cable boxes and PVRs  ~  best hd pvr option

Page 1 of 1
tippy
Posted: Tue May 29, 2018 7:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Oct 2007 Posts: 210 Location: tachnoleston, norfolk
ive had my toppy for over 10 years now and i still use it full time.
i need a new tv and would rather have a high ish end tv, not the newest tech but probably mid 2017, finding whats suitable for me is becoming a headache but then i have to find a pvr.
i really cant see myself watching tv without a pvr but i am reading that my toppy will produce a not very good picture on the newer tvs, mines a panny plasma also 10 plus years old, my toppy picture has always been better than the tvs tuner.
what would you guys suggest my best move is, humax?????
any suggestions would be very helpful. tia.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 08/02/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 101
Until you find a suitable PVR I'd suggest trying the Toppy on your new TV.
I find the Toppy picture is quite watchableon a modern LED TV, it's just not HD. You'll probably find the situation is reversed, the TV tuner will be better than the Toppy

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800
tippy
Posted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Oct 2007 Posts: 210 Location: tachnoleston, norfolk
thanks jimi.
how easy is it to connect the toppy to an hdmi socket.
tia.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 08/02/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 8:43 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 709
Why not buy a TV with a SCART socket? That's what we did last year

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
tippy
Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 10:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Oct 2007 Posts: 210 Location: tachnoleston, norfolk
none of the ones ive looked at have scart, all hdmi and usb ports.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 08/02/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 1:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4062
I believe that some TV's come with a connector to convert SCART to hdmi.

a TF5810 uses HDMI - perhaps you can get one "cheap" and move your current disk into it.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 7:38 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 101
You can buy scart - > hdmi convertors, don't buy a cheap cable type one.. they don't work. This one is a bit pricy but does work, can handle both composite & rgb video a lot of the cheaper ones can't handle rgb video.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00ABOB1NU/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&linkCode=sl1&tag=scarttohdmiso-21&linkId=0fdfb327017aba813088adad6dc0ba88

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800
tippy
Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Oct 2007 Posts: 210 Location: tachnoleston, norfolk
thanks jimi, thanks geoff.
ive got an idea of what to look for now, wasnt sure anything existed.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 08/02/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 101
wrong thread Embarassed

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800
DaveHill
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:43 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 75 Location: Bedford
jimi wrote:
You can buy scart - > hdmi convertors, don't buy a cheap cable type one.. they don't work. This one is a bit pricy but does work, can handle both composite & rgb video a lot of the cheaper ones can't handle rgb video.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00ABOB1NU/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&linkCode=sl1&tag=scarttohdmiso-21&linkId=0fdfb327017aba813088adad6dc0ba88

Just bought one of those - awful!

Interlace artefacts everywhere and horrendous motion - just watch the scrolling ticker on BBC news!

Using a Panasonic plasma direct or via Sony cinema receiver.

Resolution is good though!

Dave

_________________
TX: Sandy Heath
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl+Ds, Samsung 250Gb IDE.
TF5800PVRt, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+Ds, Seagate ST3500418AS 500Gb SATA.
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display 1.53;
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 10:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 101
Shocked score that one of the list then Sad

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum