Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  MyStuff screen size

Page 1 of 1
albertd
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 9:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
Am I right in thinking that the sizes of the MyStuff panels (EPG, Archive, Searches etc.) are fixed and cannot be tweaked by the user?

I ask, because I have just changed my TV to "no overscan" so that I get all of the picture in programmes, and am left with quite a noticeable border around the MyStuff windows.

I have seached the MyStuff options and can only see adjustment of position, not size.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
mavison
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 242
You could try setting option W7: Display EPG/Archive/Options full screen to Yes

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEvEzFsIPePsScUUuWfZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; MHEG On/Off A3; (Power Restore V0.7.7);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 10/1/20
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 7:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
mavison wrote:
You could try setting option W7: Display EPG/Archive/Options full screen to Yes
It is on "Yes", that being the default. I gather that "No" would give me the TV picture round the edge.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 7:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
Not quite sure but I guessing that you are stuck with it.

This is because the display regions have a maximum size of 720 * 576 pixels. As your TV probably has 1024 pixels horizontally, a full size region probably shows as 152 blank pixels, 720 region pixels and 152 blank pixels.
When overscan is in effect, I'm guessing that you are losing some pixels at both sides of the region i.e although the visible region may be the same size on the screen, the edges will be nearer to it.

[edit]Also, the actual region size used by TAPs will be less than the above dimensions; this is because tap authors typically use something like 620*500 to prevent funny display problems near the edges of the screen [/edit]

Of course, this could be a load of rubbish!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Laser
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 10:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2008 Posts: 441
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Of course, this could be a load of rubbish

Umm.. Yeah, pretty much! Sorry! Wink

The pixels on the TV have nothing to do with the pixel count of the transmission (which varies anyway). The TV will scale to suit.

FWIW, broadcast TV is generally intended to be displayed with a small amount of overscan (about 2-3%). Most banners, logos, etc, are positioned to look right with that. MyStuff's full screen display is also made to be fully visible with overscan active.

Personally I quite like the non-fullscreen options for MyStuff, plus some transparency, to help see what's on TV when I'm browsing the guide or archive.

_________________
TF5800 250GB Black Panther FW 5.13.65 (Patched)
TAPs: MS6.6, EPG2MEI 0.96, Extend 1.7, SecCacheUK, EIT_Sub, UKSubtitle, SDS
TV: Pioneer PDP-4280XD. AVR: Denon AVR-X2600H. Transmitter: Tacolneston
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
Well yes and no

The pixels in the region will be scaled up to fit the displayed width of the screen.
When "overscan" is in operation, some pixels on the left and right of the picture are being hidden (he says he changed overscan to get the full picture width).

The TV is then scaling up this reduced picture to fill the full width of the screen.
The net effect is that the EPG is bigger but there is still a maximum of 720 pixels in the source picture coming from the toppy.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 9:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
Hi Folks,

Thanks for your replies. I am not sure that I totally follow the discussion but I think it is clear that my belief was right and that no adjustment is possible.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Laser
Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 4:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2008 Posts: 441
Geoff Bacon wrote:
The net effect is that the EPG is bigger but there is still a maximum of 720 pixels in the source picture coming from the toppy.

Agreed. It was the association of that figure with the (possible) TV pixels (152+720+152) which was incorrect.

I'm never too clear whether the 576 vertical resolution is inclusive or exclusive of the overscan, given there are actually 625 lines overall including blanking etc. Since old TV-based computers used 512(-ish) lines for display, I'm going to guess the 576 is a maximum active picture area including the overscan. That would imply the same is true for the 720 across.

_________________
TF5800 250GB Black Panther FW 5.13.65 (Patched)
TAPs: MS6.6, EPG2MEI 0.96, Extend 1.7, SecCacheUK, EIT_Sub, UKSubtitle, SDS
TV: Pioneer PDP-4280XD. AVR: Denon AVR-X2600H. Transmitter: Tacolneston
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum