Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  New to the 5810

Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
GJM
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2006 Posts: 254
juwlz wrote:
move MyStuff and FontManager out of Auto Start, using the remote control as described above.

Leave EPG2MEI, SecCache, Eit_sub, Extend and MyInfo in Auto Start. They're useful (some fix bugs and others provide useful behind the scenes functionality), and won't affect the way the user interface looks.

I'm guessing that you're having problems because whoever sold you the box left MyStuff installed and didn't warn you to delete unwanted channels when you retuned it. As a consequence, you've had a memory corruption, which is what's making the box think you've had a firmware update. You'll need to get the old-fashioned firmware update tool working to flash EmptySettings to fix that.

If you decide to stick with the 5810, there is a patch that you can install which will make it work with your old 5800 remote (and stop it working with its own).

But let's just get the basics sorted first, before we start trying to install patches.

Julie


I did already try the holding down '0' but it was still doing strange things and asking about the firmware.

Your right though I never done a factory reset, just went straight into scan, silly as I would usually do that first, but not messed about that much with them so forgot.

When you say leave some things on, how can you leave things on and some off just with the use of '0' does that not just disable all?

I did try old firmware tools and in general tried to communicate with the machine but tried quite a bit and it wasn't quite playing ball, that was windows 7, only laptop have in the house.

Got home and my youngest had put it off and on and seems for now to be loading up ok with My Stuff.

On that note I hear a lot of how this EPG is amazing and transforms the way you use the machine etc but I'm not feeling it at all.

I had the basic one on the 5800 down to a tee, not really into series link and confusing power searches whatever they might be lol

Am I missing something with it, perhaps it's down to the individual needs?

That remote patch seems essential as the control is horrendous, why change one of the best remotes out there in my eyes, fits hand like a glove and buttons very clear and well positioned.

_________________
Model: TF5810PVR. Firmware: 5.15.09T - Sept 02-2010 - Transmitter: Durris. Taps - SecCache(UK) V0.4 * MPDisplayLITE V1.2 * Extend v1.7 * Font Manger 1.0d * EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 * EPG2MEI v0.96 * MHEG On/Off A3 * My Stuff 6.4 * My Info B5.6
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:09 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
GJM wrote:
When you say leave some things on, how can you leave things on and some off just with the use of '0' does that not just disable all?
You're right that holding down 0 prevents all Auto Start TAPs from loading - but only this time. Next time you start up, they'll all load again. Moving TAPs out of Auto Start ("up" to the /ProgramFiles directory) permanently stops them from ever loading on startup, even when you start up normally. You can use the yellow button to do this, just the same way that you can move recordings around to different directories.
Quote:
Got home and my youngest had put it off and on and seems for now to be loading up ok with My Stuff.
Exit MyStuff (press Info, then Menu, then Up, then OK), and the move it out of Auto Start or you WILL get all the same problems again. If you don't want it, there's no point in having it in Auto Start. (If you did want it, it is absolutely essential to do some serious channel management before you run it on a 5810, or you will get more of the memory corruption issues you had before, but it is in the nature of memory corruption that the symptoms are completely unpredictable. Who knows what the next one will do?)
Quote:
On that note I hear a lot of how this EPG is amazing and transforms the way you use the machine etc but I'm not feeling it at all.

I had the basic one on the 5800 down to a tee, not really into series link and confusing power searches whatever they might be lol

Am I missing something with it, perhaps it's down to the individual needs?
Fair enough. Each to their own. It's not the EPG so much though (although I personally hate the look of the native EPG) as the flexibility in setting the timers; it's the ability to tell it to "Record Doctor Who whenever it's on, unless it's an episode I've already recorded before". You don't have to know when things are on, or on what channel. Plus it's hugely customisable. But, if you don't want it or need it, get rid, because it WILL cause problems unless you're prepared to prune your channels severely to prevent memory corruption. (See the link in my previous post to understand why.)
Quote:
That remote patch seems essential as the control is horrendous, why change one of the best remotes out there in my eyes, fits hand like a glove and buttons very clear and well positioned.
I agree the 5810's remote is a backward step - that's "progress" for you Wink. The patch you need is [Rz] RemCodesToTF5800.

Once you've downloaded it, you will need to copy the tfp file (use Antares or Altair) from your PC to the /ProgramFiles/InstallerFirmware/Add directory on the Toppy.

Then go to the archive (I'm assuming you don't have MyStuff running by now), and press << to get to ProgramFiles. Navigate to Utilities, and you should find a TAP there called FWLoad. Press OK. When it's finished running it should tell you that you need to reboot the Toppy, and after that, your old remote should work.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4422
@juwlz

As far as I can make out, GJM hasn't managed to connect to the toppy from his W7 laptop (he has tried the z4t driver). This means that he can't load the patch to support the 5800 remote.

@GJM
If you have indeed managed to connect from the pc then please post the output from \ProgramFiles\Logs\MyInfo Log.txt. This will show the toppy configuration and allow others to give you targeted advice.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GJM
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2006 Posts: 254
Wow you folk know some serious info on the Topfield subject!

Juwlz on the serious channel management, what does that entail exactly, more than the factory reset and retune as I did manage that but it did throw a few problems, I think it may even have some sort of TAP/Patch on it that picked up on the duplicate channels when it did happen

Correct Geoff, no luck with W7, so might be a case of taking a laptop from work with XP on it as I remember doing some essentials with Altair on my old machine

_________________
Model: TF5810PVR. Firmware: 5.15.09T - Sept 02-2010 - Transmitter: Durris. Taps - SecCache(UK) V0.4 * MPDisplayLITE V1.2 * Extend v1.7 * Font Manger 1.0d * EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 * EPG2MEI v0.96 * MHEG On/Off A3 * My Stuff 6.4 * My Info B5.6
View user's profile Send private message
roga
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2006 Posts: 167
GJM wrote:

Juwlz on the serious channel management, what does that entail exactly


I'm guessing J means delete all the channels you don't need as they eat up unnecessary memory.

This can be done using the native interface if you haven't got a PC connected yet. Once you do have a PC connected you can copy over and use the ChannelOrganiser and FastScanGui TAPS to simplify the process.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; (MyInfo B5.6); SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; PruneEPG 1.0; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 21/08/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:16 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
That is, indeed, what I mean. See my Toppy Mrmory article for why, and also how to do it more quickly than one by tedious one. You should find the Channel Organiser TAP in /ProgramFiles/Utilities

You should aim to have no more than 40 channels on a 5810 running MyStuff. A channel scan usually gives you about 3 times that many, many of which are pay, porn and shopping channels, plus radio you'll never listen to.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4422
@GJM

The driver you tried to use should have worked on W7.

Please try your work laptop to see if you can connect (use the same driver; the install supports W7, XP and Vista).

If it still doesn't work, it might indicate that the USB chips has been damaged on the toppy (I know one should always power the toppy or the pc off when connecting the USB lead but I normally do it 'live')

Might also be worthwhile trying a different USB cable (don't use one more than 5m)

Assuming you can connect, suggest you use TopManager rather than Altair (it is not easy to find the kit for Altair although I'me sure someone will offer you one if you wait long enough).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:13 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Assuming you can connect, suggest you use TopManager rather than Altair
Or Antares, which was written specifically to cope with the fact that Altair used not to work with Win7 at all.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GJM
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2006 Posts: 254
Folks been really busy with work and everyone on hols so not had much chance to do much.

I can see how that mystuff might be usefull after a short look around it but I do get lost a bit with power searches and such...guess need to read up.

Tell me why do some recordings get placed into a folder and some dont, that seems handy when they create a folder, is that a 5810 trait or to do with mystuff.

My wife will struggle with markers are they are not longert coloured and she was forever asking me when they were coloured.

One big downside I'm finding is when 'stop' playback of a recording and then press play it does not start where it left off, the 5800 did this, so if you forget to mark your spot, you got to find where you are again.

Is this normal behaviour for the 5810

_________________
Model: TF5810PVR. Firmware: 5.15.09T - Sept 02-2010 - Transmitter: Durris. Taps - SecCache(UK) V0.4 * MPDisplayLITE V1.2 * Extend v1.7 * Font Manger 1.0d * EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 * EPG2MEI v0.96 * MHEG On/Off A3 * My Stuff 6.4 * My Info B5.6
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3988 Location: Buckingham
GJM wrote:
One big downside I'm finding is when 'stop' playback of a recording and then press play it does not start where it left off, the 5800 did this, so if you forget to mark your spot, you got to find where you are again.

It seems that many folk think that Play should start playback from the beginning and OK should resume playback from where it left off. Like you, I find this totally cockeyed but fortunately there is a MyStuff option to change it back to the sane way round. Smile

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3511
GJM wrote:

I can see how that mystuff might be usefull after a short look around it but I do get lost a bit with power searches and such...guess need to read up.


Also watch the Youtube video where a lot of the basic operation is demonstrated
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFjk_SCrMFk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nVUMXKjya4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpS0UsP_g0c

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
GJM wrote:
Is this normal behaviour for the 5810
If you have the native Toppy, to resume playing highlight the program you want but instead of pressing ok, press the > button (just below the P+ button) instead.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:20 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
GJM wrote:
I can see how that mystuff might be usefull after a short look around it but I do get lost a bit with power searches and such...guess need to read up.
You don't have to use Power Searches. But if you want to read up, try here and the manual.
Quote:
Tell me why do some recordings get placed into a folder and some dont, that seems handy when they create a folder, is that a 5810 trait or to do with mystuff.
Neither the 5800 nor the 5800 ever file anything by default. The only way to do that on either machine is to use a TAP.

MyStuff settings
J5: Autofile manually set Film timers to /Films=Yes
K5: AutoFile new Searches by default=Yes
determine whether recordings from your searches are autofiled by default. You can override this on a per-search basis.

Instant records and one-offs won't be autofiled.
Quote:
My wife will struggle with markers are they are not longer coloured and she was forever asking me when they were coloured.
She can just ignore them altogether. With
T6: Enable AccurateBookmark support=Yes
MyStuff automatically jumps to the bookmark at the start of the recording, and you rarely need them for anything else, unless you specifically want to set a bookmark to be able to find something in a recording you want to keep, or use them to edit the recording on the Toppy (e.g. using the CutAds and CutFile TAPs)
Quote:
One big downside I'm finding is when 'stop' playback of a recording and then press play it does not start where it left off, the 5800 did this, so if you forget to mark your spot, you got to find where you are again.
The 5800 and 5810 behave identically in this regard. MyStuff setting
Q11: Resume/Restart Playback from Archive keys=OK/Play
lets you choose whether you want to use OK to resume and Play to start from the beginning, or vice-versa.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum