Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Odd firmware message on 5810

Page 1 of 1
funkydita
Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:46 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Apr 2006 Posts: 9
My new (three weeks?) 5810 got in a bit of a flap tonight over some conflicting timers and switched itself off. On turning it back on it gives the following message "firmware was changed with a latest one. Reset all data is highly recommended will you proceed it?" (sic). It gives the option to select "yes" or "no" but selecting either and pressing OK does absolutely nothing.

My Toppy is now essentially unusable as I can't get past this message.

I'm running the recommended firmware and Mystuff. Can anyone shed any light?
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:09 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
funkydita wrote:
"firmware was changed with a latest one. Reset all data is highly recommended will you proceed it?" (sic). It gives the option to select "yes" or "no" but selecting either and pressing OK does absolutely nothing.



It's a well known bug in the 5810 firmware.

The usual tricks to get beyond the message.
Turn the Toppy off at the mains for 2 minutes. On switch on you will get a cold boot of the software, which doesn't happen with just putting the Toppy into standby.

As the toppy comes out of standby hold down the 0 (zero) key on the remote. Hold it down until a picture appears. This stops the TAPs in Auto Start from loading up for this session only. You may then be able to gain access to reset the Toppy from the menu - followed by a rescan for channels.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
funkydita
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:31 am Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Apr 2006 Posts: 9
Thanks so much for that. The "0" didn't work but I did manage to delete my taps from autostart using altair and now it's all fine.

Is this just a bug that I can ignore and go ahead and reinstall my previous taps (well, just mystuff really)?

Thanks again.
View user's profile Send private message
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:43 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5956 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
I think there's a patch from R2 that disables this erroneous message and the belief of the toppy that it has received an Over The Air (OTA) firmware update. I'm off to bed, but I'm sure a search of R2's site will yield something. Smile

_________________
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kermit
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2005 Posts: 972 Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hyde, I believe you are refering to Ot.

_________________
Cheers Simon
>8-]

TF5000PVRt 500GB March '09 f/w
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3520
HydeTheDarkerSide wrote:
I think there's a patch from R2 that disables this erroneous message and the belief of the toppy that it has received an Over The Air (OTA) firmware update. I'm off to bed, but I'm sure a search of R2's site will yield something. Smile


A freind is complaining that his 5810 often does the same thing with the recommended firmware and the OTA Disable [Ot] patch installed (plus time shifting and interactive turned off).

It's just Topfield firmware that is not fit for purpose!

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:56 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
The [Ot] patch doesn't affect this bug. It's believed to be a memory corruption problem. The only way to minimise the risk is to maximise the amount of available memory by only running the TAPs you need, and by deleting as many channels as you can live without (pay, shopping, childrens, parliament, other specialist channels, etc. according to viewing habits).

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5956 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Ah I see now. That patch is just to stop the toppy getting confused by genuine OTA broadcasts meant for other brands of STB, not getting hopelessly in a mess imagining it's getting an OTA broadcast of its own.

_________________
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:34 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
funkydita wrote:
The "0" didn't work but I did manage to delete my taps from autostart using altair and now it's all fine.
A simpler alternative is to flash EmptySettings to use the boot loader to perform the necessary Factory Reset (and clear the prompt).

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
funkydita
Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:16 am Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Apr 2006 Posts: 9
Thanks all. I'll try EmptySettings if it happens again.

I only run mystuff (and the bare bones taps it recommends) and have deleted a number of porn and pay channels. How rubbish!
View user's profile Send private message
GJM
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:35 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2006 Posts: 254
R2-D2 wrote:
funkydita wrote:
The "0" didn't work but I did manage to delete my taps from autostart using altair and now it's all fine.
A simpler alternative is to flash EmptySettings to use the boot loader to perform the necessary Factory Reset (and clear the prompt).

And what is the solution if you are able to do a factory reset and it keeps coming back?

_________________
Model: TF5810PVR. Firmware: 5.15.09T - Sept 02-2010 - Transmitter: Durris. Taps - SecCache(UK) V0.4 * MPDisplayLITE V1.2 * Extend v1.7 * Font Manger 1.0d * EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 * EPG2MEI v0.96 * MHEG On/Off A3 * My Stuff 6.4 * My Info B5.6
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:39 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3463
GJM wrote:
And what is the solution if you are able to do a factory reset and it keeps coming back?

Try to reduce memory usage. The best way to do this is to delete all unused 'dross' channels (pay, porn, shopping, internet, etc.).

TAPs such as FastscanGUI can be used to ensure that only a single transmitter is tuned, and use Channel Manager to prune the channels. Top Manager can also perform these functions, and more.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:27 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
For more information on managing memory (especially on a 5810) to avoid this and other problems, see Toppy Memory.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum