Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Toppy misinterprets UTC times in EPG

Page 1 of 1
beagley
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:34 am Reply with quote
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 24
As we were recently reminded in "Toppy.org.uk news": prior to a DST change, Toppy uses the current offset and applies it all the programmes in the EPG, including ones that are going to be broadcast after the change.

Just interested to know whether the experts on this site regard this as a bug, and if so, whether Topfield have acknowledged this.

The issue could certainly be fixed: Topfield could embed the standard tz (Olson) database (or a reduced version just covering those territories in which Toppys are sold) so that Toppy could be aware of the forthcoming DST change. This would enable EPG times on the other side of a DST boundary to be properly adjusted before use.

Beagley
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:28 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9567 Location: London
Better timezone support is something we'd dearly like to see; it's not that high up the priority list, I suspect, since there are obviously some more pressing things in there.

They're just added some auto functionality to the Oz models, but I'm not quite sure what sort of support.

I'll make enquiries; perhaps they're put off by selling lots of machines in Australia where, it seems, they have a slightly looser idea of DST switchover, moving it from time to time when there are important sporting events, for example.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:46 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5955 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
I'm not sure the bugs database was followed up from the last time we had this as per :-

http://www.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=25337#25337

_________________
Hyde.
2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate , TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:05 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5955 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Bug ID 81 has been added to the bugs database here:-

http://www.toppy.org.uk/services/fwbugs.php?fw=16

_________________
Hyde.
2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate , TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum