Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Topfield HD replacement Miraclebox

Page 11 of 45
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 43, 44, 45  Next
leshay
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 5:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2005 Posts: 383
Hi

You may get someone here that can more fully answer your question, but here is a link to a more specialist site for those boxes:
http://www.world-of-satellite.com/forumdisplay.php?456-GiGaBlue-QUAD-Plus-Discussion

My Gigablue does have 2 CAM slots, but I do not (nor have I ever) used CAM slots, so I can't directly answer your questions. I suspect that those boxes can support your requirements as they are pretty much internationalized.

On that forum I linked to above, I believe I have read about others using the slots to enable legitimate decoding of Sky TV (which is a paid for service) via a valid Sky card.

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Les Hay, Livingston, Scotland
View user's profile Send private message
misterp
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 402 Location: Hull
Ok Im confused, I emailed the supplier about this but I've had no reply yet. Can the MB be setup solely as a Freeview box? I have no desire to get a dish on my wall and all I want is a somewhat modernised and faster replacement for my toppy, hopefully to play all my downloaded media on as well. Will it work well with two Freeview tuners? or can I have more than two? four?

Is 2TB the maximum Hard drive it can support?

My Current setup is Toppy 5800 with 1TB HD and the latest Mystuff, Windows 7 PC with Plex media server running, this is viewed on the main TV with a Roku 3 Media Streamer which plays/transcodes all the media on the Plex server, also have a Chromecast, very nifty for the size.

Steve

_________________
Topfield 5800 1TB Black Panther TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; UK Timers v1.2c; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6;
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
misterp wrote:
Ok Im confused, I emailed the supplier about this but I've had no reply yet. Can the MB be setup solely as a Freeview box?


If you order the box with two hybrid cable/terrestrial tuners (2x DVB-C/T/T2) it can be a Freeview box for both standard and high definition TV, and with a 7 day EPG.

The tuners are plug in (internal). There are 2 tuner slots on the MB Premium Twin which can both be terrestial TV tuners, both satellite tuners or one of each. If you want Freeview only go for 2 terrestrial TV tuners.


Quote:

Will it work well with two Freeview tuners?


Yes. It can record at least 7 programmes from the 2 MUXs that the 2 tuners are tuned into.

My box has been returned to World of Satellite (WOS) twice as faulty with no sign of a working replacement yet! It may be worth buying from another supplier.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
captaincornflake
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:39 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 02 Dec 2007 Posts: 38 Location: Warwickshire, UK
Bob_Swede wrote:
- Can the MiracleBox and/or GigaBlue units handle coded transmissions for payed channels? Most of the Swedish channels are coded so we have to use a smart card in a slot in the box to decode them.
Is this provided with these systems so they will work in Sweden as well?


Miracle box appear to be a Swedish company, so I would assume they sell kit compatible with the Swedish broadcasters.

World of satellite are UK resellers so may not be able to answer (although someone on their forum may).
You may be better either contacting miracle box directly, or one of their Swedish resellers http://www.miraclebox.se/resellers_from_sweden.html

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Bob_Swede wrote:
Can the MiracleBox and/or GigaBlue units handle coded transmissions for payed channels? Most of the Swedish channels are coded so we have to use a smart card in a slot in the box to decode them.
Is this provided with these systems so they will work in Sweden as well?
I believe this can be done, but it appears to need a softcam (software run on the box) to decode/use the information which is on the CAM card. And this seems to be a grey area, so discussion of such is limited on some forums.

Here's an old thread about Sky UK:

http://www.world-of-satellite.com/archive/index.php/t-11198.html

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3993 Location: Buckingham
Bob_Swede wrote:
So I bought a HUMAX box in Sweden, this is the high-end offer from the broadcaster Boxer. But it is very limited
Which Humax box? There is modded firmware for some of them which allows things like not recording encrypted and allow transfers of recordings.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
gomezz wrote:
Bob_Swede wrote:
So I bought a HUMAX box in Sweden, this is the high-end offer from the broadcaster Boxer. But it is very limited
Which Humax box? There is modded firmware for some of them which allows things like not recording encrypted and allow transfers of recordings.

Model as read from the system information page of the HUMAX is:
BXR-HD+2

It has Ethernet connectivity, but only for these purposes:
- Firmware update (at least I think so)
- Access to the "Film store" to buy movies
- Access to the special version of a Play site to view already broadcast shows

But no access to local network resources like NAS or even USB disks, so there is no way to save recordings externally from the 500 GB internal drive.
Or to play material other than what is broadcast or bought.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2602
Try here.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
Well, that thread says it all, I believe.
The HUMAX box in Sweden is really a piece of garbage and cannot be fixed by the user (like the Toppy could).

So I am back at finding something else that is not locked down and can be made to work like I want (as the Toppy + MyStuff + EPG from the Internet).
- The recordings must be decoded during writing to disk.
- The receiver must be able to handle the smartcard for that
- The drive(s) must be accessible via Ethernet
- etc

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:51 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3993 Location: Buckingham
That thread does not say it all as it appears no-one has taken the bull by the horns and given it a go. So the question remains up in the air.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
alan_m wrote:

My box has been returned to World of Satellite (WOS) twice as faulty with no sign of a working replacement yet! It may be worth buying from another supplier.


Two and a half weeks after ordering I should get a replacement box this week.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
Bob_Swede wrote:

So I am back at finding something else that is not locked down and can be made to work like I want (as the Toppy + MyStuff + EPG from the Internet).
- The recordings must be decoded during writing to disk.
- The receiver must be able to handle the smartcard for that
- The drive(s) must be accessible via Ethernet
- etc

After investigating the different sites linked to from Miraclebox I have found a few answers:
1) The recorded files contain decoded data in TS format, i.e. decoding is done before recording (opposite to what the Toppy does).

2) The box handles the smartcard for Boxer if one purchase a CI+ module and inserts the card that way.

3) The box can connect to network and USB disks and even record onto them directly. It does not come with an internal disk (there might be dealer mounted disks though) but there is a 3.5" SATA III slot and reports say one can use 3 TB drives.

So it looks good so far.

What I don't really know is how the EPG is loaded.
And I also noticed in their forum that customer support is a bit lacking, no techs to ask when there are problems....
Not a very high traffic forum either, most questions go unanswered.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
Tobor1605
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:50 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 7
[quote="Bob_Swede"]
Bob_Swede wrote:

2) The box handles the smartcard for Boxer if one purchase a CI+ module and inserts the card that way.


If this is a major thing that you are planning to use the box for, some due diligence could be in order.

I have no personal experience with pay TV but my understanding is that the above can put some serious restrictions on how you can use the box, stuff like recording only one single encrypted channel at a time, recordings being encrypted with a device specific key when stored so that they can be played back only with the same exact box that originally stored them, possibly some features / plugins being disabled etc.

I do not think that any of these are a fault of the Miraclebox per se, rather stuff imposed by CI+, and I think there are potentially many more nasty things in store, enabled by CI+ functionality, should the broadcasters decide to take them in use, like limiting how many times a recording can be played back, automatic expiration after a time limit has been exceeded etc.

As I said, no personal experience with CI+, hopefully I am all wrong with the above but regardless a fair warning based on the horror stories heard from local users trying to cope with CI+ over here in Finland.
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Bob_Swede wrote:
What I don't really know is how the EPG is loaded.
There are various set-ups for satellite users to get feeds from things like xmltv and other Web service data.
It can also pick up the EPG broadcast with the signal (e.g the 7-day one on Freeview(HD) in the UK).
It all ends up being written to a epg.dat file in /etc/enigma2, so I suspect that anything is possible, if someone wants to write it.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
Similar to the way I have done it on my Toppies then.
I collect 13 days EPG at 02:15 every night and sentd it as MyStuff.mei into the two Toppies.
MyStuff then reads the new info and does its magic... Smile

To repeat that I would need to know the format of the EPG.dat file in the same way I used the documented format of the mei file on the Toppy.

IF I buy a Miraclebox that is one task to perform, I really do not want just a week of EPG.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 11 of 45
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 43, 44, 45  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum