Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  "Check Your Reservation" -- request for help

Page 8 of 25
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Geoff_W
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 603
R2-D2 wrote:
The PlayNoCYR patch is intended to address only the case where playback is interrupted. The watching TV and chaseplay cases are different, but may also be solvable.


Thanks R2. I'll probably use this patch, if only to eliminate one of the causes for the CYR. Looking forward to further developments...

Geoff

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; TF5000 Display v1.53; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 25/4/16
?
View user's profile Send private message
glenmcfar
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Dec 2006 Posts: 4519 Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland
simonc wrote:
In case you hadn't guessed, this works on the 5.13.72 beta.


I take it this firmware isn't available to Joe Public yet?

Glen.

_________________
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:43 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
Nope, and won't be - we're way in the 5.14 land with beta testing now!

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
glenmcfar
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Dec 2006 Posts: 4519 Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland
Yeah, was wondering where that would fit in. Ah well, that's what happens for not being brave enough to volunteer for the beta testing.

Glen.

_________________
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
View user's profile Send private message
eye of ra
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Dec 2005 Posts: 1018
simonc wrote:
I'm so glad you bought a Toppy, R2.

I?ll second that.

SHMBO has always nagged me about the CYR, peace at last.

And I can finally recommend the Toppy without "It?s the best but?"

Thanks

Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
Toppy: 5800. Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched
AutoStart: MyStuff 5.62a | MP3 Jukebox 2.1d | WSSkiller 2.12d | Quickjump 1.69
eit2mei 7.8m3 | TapLauncher 3.7c | MHEGControl B1 | TF5000 Display 1.51
AccurateBM 0.4 | EITDupFix.
TapLauncher: MeiSearch 1.37 | Media Manager 1.5 | Tap Commander 1.32 | HDFW 2.3a.
Updated:15-05-08
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:08 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Just been playing with provoking the Case 3 (CYR while watching TV). I tried manually altering the paths but it wasn't enough to stop the CYR (plus, it broke some things...). So my thoughts moved to correcting the choice of tuner/path when a recording starts and when you change channels.

However... my first run with the logging TAP showed that it's worse than I'd thought, and there really is no good reason for the CYR sometimes: it even popped up when the 1st recording was happily recording on the same tuner and path as the main service. So there would appear to be a real bug in the logic somewhere (it should have been able to choose the free tuner and free recording path -- there was no need to change the main service).

There may be a clue in that a second run used a different tuner initially and this resulted in the first recording occupying the other tuner (on the same mux) and the other path. In this case I was expecting the CYR that happened.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3520
R2-D2 - Do you have old or new tuners. Just wondered if you were able to run all firmware versions ?

_________________
Autostart TAPs: Jags 3, Bookmark 2uk, Quickjump 1.71, Power Manager 1.1, Description Extender 1.5/2.1, MEI2Archive 3.8l6, Tap Launcher 3.5a, Tap Commander, AccurateBMExtend 0.3, RemoteExt 1.5, TunerRecAR.2
Launched during EPG scan: Crid, SeriesLink 0.35
TF5800 Version 5.13.65 PHT2UFXp5Xw3RpPcE2Bf2BqRsRh3Pf1Ec2ErEfHe1 Ra3Cf2Ct
Samsung 400Gb+Fan
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Andy K wrote:
Do you have old or new tuners.
New ones, so yes I'm stuck for being able to test old firmwares properly. So it's a good job you're a very willing tester. Smile I must admit that I'm surprised there isn't a bigger difference in the basic routines between your older firmware and the newer ones -- the changes seem to be localised to just a small part of the main reservation checker (and without much beneficial effect!).
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Black Cloud
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2005 Posts: 299
R2-D2 wrote:
Just been playing with provoking the Case 3 (CYR while watching TV). I tried manually altering the paths but it wasn't enough to stop the CYR (plus, it broke some things...). So my thoughts moved to correcting the choice of tuner/path when a recording starts and when you change channels.

Considering Case 3, if we do this:
- Come home from work and switch on to watch Ch 3
- then MyStuff Control Timer starts backup recording of Ch 3 (in case we're not home)
- then MS starts second recording on Ch 1
it ALWAYS causes a CYR.

Alternatively, if we do this:
- Come home from work and switch on to watch Ch 3
- then MyStuff Control Timer starts backup recording of Ch 3
- then manually PiP Ch 1 during ad break
- then MS starts second recording on Ch 1
we NEVER get a CYR.

R2, if you can automatically do what Super PiP does, preferrably without showing anything onscreen, I think you will overcome the Case 3 situation.

_________________
HW: TF5800 Black Panther 1.5TB. FW: 5.13.65 Patched
SW: TAP Commander 1.32, Goldfish 0.5, Font Manager 1.0d, SecCache v0.4, EIT Sub v0.6, EPG2MEI v0.96, Extend v1.7, TF5000 Display v1.53, MyStuff 6.4, MHEG On/Off A3, WSSkiller V2.12d
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
Black Cloud wrote:
- then manually PiP Ch 1 during ad break
Thanks for the very helpful info -- it's actually very close to what I was planning on doing, so it's good to have confirmation that it might work (the "just turned on" aspect might also be having an influence...). Before the above test result I was expecting it could be done quite subtly, but at the moment I think there may be a bug (or two) in the main logic that needs fixing, too.

Early attempts (for the chase play case) showed that changing the PiP (sub) tuner worked, but that had the side-effect of opening the PiP (as in your example) -- there's no normal API method (that I know of) to change the sub channel without doing this. It's definitely worth a crack at a TAP to try this, if I can find a suitable routine.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Black Cloud
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Sep 2005 Posts: 299
Just thinking about it, if we got a PiP appear instead of a CYR, that would be a great improvement.

BTW I use Super PiP because I can make the PiP very small and exactly in the corner of my screen so as to be least intrusive. Maybe it could disappear when the roundels go?

_________________
HW: TF5800 Black Panther 1.5TB. FW: 5.13.65 Patched
SW: TAP Commander 1.32, Goldfish 0.5, Font Manager 1.0d, SecCache v0.4, EIT Sub v0.6, EPG2MEI v0.96, Extend v1.7, TF5000 Display v1.53, MyStuff 6.4, MHEG On/Off A3, WSSkiller V2.12d
View user's profile Send private message
halibut
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:48 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 236
Would there be a way to patch the CYR timeout period down to 0? That way the toppy would just 'get on with it', with minimum disruption.

H.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+BmEvEzPePsR0SbScVd TAPs: MHEG Control B2.1; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyStuff 6.6; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5;Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/2/15
View user's profile Send private message
simonc
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:37 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5640 Location: Cheltenham
And if the patch also prevented the window from drawing you'd avoid any brief flicker. I did this with my version of the playback stopped patch with reasonable success.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12148
simonc wrote:
And if the patch also prevented the window from drawing you'd avoid any brief flicker.
There'd be no need to even get that far -- just do the "Yes" case immediately.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TonyC
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Nov 2005 Posts: 158
halibut wrote:
Would there be a way to patch the CYR timeout period down to 0? That way the toppy would just 'get on with it', with minimum disruption.

Seconded. I use mcgCYRResume and it sorts out what happens afterwards - it's just having to sit there with the CYR message on-screen for 60 (?) seconds first that is a pain.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 8 of 25
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 23, 24, 25  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum