Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Bad DealExtreme SATA/IDE Adapter (possibly others)

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
jumbo
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Just received one of these cheapo sata/ide cards (my second) and lo and behold, unlike the first, it didn't work in either a 5800 or 5810. Upon examining the card it seems that the main (large square) surface mounted chip on the card had been damaged with the pins on two sides "squashed down" which made several pins touching! This probably was due to incorrect use of the insertion tool. Unfortunately they don't seem to have any quality control which would've identified the card as not working and given the low price charged that is understandable. Getting another sent - free of charge - of course.


Last edited by jumbo on Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
mhw
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:45 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 Posts: 20
I'm just waiting for them to agree to ship a second one to me - the first one almost works but shows corruption in the device identification information logged by the OS ('GAESUNG' reported for my Samsung disk!) and refuses to respond to commands. Mine has dry looking joints on the sata and ide connectors and on the 4 pin header on the board (dry enough that the header pins move). Agree with you about the poor quality control. Another customer posted a photo of their board here: http://www.dealextreme.com/forums/Forums.dx/Forum.12537~threadid.512735

-Mark.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCbCfCtEvEzIPePfPsRtUUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; TF5000 Display v1.53; EIT Sub v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.1; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/1/10
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
The card in that picture looks even worse than my card! Actually I had a close look at my working card and the soldering is extremely dubious! I'm sure the only reason they can sell these so cheaply is that they are mass producing them using cheap and unskilled labour and hope that they get a reasonable number "right", hoping that the rest (with faulty cards) will just buy another or get fobbed off, making them a reasonable profit.
View user's profile Send private message
Darucla
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1544
It may be worth working out if a few extra pounds spent is worth more than the extra time and effort involved in getting replacements.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
Darucla
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1544
Deleted duplicate post.


Last edited by Darucla on Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Darucla wrote:
It may be worth working out if a few extra pounds spent is worth more than the extra time and effort involved in getting replacements.
Indeed! If the numbers of bad cards from this source start to stack up then others should take heed.
View user's profile Send private message
simonc
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5640 Location: Cheltenham
I bought one of these adapters in January for an aborted Humax 9200 upgrade. Just fitted it in the Toppy and it seems to have lessened the disk thrashing I was getting when the Toppy wasn't accessing the disk. It's obviously of lower quality than the one I bought from Aerocooler, no soft padding spacer, but it seems to work better with my WD green drive.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kiwiconehead
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:31 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Dec 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Australia/Papua New Guinea
I have one working in a TF5000PVRt with a Samsung Ecogreen 1TB HD103SI. Used an 80 wire cable I found in my garage.

There was a bit of flux left on the IDE connector solder - poor process by the look of it, my soldering instructor in trade school would have had me beaten for leaving a workpiece like that.
View user's profile Send private message
mhw
Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:23 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 Posts: 20
My replacement arrived yesterday, and seems to be working Ok so far. The quality control definitely leaves much to be desired though - a couple of the pins on the IDE header protrude by a millimeter or so more than the other ones.

For the record, it took 7 days from them agreeing to replace the part to it dropping through my letter box.

There's a meme going around about putting broken circuit boards in the oven to fix solder problems. For example:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1421792.

Maybe I'll give that a go with the old broken one Very Happy

-Mark.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCbCfCtEvEzIPePfPsRtUUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; TF5000 Display v1.53; EIT Sub v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.1; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B4.1a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/1/10
View user's profile Send private message
PhilK
Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:47 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 44 Location: Hampshire, UK
Just fitted one of these to a TF5810, purchased from TurboSat (from the original batch of 5810's placed on eBay without HDD back in mid Feb).

Installed and working ok, I have fitted the majority of mods mention in verious threads on the forum, ie extra cooling and a different IDE cable.
View user's profile Send private message
aTOPPYuser
Posted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Sep 2008 Posts: 191
I,ve also just fitted one of these to a TF5810 i bought from Turbosat on eBay without a HDD.

The Hdd i am using is a 1tb WD10EADS. It is connected using a 18" ide 80 wire cable and is sat externally on top of the 5810.

All seems well so far it records two programmes and plays a third with out any problems.


aTOPPYuser

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
View user's profile Send private message
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:14 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
aTOPPYuser wrote:
I,ve also just fitted one of these to a TF5810 i bought from Turbosat on eBay without a HDD.

The Hdd i am using is a 1tb WD10EADS. It is connected using a 18" ide 80 wire cable and is sat externally on top of the 5810.

All seems well so far it records two programmes and plays a third with out any problems.


aTOPPYuser


May I please ask why you have it externally?
Which IDE/Sata card did you use ................ExtremeDeal?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
Hodman
Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:18 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Jul 2006 Posts: 30 Location: Coventry
Bought three os these DealExtreme IDE ATA convertors.
I have two 5810's & 1 5800 to convert to SATA.

I've just fininshed converting one of the 5810's using a Samsung F2 1TB drive and all is well.
However, I did have a problem with the longer IDE cable I bought for the conversion (the three connectors type).
It was too long and prevented proper functionality (the unit would just freeze on the formatting message).

Once I cut the cable close to the mid connector (using just one end connector and the mid connector) everything worked fine.

Reading this post, I will check the soldering on the remaining two (just in case).

_________________
Topfield 5800 - 250GB, Fan assisted - F/W 5.12.88
TAPS:
UK Auto Scheduler V0.71
UK Timers V1.2
EPG Nav. V4
Description Extender V2.1
Info Viewer
Other Hardware:
Liteon LVW-5006 DVD Recorder, Technomate TM-6800 HD Motorised Sat Receiver all feeding a 42" Panasonic TX-L42S10B
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
aTOPPYuser wrote:
is sat externally on top of the 5810.
You can get a wire mesh (ventilated) passive box for better protection - as well as aesthetics - for a fiver on fleabay (and possibly Maplin). I would not leave a hard drive exposed.
View user's profile Send private message
slimgym
Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Aug 2009 Posts: 121 Location: Essendon, Herts.
I don't know how others have done theirs but this is mine in a 5810, a 2.5" WD 160GB drive and the adaptor from Deal Extreme adaptor (although it's not really visible in this picture). Two of the 2.5" hard drive screw holes line up with the holes in the hard drive plate.


_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+Sc
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; (FastScanGUI v0.6b)
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum