Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  SATA-IDE converters, working and non-working models

Page 5 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
k0sh wrote:
Hi,

Has anyone tried this one from deal extreme? http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12537

One reviewer says it works with the topfield

I have ordered it and will try it with a 1tb or 1.5tb samsung


Has anyone actually got the DealExtreme IDE/SATA card working on a 5810 without doing any major changes to the positioning of HDD etc

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 5:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3468
CPC are now selling the Newlink adapter 14.25 (16.74):

http://cpc.farnell.com/newlink/nl-satadualadat/adaptor-sata-ide/dp/CS1584714?Ntt=CS1584714

If you can get the order up to 20 (+VAT), it's free postage at the moment using WEBFREE.

SATA Power lead 0.95 (1.12):

http://cpc.farnell.com/_/cdl-414/lead-sata-power-single-0-2m/dp/CS1880618?Ntt=CS1880618

Capacitors (Pack of 5) 1.71 (2.01)

http://cpc.farnell.com/rubycon/16yxf1000my1021/capacitor-low-z-16v-1000uf/dp/CA00169?Ntt=CA00169

Multimeter 2.25 (2.64)

http://cpc.farnell.com/_/dt830d/digital-multimeter-continuity/dp/IN0565014?Ntt=in0565014

Soldering kit 4.49 (5.28 )

http://cpc.farnell.com/duratool/zd-920c-89-9203-bs-plug/soldering-kit/dp/SD0115706

Note: All these prices are 'specials' (apart from caps) so they may expire at some point and revert to normal price. Take off last two digits from the part number to get the normal price.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
Contrary to reports I can confirm the Deal Extreme IDE/Sata Card works in the 5810 and the lid closes.
For your information
The existing IDE Cable was not long enough. I cut another three way IDE Flat cable I had, I put insulating tape around the bit I cut. I had to drill a small holes it the ends of IDE connection. This cable was about 5 inches long and as already advised the connection that said Motherboard, I plugged in to my new HDD 1TB Samsung F2. The molex plug goes in to the IDE/Sata card with no problem.
Powered up and Hey Presto it asked if I wanted to format the HDD, this took about 30 seconds.

My only little concern is the flat IDE Cable I have runs from the motherboard on top of part of the HDD then folds and goes in to the IDE/Sata card. The IDE Cable is just touching a couple of the air vents. Ideally I need a little longer IDE cable so it can run around the HDD.

Also for those who are interested, I bought the Samsung ITB F2 HDD from Ebuyer (57.99) I opted for the free delivery. I ordered it Friday afternoon and it came this morning at 10.00 - so in effect I got next day delivery for nothing

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
Just updated post #1 of this thread with info on the DealExtreme adapter, plus I threw in 3 pictures from my own upgrade showing how the adapter attaches to the drive and how I positioned the long 80-wire ATA cable.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
mstombs
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 938
Bob_Swede wrote:
Just updated post #1 of this thread with info on the DealExtreme adapter, plus I threw in 3 pictures from my own upgrade showing how the adapter attaches to the drive and how I positioned the long 80-wire ATA cable.


Thanks for the photos - my 5800 needed similar origami on the 80 way cable - but looks like yours is longer and second drive connector not cut-off. I have now received a round ATA80 - from ebay , but as all is working I won't fit it until I have problems - and will then experiment to see if the shorter drive to drive section will work, as alternative to working mboard end to drive.

I also put electrical insulation tape on the back of the drive and the DX adaptor - I didn't like how close the back of the DX pcb was to the metal drive case - but I think putting the case on tends to push the cables and opens up this gap.

[edit]
Had occasional crashes with 80-way flat cable, and then the hdd stopped being recognized on boot-up, so fitted the round adaptor.

I used the short master- slave section, with master plugged into the DX adaptor. After successfully testing, I cut off the longer section with "system board connector". Had to remove the stiff rubber protective 'boots' from the cable used to make it flexible enough to fit - but no crashes now for over a week!


Last edited by mstombs on Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:10 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5800 1.5TB, TS On, NSLU2 + unslung 6.10 + WD500GB + MWI 0.66, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+AfBmC0CfCtFsIMPePfPsScUWfWs
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; (MyInfo B5.6); MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6; DumbWidescreenTV 2.44; TF5000 Display v1.53; PruneEPG 1.0; (EIT Sub v0.6 SnG);
Sig generated with help from MyInfo on 18/4/15
?
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
Just to throw the spammer in the works, I thought I would change my cut flat IDE cable to a round one.
I had four spare round ones all different lengths but all had the same connections. Motherboard, Master and Slave. The Motherboard and the Master were at opposite ends.

As usual I plugged the motherboard end into the HDD but I could not get it to recognise the HDD when I plugged either the master or slave into the Toppy Motherboard.

Thought I would be clever and cut the master end off, leaving a round cable about 10 inhes long with the Motherboard connection on and the slave ......unfortunately I could not get it to work Sad

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
kiwiconehead
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:37 am Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Dec 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Australia/Papua New Guinea
I have theDealExtreme adapter working in my TF5000 with a Samsung 1TB drive
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Yes we know! You're not the first one. However, being a VERY cheap adapter it is of dubious build quality and may therefore not work in anything! People should take that into account when ordering this adapter which also takes a while to arrive in the UK. It would have been more useful to post in the DealExtreme thread to enable us to build a picture of the "good" and the "bad" cards from this particular vendor.

PS When reporting a particular hard drive it is helpful to, additionally, specify the drive model; There are now several significantly different models of the same size (from all manufacturers).
View user's profile Send private message
kiwiconehead
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:27 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Dec 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Australia/Papua New Guinea
jumbo wrote:
People should take that into account when ordering this adapter which also takes a while to arrive in the UK.


Although it's about the only one available in Australia where I am, and doesn't take long to get here.

Quote:
PS When reporting a particular hard drive it is helpful to, additionally, specify the drive model; There are now several significantly different models of the same size (from all manufacturers).


Did that in the hard drive thread, but just for you, it's the HD103SI Ecogreen 1Tb Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message
lstew
Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:40 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 48
Doesn't work with TF5800 + WD500AAKS:

Does work with TF5800 + WD500AAKS:

Note: I still have an issue with the latter setup where HDD isn't detected sometimes when coming out of standby. Workaround: don't go into standby when it's working Smile
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
lstew wrote:
Doesn't work with TF5800 + WD500AAKS:

It looks to me that this is supposed to be plugged into the motherboard IDE connector and then a cable run to the drive. Is this how it works?
In that case it might not be possible to use in a toppy where the IDE connector is obstructed by the drive bay.
Quote:

Does work with TF5800 + WD500AAKS:

Note: I still have an issue with the latter setup where HDD isn't detected sometimes when coming out of standby. Workaround: don't go into standby when it's working Smile

This too is supposed to be plugged into the MB IDE connector, but thanks to its flexible short IDE cable it can be positioned in a good way on the toppy MB.
It has been reported as a good one to use so far (although I was not able to get one myself last summer, when I upgraded my own TF5700....)

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
lstew
Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:57 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 48
Yeah, the former is designed to plug directly on mobo, I tried it first without the drive fitted and it didn't work, so I didn't go any futher. If it had worked I was going to use a PATA cable and make a female-female converter with some pcb pins.

The Newlink works fine and fits due to built-in short cable (though you do need to drill out the blanked pin space on the connector).
View user's profile Send private message
minsted
Posted: Wed May 19, 2010 10:37 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 70
Hi - has anyone tried this to upgrade the disk on a 5800, wonder of it works and will fit in the box ?


http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bi-Directional-Converter-Connect-Drive-Motherboard/dp/B00279MSBG/ref=pd_cp_ce_2[/url]
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1066 Location: Sweden
minsted wrote:
Hi - has anyone tried this to upgrade the disk on a 5800, wonder of it works and will fit in the box ?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bi-Directional-Converter-Connect-Drive-Motherboard/dp/B00279MSBG/ref=pd_cp_ce_2[/url]

It will most probably NOT fit in the box since it looks a bit stiff and high. The Newlink one is similar but has a flexible short cable to the IDE connector that makes it possible to get the connector in and still lean the converter out from the disk drive. I believe this is not possible using this particular model.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
IanJ
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:21 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Posts: 29 Location: East Midlands, Waltham Transmitter
Item 9 is currently (30/07/10) also being sold by CDL on Amazon. It's slightly cheaper than the CDL website, and has free p&p.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000YSMBSW/ref=oss_product

_________________
TF5800, 1TB Samsung HD103SI, internal fan, networked via Slug. TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig part generated by MyInfo on 20/5/11?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 5 of 18
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16, 17, 18  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum