Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  TF5810 not responding

Page 1 of 1
saloplad
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:25 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 Posts: 5
I have a new 5810 (about a month old) which has been working fine until now.

But now when I turn it on, it boots and goes to the BBC News Channel, but then won't respond to remote control (although the light on the box flashes), nor to the buttons on the box itself.

The only button that has any effect is the standby button (both remote and on the box) which results in the display saying "WAIT".

Also don't seem able to connect via USB from altair or antares.

I've turned off at the mains and waited several minutes before rebooting, but makes no difference.

Any ideas? Or do I need to send it back?


Last edited by saloplad on Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 1908 Location: E Yorkshire Belmont Transmitter
saloplad wrote:
Also don't seem able to connect via USB from altair or antares.

Have you installed any Taps or updated the firmware before the problem started??

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/13
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 1:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 748 Location: Hull
Have you restricted your favourites to 'news'?
I think it's 'options' and then change to the favourites you want.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.5;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message
saloplad
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:57 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 Posts: 5
ccs wrote:
Have you installed any Taps or updated the firmware before the problem started??


My Stuff installed when I first got it. No changes made since then.
View user's profile Send private message
saloplad
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:59 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 Posts: 5
billmars wrote:
Have you restricted your favourites to 'news'?
I think it's 'options' and then change to the favourites you want.


Not aware of restricting anything, but since I can't access any options, menus, etc, I have no way of telling.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 1908 Location: E Yorkshire Belmont Transmitter
Try booting with the zero key pressed on the remote. This will prevent any Taps from loading. If Altair then works, post your MyInfo.log on here and someone might the be able to spot the problem.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/13
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
saloplad
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 6:30 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 Posts: 5
ccs wrote:
Try booting with the zero key pressed on the remote. This will prevent any Taps from loading. If Altair then works, post your MyInfo.log on here and someone might the be able to spot the problem.


ALready tried rebooting with zero pressed, and makes no difference.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:30 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10359 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I know you say it doesn't respond to anything, but does it respond to the Menu button?

It's possible that it's lost all the channels, and won't do anything else until you scan. If that's the case, the Menu button should work, and you'll be able to choose the option to scan for channels, but won't be able to exit the menu until you do.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
saloplad
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:21 am Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 Posts: 5
juwlz wrote:
I know you say it doesn't respond to anything, but does it respond to the Menu button?

It's possible that it's lost all the channels, and won't do anything else until you scan. If that's the case, the Menu button should work, and you'll be able to choose the option to scan for channels, but won't be able to exit the menu until you do.

Julie


I've pressed every button on the remote (and on the front of the box). The only one that has any effect is the standby button, which causes it to go into a "WAIT" state - or at least that's what it says on the display. Once it's in that state the only thing I can do is turn it off at the mains.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:21 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10359 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Looks like it's probably time to dig out the receipt then.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 1908 Location: E Yorkshire Belmont Transmitter
Have you tried a firmware update using EmptySettings.tfd ??

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/13
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum