Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Crystal Palace query

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
albertd
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
I note from Digital UK that Crystal Palace is shown as "Possible Service Interruptions". Is anyone aware of anything happening this afternoon?

I ask because my TF5800 appears to have suffered a disk wipe, though I have not yet had the opportunity to investigate in any detail.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
https://www.freeview.co.uk/tvchanges/upcoming-changes#eXfZhtwfYCQVK4jb.97

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
Which says nothing about today.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4082
No idea about CP but, if required, I can recover the disk contents.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
Thanks Geoff. I will bear that in mind, though I have quite a bit available on another box. I will probably re-establish my system and start again.

I note that the recording schedule is still there and it is continuing without My Stuff, but I am unaware how to use the native UI (but I do have the book!).

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
albertd wrote:
Which says nothing about today.
But there were changes last week, and tuning to a channel which has moved could have caused a disc wipe.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
ccs wrote:
albertd wrote:
Which says nothing about today.
But there were changes last week, and tuning to a channel which has moved could have caused a disc wipe.


There were no changes to the channels used by DVB-T at Crystal Palace, only to the DVB-T2 COM 7 and 8 Mux which are of no interest to a Toppy.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
Must be something else then.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
Not sure what is going on. I have connected my laptop to the Toppy to start re-establishing the system and I cannot get Antares or TM to connect. It was fine when I last used it at the beginning of February to install PruneEPG, but not now. I am not aware of making any changes to the laptop. Using Win 8.1.

The USB connection is showing up as "Topfield libusb-winusb" as usual, and TM attempts to connect but says:

Quote:
Connecting to Albert...
Attempting to open USB connection using tfWinUSB.dll ...
Attempting to open USB connection using XP.dll ...
Attempting to open USB connection using Vista.dll ...
Failed to establish connection to Toppy using any of the USB drivers
<<< Connection failed
TopManager has not detected any programs that would prevent use e.g. Altair
<<< Check Toppy is switched on and cable is connected
I have checked that the USB cable is plugged in OK. Anyway, the USB is detecting the Toppy.


Antares puts up a message at the top of the left hand pane which says:

Quote:
PVR: Error - already in use


I am not trying to use TM and Antares at the same time, I close one before trying the other.

Any suggestions folks?



Edit: The Toppy was displaying a picture OK, but appeared to crash a few minutes ago with pixelation and then a blank screen, at the same time my TV was not showing a picture with its own tuner, but recovered quite quickly. Both are now going again, but I still cannot connect to the Toppy.

PS. Just wondering whether the PSU which Andy fitted over 3 years ago has developed a problem. I have no means of checking the voltage figures for it.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
Sounds like reception problems if the tv isn't showing a picture at the same time as the toppy.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:10 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
ccs wrote:
Sounds like reception problems if the tv isn't showing a picture at the same time as the toppy.


That was my initial thought when it happened yesterday (hence the thread title), but with this morning's USB problem I am beginning to wonder whether the Toppy has developed some hardware fault and the loop-through to the TV failed (or partially failed) at the same time as the Toppy going off. (It didn't actually switch off - "going off" was a bad choice of words - the screen just went blank)

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:46 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
There are always "lots" of transmitter problems...

https://ukfree.tv/extras/BBC_Engineeering

I've rarely found anything relevant when reception goes haywire.

I'd plug the tv directly into the aerial next time it happens, taking the toppy out of the equation.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 555
I take your point about lots of problems, however, we are talking about Crystal Palace, one of the most used transmitters in the UK. I put a query on Digital Spy, and nobody has replied reporting that they had noticed any problems.

It didn't last long enough for me to start moving plugs around.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800. 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2448
...deleted

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
meadfoot
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 250
Do you have any of the channels from the LocalTV mux? if so that may have caused the problem.

Details of Crystal Palace problems here

_________________
Sutton Coldfield TX
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -SyXl+WfZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Bookmark 3.0; MyInfo B5.6; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/13


'I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand' Confucius
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum