Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Satellite receivers, cable boxes and PVRs  ~  SCART to HDMI converter

Page 1 of 1
MickKi
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
I am considering once more whether to move from my analogue Toppy SD and CRT TV setup to a digital one. I would still like to keep the Toppy, at least until I buy something like MiracleBox, or build my own HTPC.

New TVs don't come with analogue inputs, so I understand that I will need to buy something like this adapter.

How are you connecting your Toppy to a a modern TV? Would you know if I will have a problem with upscaling via the adapter, rather than the TV (not sure if upscaling can be turned off).

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
DX
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
Have you a particular TV in mind? If not I think you will find most new TV's still have a scart input, so if you want to keep using your Toppy why not just choose one of them?
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Hi DX,

I've been looking at this one. Besides HDMI it also has component & composite video jacks, but it doesn't seem to have SCART.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4222
If you read down the page in the Product Description section it says "SCART ports quantity: 1"


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DX
Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:10 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
MickKi wrote:
Hi DX,

I've been looking at this one. Besides HDMI it also has component & composite video jacks, but it doesn't seem to have SCART.

Any particular reason for choosing that Samsung? You can get 48" 4K Ultra HD sets from Sony, Panasonic or LG all of which have scart sockets.

If it must be that particular Samsung model then ask your dealer about whether a special Samsung scart adapter is available for this set. Some Samsung sets use this http://www.amazon.co.uk/GENUINE-SAMSUNG-CONNECTOR-BN39-01154F-BN39-01154A/dp/B005POM8WO/ref=pd_cp_23_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1RXXP6FBTW87A3M9NYT4 I don't know if this is suitable for your particular Samsung model so you would need to check.

In any case the Toppy will output both composite and component video as well so you could always connect using one of them.
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Geoff Bacon wrote:
If you read down the page in the Product Description section it says "SCART ports quantity: 1"


Geoff
Yes, it does, but they are lying! Shocked

There are component and composite connectors however and the wife just reminded me that we have a SCART-to-composite adaptor lead somewhere!

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
DX wrote:
Any particular reason for choosing that Samsung? You can get 48" 4K Ultra HD sets from Sony, Panasonic or LG all of which have scart sockets.
Samsung uses Tizen as its operating system which is opensource and based on Linux. This could allow me to play with it some day, if only to sterngthen its security (but haven't looked into it yet).

DX wrote:
In any case the Toppy will output both composite and component video as well so you could always connect using one of them.
Are you sure? I need to take another look behind my 5800 - I thought it only had composite and SCART, not component video ...

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3435
The component signals come from the scart socket, so you'll need a suitable adapter. You can change the AV output settings in the Toppy menu to Component.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/310389471117

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MickKi
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:38 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Thank you andyfras, I'll get myself one of these once I settle on the TV choice.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
munk
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:16 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 16 May 2006 Posts: 60
MickKi wrote:
I am considering once more whether to move from my analogue Toppy SD and CRT TV setup to a digital one. I would still like to keep the Toppy, at least until I buy something like MiracleBox, or build my own HTPC.

New TVs don't come with analogue inputs, so I understand that I will need to buy something like this adapter.

How are you connecting your Toppy to a a modern TV? Would you know if I will have a problem with upscaling via the adapter, rather than the TV (not sure if upscaling can be turned off).


I've just made the move from the old (and still working perfectly well apart from not having HDMI!) 15 year old CRT to a newer 4K/UHD set and it was reasonably painless re the Topfield 5800. Like you, I did consider briefly using a SCART to HDMI converter, but I read some horror stories (actually more in relation to Xbox One compatibility - HDMI to CRT - than the Toppy) so decided to just bite the bullet and upgrade the TV.

In the end I went for the 40" Panasonic CX700:

https://www.avforums.com/threads/panasonic-tx-cx700-owners-thread.1950852
(avforums seems to have the best info on this TV)

it's only available at DSG (Currys/PC World etc), which may or may not be a consideration for you, but FWIW I've been very happy with it and the Toppy works perfectly well via SCART. I was actually very surprised at how good the Panasonic upscales the SD content from the TF5800... whilst it's obviously not HD, nonetheless it's more than adequate IMHO and I've had no problems with it at all thankfully.

The price of this TV dropped recently as well so it's a good time to buy, quite annoying since I bought the TV just 2 weeks before it dropped by 150. Sad

(edit: actually it's gone up again by 50 from 550 to 600 odd now... still 100 cheaper than a couple of months ago... maybe worth waiting for black friday just in case they drop it again)

Anyway, worth considering perhaps.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/8/15
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Thank you, I was going to pay Currys a visit this weekend (depending on the snow) for some window shopping, so I'll check it out if in store.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum