Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Unable to copy logo.dat Fixed

Page 1 of 1
Sudbury_Dave
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 1:52 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Feb 2012 Posts: 28 Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
I have just done a rescan via TopManager. I updated TopManger to version 4.8.1 first, having done that I have tried to update the logo files to match the channels and that is where I get this problem.
It doesnot matter which version of the logos I try to copy over to the toppy, they appear to be fetched from the internet OK, I get a popup window warning that the files are already present, I click on the over write button and it then after a time fails.

Fetching logo.dat ...
Fetching smlogo.dat ...
Installing MyStuff Logos (gramps)
<<< Unable to copy logo.dat to \ProgramFiles\Settings\Logos\logo.dat
<<< Unable to copy smlogo.dat to \ProgramFiles\Settings\Logos\smlogo.dat


Installation not completed (no files copied to Toppy)

I know I can write to the hard disc as I have installed fsCheck which gives a God result when run.

I have tried powering down the toppy, for 5 min and trying again but still no joy, any ideas great fully received. Idea


Last edited by Sudbury_Dave on Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:58 am; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4559
Hi Dave

The the forum has been very quiet recently so it is nice to see a post.

Having said that, how dare you post a problem with one of my programs? Laughing

I'm not exactly sure what is happening but updating to TM 4.8.1 shouldn't have caused this issue (and neither should scanning with TM).

My guess is that there is an issue writing to the disk caused by a USB problem.
1) Make sure you are using the exact same port as that you normally use.
2) Have you changed the method of connecting e.g. a longer USB cable.
3) If you are joining USB cables, try moving the toppy or PC so that you can attempt the transfer with just one cable.

Having moved my computer desk, I can now no longer reach my main toppy using a 10m USB cable (actually 5m + 5m active extender). When I connect it up using CAT5 cable and two USB to CAT5 connectors (USB 1.2), I find I can read files off the toppy but can't write them (and this sounds similar to what you are experiencing). I haven't investigated fully but my guess is there is some sort of timing issue when using this configuration (a problem with the USB signals rather than a coding issue in TM). I seem to remember that I got the same effect when I tried transferring using TopSet (but I may be mistaken)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sudbury_Dave
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:35 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Feb 2012 Posts: 28 Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
Hi Geoff,

I connect to the toppy using a Belkin Network USB hub as I cannot reach the toppy from my PC. I leave the leads plugged in so its on the same port. The PC is a tower in a corner of my 'study' up stairs with loads of things plugged into it and if I brought the toppy up top it, I would not have an aerial lead to connect it up to, or TV for that matter.
I did transfer the fsCheck tap to the toppy using the same connection and that worked OK.
I wondered if there are any file attributes that are stopping the write? But I don't know how to check that on the toppy.

_________________
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2658
I would try renaming the 2 .dat files using Antares and then try again.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4559
Having reinserted the disk in my test toppy, I have successfully used TM twice to to update the (gramps) logos i.e. the files are ok.

It is possible to set file access bits on the toppy which could prevent the file being written to.

Suggest you
1) TopManager|Connection| Browse
2) Select the Settings folder
3) Select the Logos folder
4) Select logos.dat, press F2 and rename to logo.dat_old
5) similar for smlogo.dat
6) Repeat trying to install the logos.
7) If that doesn't work, you can restore the original logos by reversing steps 4 and 5

Geoff


Last edited by Geoff Bacon on Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:06 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:06 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
If you have been able to copy other files, it's possible that you may have a disk corruption, or failing capacitors which often LOOK like a disk corruption.

See Toppy Repairs

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sudbury_Dave
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:33 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Feb 2012 Posts: 28 Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
Well I swapped out all of the leads, tried it and success. Very Happy

The toppy had one of Andy's kits fitted a little while ago, so I was confident the PSU should be OK.

_________________
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4559
Your last post sounds as though it is ok now.

So to clarify, all you had to do was change/reseat leads? i.e. no fiddling around with the files.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sudbury_Dave
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:16 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Feb 2012 Posts: 28 Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
No fiddling with the files, it was down to hardware, should of tried that before I posted, sorry. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4559
@Dave
Thanks for the clarification.

No problem about the posting - it gives us something to read!

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum