Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  SATA-IDE converters, working and non-working models

Page 13 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
tonyrobbo
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:33 am Reply with quote
Joined: 18 Jan 2010 Posts: 14
I received the Lycom adaptor yesterday and at last all is now working great. I also contacted CDL Micro and mentioned that the boxed Newlink adaptors may have a different chipset and after contacting the manufacturer, they do in fact have a JMicron chipset, CDL Micro have now updated this on their website.

I would recommend the Lycom adaptor as the only other thing I needed was a 80 wire IDE cable and it was very easy to fit, many thanks again to Andyfras for bringing the Newlink problems to our attention and for recommending one that does work.

Thank you also to Bob_Swede and these forums as I would never have attempted to upgrade to a Samsung Ecogreen F2 HD154UI 1.5TB drive without them, this drive is running much cooler and quieter than the original Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N 250GB and I now have 85% free space!

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 5/6/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
johnc10
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:20 am Reply with quote
Joined: 25 Dec 2007 Posts: 6
http://www.lindy.co.uk/ide-converter-for-sata-drives/51023.html, 24 with delivery.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 10/4/11
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
johnc10 wrote:
http://www.lindy.co.uk/ide-converter-for-sata-drives/51023.html, 24 with delivery.

That looks identical to the Lycom, but considerably more expensive. Crying or Very sad

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aramil
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 649 Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central
Just as an extra confirm the : Lycom ST-106-2 Mini Adapter works perfectly with 3.5 & 2.5 hdd's (well the ones I have tried)

_________________
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
View user's profile Send private message
JoRogan
Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 3:43 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Apr 2012 Posts: 5
I used the startech adaptor for my drive upgrade, about 8, but while I was looking came across this one for just over 5

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004IYFR3O/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00

Happy to say I plugged it in and it worked no problem. Admittedly I only left it in long enough to format a new 1TB drive and view some channels etc, so did not seat it properly and used the existing cable (not sure if cable would have been long enough with adaptor).

HOWEVER: I was not impressed with the soldering quality i saw on the unit. Now i'm not a soldering nut by day but to me the joints just looked a little dull and I did not want to risk it, maybe it was my paticular unit.

It was worth looking at it but I went for the startech for piece of mind!

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl
TAPs: AccurateBM v0.5; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 6:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1604 Location: Shropshire
Joints might look that way because they had to use lead free solder to pass EU requirements?

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 3:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
I'm having a problem trying to get an adapter working with a 5810 and a Samsung 1TB. I've tried a (old) Newlink (which works fine in a 5800 with the same disk), a Lycom ST-106-2 and the one from Amazon mentioned above. Unlike JoRogan, I haven't managed to get the Amazon one working in any Toppy (or PC), despite checking its solder joints. Maybe it's a duff one.

I know that the Lycom works in a 5810 with WD drives, as I've recommended it to others who have used it successfully.

I suspect that the Turbosat adapter will work, but it's too expensive.

Does anyone have a recommendation for an adapter that definitely works with the above combination?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wallace
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 5:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911
You have already ruled out what I would recommend but...

I Tried a couple of NewLink adaptors in my main and standby 5810's, but they both caused grief. (They worked for a couple of months).

I bit the bullet and got two of the TurboSat adaptors and everything has been running sweet since.

I have changed the Samsung 1TB for a WD model (see sig), but that was because I wanted the 1TB in my PC at the time (where it still is!). I Got two WD 1TB drives sometime later. One for my Humax HDR-FoxT2 and the other for the Toppy. Both Toppy and Hummy have performed faultlessly since.

So, regardless of HDD, the TurboSat adaptor works for me both with Samsung 1TB Spinrite and WD.

Not really answered your question, but hey, talk is cheap.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 6:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
That's a very useful answer, because it does confirm that the Turbosat adapter will do the job.

I keep thinking that the Turbosat adapter must be available under another name (and hopefully much cheaper), as I suspect that it's not made by Topfield/Turbosat.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
andyfras wrote:
I keep thinking that the Turbosat adapter must be available under another name (and hopefully much cheaper), as I suspect that it's not made by Topfield/Turbosat.
Are there any identifiable numbers on the adapter that would appear on all/any other makes? A search for the number may throw up something.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
roga
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 9:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2006 Posts: 167
andyfras wrote:
I know that the Lycom works in a 5810 with WD drives, as I've recommended it to others who have used it successfully.


Hi andyfras

I've just ordered a Lycom (for a 5810), but haven't ordered a disk yet, would I be wise to stick to WD only?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; (MyInfo B5.6); SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; PruneEPG 1.0; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 21/08/15
?
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue May 29, 2012 10:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
roga wrote:
I've just ordered a Lycom (for a 5810), but haven't ordered a disk yet, would I be wise to stick to WD only?

That would be my recommendation. I know that several 5810 owners have successfully used that combination.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
birdman
Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 1:18 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
andyfras wrote:
and the one from Amazon mentioned above. Unlike JoRogan, I haven't managed to get the Amazon one working in any Toppy (or PC), despite checking its solder joints.
I've got one. It drives a WD10EURX when wired up in an old IDE external USB chasis (well, it powers up and the disk model/capacity can be seen).
I'll be putting it into my Toppy this weekend (along with the caps I got from you a few days ago) so I'm hoping it will work for me.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
birdman wrote:
andyfras wrote:
and the one from Amazon mentioned above. Unlike JoRogan, I haven't managed to get the Amazon one working in any Toppy (or PC), despite checking its solder joints.
I've got one. It drives a WD10EURX when wired up in an old IDE external USB chasis (well, it powers up and the disk model/capacity can be seen).
I'll be putting it into my Toppy this weekend (along with the caps I got from you a few days ago) so I'm hoping it will work for me.
However - I've just tried it in my Toppy and although it starts to spin up it gets no further. And I've checked that it does still work in my old external USB chasis.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1765 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
I also have another problem.

I can get the old disk drive mount out - but I can't undo 5 of the 6 screws holding the disk drive into it. They've been screwed hard in.

Any suggestions?

All I can think of is to try drilling them out, the use the underside holes ot hold the old disk in place if necessary.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 13 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 16, 17, 18  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum