Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  rt2mei 1.1a

Page 114 of 119
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 113, 114, 115 ... 117, 118, 119  Next
redgshost
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:51 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Feb 2007 Posts: 52
Alan_M

Thanks for the suggestion about the url. I tried and can access both of the following from my pc

http://xmltv.radiotimes.com/xmltv/92.dat
http://xmltv.radiotimes.com/xmltv/92.dat?12046038931324596478

so I don't think the random number is doing it.

I think this must be a DNS look up issue because when I try to ping the domain by name I get

# ping xmltv.radiotimes.com
ping: xmltv.radiotimes.com: Host name lookup failure

yet it will succesfully ping 2 out of 3 servers when I try by ip address.

Is there a way I can check what DNS the slug is using or alternatively force it to refresh the DNS?

Thanks

Red
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Bowman wrote:
epg.log shows data grabbed but MyStuff.mei file does not seem to be filling up.

Have you actually looked at the MyStuff.mei file on your Asus to see if it has meaningful info?
Your log shows processing times that are far shorter than mine, e.g.
Code:
... Retrieving data for BBC4
... Processing 142 lines of data for BBC4
... BBC4 downloaded in 0 secs and processed in 8 secs

compared with yours
Code:
... Retrieving data for BBC4
... Processing 142 lines of data for BBC4
... BBC4 downloaded in 1 secs and processed in 0 secs

but maybe the Asus is far quicker than my Slug!
Maybe it's because there is no info to process or it's not processing the info.
When things changed recently after messing about with my setup, I eventually just downloaded simonc's alterations (http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=246214#246214) and everything has worked OK since.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
Bowman
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 151 Location: Sevenoaks (CP Transmitter)
The MySufff.mei in /tmp was definately empty.

I'm currently at work so will look at simonc file when I get home later tonight.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 21/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
Bowman
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 151 Location: Sevenoaks (CP Transmitter)
Copied over simonc files and ran manual update:

[admin@Asus root]$ /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei -ramdisk
24/12/11 22:13:10: Job started
rt2mei.php 1.1a started: 24/12/2011 22:13:12

Config data will be read from file "/opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.cfg"
Favourites will be written to file "/tmp/rt2mei.mcl"
MEI data will be written to file "/tmp/MyStuff.mei"

PHP Notice: Undefined variable: rt_url in /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.php on line 731
1 | 1 | 94 | BBC1 London & South East | |
2 | 2 | 107 | BBC2 London & South East | |
3 | 3 | 26 | ITV1 London | |
4 | 4 | 132 | Channel 4 | |
5 | 5 | 134 | Five | |
6 | 6 | 185 | ITV2 | |
7 | 7 | 45 | BBC3 | 1900| 0600
8 | 9 | 47 | BBC4 | 1900| 0600
9 | 10 | 1859 | ITV3 | |
10 | 11 | 1963 | Pick TV | |
11 | 12 | 801 | Yesterday | 0600| 0100
12 | 13 | 2047 | Channel 4 +1 | |
13 | 14 | 1959 | More4 | |
14 | 15 | 160 | FilmFour | 1245| 0945
15 | 18 | 1544 | 4Music | |
16 | 19 | 2050 | Dave | 0700| 0300
17 | 21 | 2184 | VIVA | |
18 | 24 | 1961 | ITV4 | |
19 | 25 | 2052 | Dave ja vu | 0800| 0400
20 | 27 | 1990 | ITV2 +1 | |
21 | 28 | 158 | E4 | |
22 | 29 | 1161 | E4+1 | |
23 | 30 | 2062 | 5* | 0600| 2300
24 | 31 | 2008 | 5USA | |
25 | 33 | 2682 | ITV1 London +1 | |
26 | 38 | 2179 | Quest | 0700| 0000
27 | 44 | 2699 | Five +1 | 0400| 0100
28 | 70 | 482 | CBBC | |
29 | 71 | 483 | CBeebies | |
30 | 72 | 1981 | CITV | |
31 | 80 | 48 | BBC News 24 | |
32 | 81 | 49 | BBC Parliament | |
33 | 82 | 256 | Sky News | |

Favourites are:
1 BBC1 London & South East
2 BBC2 London & South East
3 ITV1 London
4 Channel 4
5 Five
6 ITV2
7 BBC3
9 BBC4
10 ITV3
11 Pick TV
12 Yesterday
13 Channel 4 +1
14 More4
15 FilmFour
18 4Music
19 Dave
21 VIVA
24 ITV4
25 Dave ja vu
27 ITV2 +1
28 E4
29 E4+1
30 5*
31 5USA
33 ITV1 London +1
38 Quest
44 Five +1
70 CBBC
71 CBeebies
72 CITV
80 BBC News 24
81 BBC Parliament
82 Sky News

... Retrieving data for BBC1 London & South East
... Processing 485 lines of data for BBC1 London & South East
... BBC1 London & South East downloaded in 3 secs and processed in 74 secs

Was going great until Five +1:

... Retrieving data for Five +1
EPG data for Five +1 is empty!

Update stopped and restarted.

Also not sure what the PHP error on line 731 refernenced at the top of the channel list is?

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 21/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:23 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Try running rt2mei with '-mt'.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
simonc
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 1:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5640 Location: Cheltenham
A special Christmas update for you which should fix the line 731 error.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bowman
Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:02 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 151 Location: Sevenoaks (CP Transmitter)
What can I say but a THANK YOU.

Got the fies loaded before scheduled scan and all ran OK, I had taken out 5+1 just in case. Now have EPG up to 07JAN.

Merry Christmas

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: MyStuff 6.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 21/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
redgshost
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:58 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Feb 2007 Posts: 52
Just to close the loop on the problem I was having.

It turned out that the reason I was not able to download the rt data was that the dns lookup was not working. I don't know why this should have stopped working on Dec 13th but it is probably related to the move.

For several years now my slug has had the gateway as the DNS server and that did not change any time around 13th December. Given it was a DNS lookup problem I tried adding the ip address for the DNS servers for my ISP (or at least what is currently being used) as backup DNS servers on the slug on the relevant page. It turns out this fixed the problem. Everything is now working perfectly.

Red
View user's profile Send private message
MickKi
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
alan_m wrote:
MickKi wrote:
Guys while looking at these new problems, have you lost the extended info on the EPG? With the patch applied I can see the Films marked up correctly again (thank you!) but there is no extended info ... only short descriptions without ratings by the RT reviewers, etc.


I'm also seeing the short descriptions without without a "star" rating however looking at the data downloaded I see nothing in the star rating field and there doesn't appear to be any extended informations as seen previously Sad

The short information is just the content of the film. The extended information was a review of the film. In many cases the reviewer had similar tastes in films to myself and when he said it was pretentious c*** it often turned out to be true Smile


EDIT
from http://groups.google.com/group/atlasapi/browse_thread/thread/5ba9b91db06badb5

"Reinstating the ratings has been the most requested feature so far. As I said in the other thread, we're looking at how we can provide both RadioTimes reviews and star ratings early next year. No definite timescales yet, but it's on our list."


It looks that the RT feed has been changed, for the worse, and maybe we will get back some of the missing information some time next year.


Any idea when/if the star ratings are returning in the rt feed?

PS. Another, perhaps off-topic question - Is it possible to also get over the air updates for channels that RT do not provide any EPG info, without messing up the rt2mei EPG info on the toppy?

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:35 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
MickKi wrote:
PS. Another, perhaps off-topic question - Is it possible to also get over the air updates for channels that RT do not provide any EPG info, without messing up the rt2mei EPG info on the toppy?
EPG2MEI merges the output from the OTA EPG info with the EPG info from rt2mei, so I'm not sure what you're not getting.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MickKi
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Thanks Julie,

When I go into the MyStuff menu option Z4 to scan a particular channel, it says that it will run if eit2mei is running. I don't seem to have eit2mei installed.

From what you're saying it won't mess up my rt2mei generated EPG.mei file. Is this right?

PS. I just found out that the eit2mei download link http://www.toppy.org.uk/downloads/info.php?tid=200 is broken. Sad

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
DX
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2695
MickKi wrote:
PS. I just found out that the eit2mei download link http://www.toppy.org.uk/downloads/info.php?tid=200 is broken. Sad

I think you can still download eit2mei from www.tapworld.net but I think you are on the wrong track here.

From your signature you are already running epg2mei which should be doing what you want anyway. i.e. merge RT EPG data with the Broadcast EPG data. You are probably better finding out why that isn't working as you want rather than introducing another tap that shouldn't be needed.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:10 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
MickKi wrote:
When I go into the MyStuff menu option Z4 to scan a particular channel, it says that it will run if eit2mei is running. I don't seem to have eit2mei installed.
Some non-UK users need to use eit2mei because EPG2MEI only works with UK data.

Before EPG2MEI was available, you used to have to choose between OTA EPG data collected by eit2mei *OR* rt2mei data; EPG2MEI merges output from both.

EPG2MEI replaced eit2mei as the default EPG data collector in the UK when MyStuff 6.0 was released in about Sep 2009.

Option Z4 is only required if you're using eit2mei. It's not necessary with EPG2MEI because the data collection is done in a different way, and MyStuff receives a message from EPG2MEI whenever new data is available, so there's never any need to "force" a scan if you're using EPG2MEI. That is why the option is greyed out.
Quote:
From what you're saying it won't mess up my rt2mei generated EPG.mei file. Is this right?
eit2mei produces Freeview.mei; rt2mei produces MyStuff.mei (or rt.mei), and EPG2MEI produces EPG.mei, including merged output from rt2mei if present on your Toppy. So MyStuff's R1 setting should be set to EPG.mei, which *IS* the merged output from the OTA EPG and the output from rt2mei.

Or to put it another way, you're already getting what you want. What makes you think you aren't?

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:33 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
You should have a file called EPG.ini in /ProgramFiles/Settings on your Toppy. NB: You will have to use Altair / Antares / ftp to see the file. It won't be visible via the Toppy's UI.

The start of the file should contain a section that looks something like this:
    [Control]
    Output=EPG # Note: this is temporary and the output will eventually be EPG.mei
    EuroDST
    External=MyStuff
    Demangle
    MergeExt
    UseExtGenre
    #AddExtendedInfo
    StripDups
    Debug=Off
    DescSeparator=
    DescTerminator=

External=MyStuff is the line that tells EPG2MEI to merge the OTA data that it collects with your rt2mei output (which is called MyStuff.mei).

If rt2mei is successfully generating a MyStuff.mei file with data in it and copying it to the Toppy, whatever isn't working for you is not an rt2mei problem, and would probably be better addressed in the EPG2MEI thread.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MickKi
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 203
Thanks you for making things clear for me. I can see that I have MyStuff.mei and that Z2, Z3 & Z4 are greyed out. I'll start a thread under EPG2MEI because this is getting off topic.

_________________
Regards,
Mick
Toppy: TF5800 + Linksys NSLU2 - Unslung 6.10-beta
TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+EvPeUWf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 7/11/15
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 114 of 119
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 113, 114, 115 ... 117, 118, 119  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum