Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  Wireless Toppy Setup Guide for the Asus WL500g

Page 28 of 28
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28
jumbo
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4733
birdman wrote:
jumbo wrote:
You can use any Linux-based gizmo for which you can compile ftpd-topfield, have a spare USB slot available (to connect to the Toppy) and of course a driver for Toppy USB - if needed.
ftpd-topfield is the driver. It just talks to the USB device (as does puppy).
I meant the lower level hardware or device driver that enables the Toppy USB to be seen by lsusb, for example!
View user's profile Send private message
adrianlodge
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:41 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 May 2009 Posts: 50 Location: Winchester
I think I may have got the wrong end of the stick with regard to networking.

What I was wanting to do was to play video files that are stored on a server (Windows Home Server 2011) on the Toppy. That is, access files on a server from the Toppy. Is this at all possible?

thanks

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -PeXl
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/9/12
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:46 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1759 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
jumbo wrote:
I meant the lower level hardware or device driver that enables the Toppy USB to be seen by lsusb, for example!
There isn't one. It's on the USB bus. That's it.
There is a user-level library (libusb) to talk to USB devices.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
biggsd
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:00 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 15 Dec 2008 Posts: 98
@narrowgauge -
Quote:
In case anyone else wants to do it, and more and more TVs are coming on the market with an ethernet port, the trick is to change the extended mode setting from station to ethernet bridge in the wireless/advanced settings on the Asus.

Wow! Thanks for the tip! My Blu-Ray player is now hooked up to t'internet, much to the squabbling delight(?) of the family.
Presumably it becomes self-aware tomorrow and become another small element in Skynet...

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqBrC0CeCfCkCtCwCyDeDsEcEfErEsFGmHHeIKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStSyT2TdTfTsWfXpXw
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73.1; EPGnavigator 6.0.5; MyInfo B4.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/09
View user's profile Send private message
Tinpusher
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:39 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 30 Dec 2007 Posts: 14 Location: Yorkshire
jumbo wrote:
You can use any Linux-based gizmo for which you can compile ftpd-topfield, have a spare USB slot available (to connect to the Toppy) and of course a driver for Toppy USB - if needed. The PogoPlug has been successfully used. Of course the Asus (three models) are tried-n-tested and consequently easier than most to setup.


Do you think, then, that it would be possible to set up a NAS box (e.g., QNAP TS-410), with the Toppy plugged into its USB port, to do the same job as the Asus?
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1759 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Tinpusher wrote:
Do you think, then, that it would be possible to set up a NAS box (e.g., QNAP TS-410), with the Toppy plugged into its USB port, to do the same job as the Asus?
I'd expect so - provided you can login to a command line.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 28 of 28
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum