Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  No signal at tuner 1, Fatal error unable to write to flash d

Page 1 of 1
Qwertyuiop
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:40 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 28 Feb 2013 Posts: 2
I think I posted this to the wrong place first , will close that post.


Tf5800
No signal at tuner 1, Fatal error unable to write to flash d
My system has been reliable for a number of years.
To it had the fault above.
The system has no taps.
It cleared when I switched the power off and on again.
It's now working fine showing one channel in delayed play, recording two.

I've seen 4 posts a number of years old with the same failure.
Numerous suggestions , but never , "I did this and it fixed the problem"

Is there any actual diagnosis of he problem?
Or is unable to write to flash just a symptom with many possible causes?

if so does anyone have the most frequent failing component?

I replaced all caps a few years ago when it had difficulty turning on.
I fitted high temp high voltage so I'd expect them to s till be ok.

Any suggestions?
Regards Andy
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3536
Qwertyuiop wrote:

I replaced all caps a few years ago when it had difficulty turning on.
I fitted high temp high voltage so I'd expect them to s till be ok.

Any suggestions?
Regards Andy


A few years back the recommendation was to only replace 5 or 6 capacitors. Unfortunately other capacitors in the PSU hav eproved to be just as unreliable and the current recommendation is to replace up to 13.

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Topfield_5800/PSU_Repair


https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:22 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
In the meantime, unplug it from the mains, and don't attempt to use it.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Qwertyuiop
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:16 am Reply with quote
Joined: 28 Feb 2013 Posts: 2
Ok many thanks.
Will open up and look for domes tops , guess changing all is safest.
Is anyone selling the kits of capacitors.
Last time I tried it was slightly cheaper to buy the kit than the smallest numbers I could buy from farnell or maplins.

Anything else worth fixing whilst I'm changing the psu caps?

Regards Andy
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:22 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3477
Qwertyuiop wrote:
Is anyone selling the kits of capacitors.

Me Very Happy

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sudbury_Dave
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:32 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Feb 2012 Posts: 28 Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
andyfras wrote:
Qwertyuiop wrote:
Is anyone selling the kits of capacitors.

Me Very Happy

And they are very good value, bite Andy's hand off Wink

_________________
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:47 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
No signal is a classic PSU failure, btw.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 837
Not sure if you still have the problem, but I had this several years ago. Mine seems to have been a signal issue, caused by poor connections within the aerial wall socket. Nothing had been touched for a while, but the connections had just got much poorer - I guess due to corrosion. I also had reboots and at least one disk wipe. I took the socket apart, cleaned everything up and reassembled it, and I've never seen the error since...

Had something similar with a cooker many years ago - the oven wouldn't stay on. Took the wall socket apart and cleaned up the connections: it worked fine for several years (until it failed as we were cooking Christmas dinner Rolling Eyes)

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:52 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
YorkshireJumbo wrote:
.. it worked fine for several years (until it failed as we were cooking Christmas dinner Rolling Eyes)

I have a 5810, you could cook Christmas dinner on that. Very Happy

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum