Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  OZ Toppies  ~  PC doesn't see External HDD formated by Topfield 7160

Page 1 of 1
topical
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:29 am Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Oct 2012 Posts: 4
I recently installed VideoRedo, and wanted to convert the recordings on External HDDs from the Topfield 7160.

However, the computer doesn't see them, although the External HDD appears in Disk Manager. The PC operating system is Windows 7 I think.

I also installed some software including TopOfHD, but that doesn't seem to help.

Does anyone know how I can access the recordings on the External HDD?

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:21 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
Assuming that the same format is used as on other Toppies, TopfHDRW must be running on a PC in order to read a Toppy disk.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FireBird
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 May 2005 Posts: 358 Location: Vienna/Austria
If it has been formatted by the 7160, it is probably jfs.
View user's profile Send private message
topical
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:29 am Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Oct 2012 Posts: 4
Thanks for the replies. I've been busy so haven't had time to experiment with some of these things.

When I try to open TopfHDReadWrite with the External HDD on and visible in device manager, I get the message:


"I didn't find a Topfield PVR 5000 Hard Drive.

Is the HD visible in the device manager?
Did you start TopfHDRead/Write as an administrator?"


I click OK and the popup closes. Is there any option to get my computer to see the External HDD?

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:11 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
5xxx Toppies don't use jfs, so TopfHDRW won't see it, if Firebird is right (which he probably is).

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
topical
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:41 am Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Oct 2012 Posts: 4
Actually, I found this: http://whrl.pl/Rc2QJc

I had found that before posting here, but didn't understand the jargon. However, I read it more carefully, did a wikipedia search for linux, and I think I understand what I have to do.

Am currently downloading SystemRescueCD, apparently I have to boot into Linux and copy files from the JFS drive to the Windows directory.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum