Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  rt2mei 1.1a

Page 1 of 119
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 117, 118, 119  Next
wooders
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 428 Location: The National Forest
rt2mei 1.1a

rt2mei grabs 14 days worth of electronic programme guide (EPG) data from the Radio Times website for the Freeview channels that you choose and stores it in a file (MyStuff.mei) to be transferred to your Topfield 5800 PVR. Once on the Toppy, it can be displayed by the MyStuff TAP and used to set timers to record programmes. This is a big improvement on the patchy EPG data that is broadcast over the air.

Although it will run on Windows, Mac OS X, Linux and other OS too, if it is run on a Linksys NSLU2 or Asus WL500g (both of which need their firmware re-flashing) then a completely automatic daily update of EPG data to the Toppy can be achieved very easily.

Look here for more info about rt2mei.

Changes in version 1.1a
  • Fixed warning message when defining constants
Changes in version 1.1:
  • Changed the inclusion of rt2mei_character_replacements.php so that it is only included once per line
  • The presence of include files is now only checked for once at the beginning
  • MEI files now produced in ascending LCN order


Last edited by wooders on Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:50 pm; edited 5 times in total

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/3/12


Let rt2mei 1.1a feed your Toppy with EPG data from the Radio Times website.
Download rt2mei from http://www.wooders.co.uk/rt2mei
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bawbagg
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:33 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 11 Aug 2005 Posts: 1122
Runs like a dream on my xbox linux.

Excellent work wooders. Many thanks.

BB

_________________
TAPs: MyStuff Something or other + whatever CW recommends
MEI readme and latest version at http://my.opera.com/bawbagg
Current MyStuff Known Bugs http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk/Bugs.shtml
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DX
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:15 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
I've just installed the latest version - it looks good. I'll find the broadcast hours filtering really useful, especially when searching for programmes on the TUTV channels.

One minor point - I noticed that rt2mei.cfg still has BBC Parliament on 85, not the new 81.

FYI During installation I checked the previous versions epg.log and one grab - 16/02/06 10:08:14 - was later than the normal 7:20-7:30.
View user's profile Send private message
CeeGee
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 390
I installed this as per instructions on Windows XP, set up a daily Scheduled Task, and waited. It worked perfectly, including all the TUTV times downloaded to the Toppy.
Absolutely brilliant, and so easy to install. Many thanks Wooders! Very Happy

Colin

_________________
Model:TF5810PVR. Transmitter: Crystal Palace. TAPS: My Stuff, OneList, MHEG Control, Remote Extender, Description Extender, MP3Jukebox. Remote: Harmony 525

All I want to do is watch some television!
View user's profile Send private message
jackofall
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:45 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 25
Working great here on my Asus aswell,

Thanks keep up the excellent work
View user's profile Send private message
wooders
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Aug 2005 Posts: 428 Location: The National Forest
Glad that you are all finding this new version useful.


DX wrote:
One minor point - I noticed that rt2mei.cfg still has BBC Parliament on 85, not the new 81.

Thanks for the info, I will update the download files this evening.

DX wrote:
FYI During installation I checked the previous versions epg.log and one grab - 16/02/06 10:08:14 - was later than the normal 7:20-7:30.

I found that one day the RT website was not updated at all. I think that it was a couple of Sundays ago; I will check when I get home from work.

Try scheduling at 0702hrs, this should ensure that you grab first time.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/3/12


Let rt2mei 1.1a feed your Toppy with EPG data from the Radio Times website.
Download rt2mei from http://www.wooders.co.uk/rt2mei
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ngh
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:47 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Jan 2006 Posts: 77
Hi,

I have just tried the new program (version 0.5). I think all is well, but I noticed that I got the following output:

PHP Notice: Undefined offset 5 in /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.php on line 574
PHP Notice: Undefined offset 4 in /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.php on line 574
|3|34|Grampian

This was repeated for a number of stations. I think that this relates only to channels where I have left the 'Selected' channels blank in the config. file (BTW - I did not update my config. file - I used the one from the previous version - is this OK?).

Can anyone confirm that this is working as expected?

Thanks,

Nick
View user's profile Send private message
jackofall
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:54 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 25
ngh wrote:
(BTW - I did not update my config. file - I used the one from the previous version - is this OK?).


The new config file contains the info for the topup tv schedule times as a new field
View user's profile Send private message
sebw
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Apr 2005 Posts: 293 Location: Southampton
Concerning the rt2mei.cfg, isn't 'Men & Motors' now LCN 38 rather than 35?

_________________
Model: TF5800PVR - Silver Firmware: 5.13.65NITfix Transmitter: Rowridge (IOW)
TAPS: MyStuff + rt2mei : Remote Ext : Description Ext : MEISearch : SmartSkipper : UK OZ Surfer : Display
Other: ASUS WL-500gp (wired) + Olegs (1.9.2.7-10) + ftpd-topfield (0.7.7)
View user's profile Send private message
ngh
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:12 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 23 Jan 2006 Posts: 77
ngh wrote:
Hi,

I have just tried the new program (version 0.5). I think all is well, but I noticed that I got the following output:

PHP Notice: Undefined offset 5 in /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.php on line 574
PHP Notice: Undefined offset 4 in /opt/rt2mei/rt2mei.php on line 574
|3|34|Grampian

This was repeated for a number of stations. I think that this relates only to channels where I have left the 'Selected' channels blank in the config. file (BTW - I did not update my config. file - I used the one from the previous version - is this OK?).

Can anyone confirm that this is working as expected?

Thanks,

Nick


OK - my apologies - I was being lazy by trying to use the old config. file. I've now used the new config. file and all is well.

Thanks,

Nick
View user's profile Send private message
Magic Man
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Jan 2006 Posts: 206 Location: South Wales
Quick check...

Currently I'm using Bawbaggs excellent MyStuff_Extended_Info and transferring the .mei via ftp to my slug equipped Toppy.

If I wanted to go down the fully automated route and allow the slug to grab the data itself via rt2mei then I would have to install php in addition to rt2mei on my slug which would also mean that I would have to unsling unslung to a USB drive due to memory requirements? (I'm just using ftpd-topfield at the moment with the internal memory of the slug)

Could I use a USB flash/thumb drive or must it be a hard drive...?

Cheers.
View user's profile Send private message
DX
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
Magic Man wrote:

Could I use a USB flash/thumb drive or must it be a hard drive...?


I use a USB flash drive with my asus. A hard drive is probably overkill, unless you also want it to set it up as a general purpose fileserver as well.
View user's profile Send private message
CeeGee
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 390
sebw wrote:
Concerning the rt2mei.cfg, isn't 'Men & Motors' now LCN 38 rather than 35?
Correct. I meant to mention that in my earlier post - it does need changing.

Colin

_________________
Model:TF5810PVR. Transmitter: Crystal Palace. TAPS: My Stuff, OneList, MHEG Control, Remote Extender, Description Extender, MP3Jukebox. Remote: Harmony 525

All I want to do is watch some television!
View user's profile Send private message
Magic Man
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Jan 2006 Posts: 206 Location: South Wales
Anyone using rt2mei with a NSLU2 and only a flash disk? Since it's a flash, can it be supported on disk 1 which the default NLSU2 doesn't support because rt2mei requires the Toppy on disk 2?

If I've already flashed unslung 5.5 to my NLSU2 and installed ftpd-topfield, there is no room left for the requirements of rt2mei?

In this case I have to unsling to the external storage?

Any guides or other things I should be aware of in this case/

Thanks.

Edit:
Swapped the Toppy to disk 2 and put a 256MB flash disk (actually a 256mb flash mp3 player I had free) on disk 1. It could see it okay but after formatting the flash disk from within the slug web interface, it shows as 56MB free even though it was/is 256MB, is this right (i.e. enough to unsling to)?

Also, if you unsling to an external drive (whether flash or HD), what happens then if you unplug that drive - does the slug become unusable or simply reverts to booting from it's internal firmware?

Finally, can the slug power an exteranl USB2 drive that is bus powered? I have an old 6GB notebook drive (out of an Archos Recorder mp3 player) - any suggested enclosures I could get to make use of this drive?

Final finally... Just had a thought. Suppose you could mount a drive inside the Toppy, use it's regulated 12v dc supply and run the USB cable outside to connect to the slug...
View user's profile Send private message
DX
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 2694
CeeGee wrote:
sebw wrote:
Concerning the rt2mei.cfg, isn't 'Men & Motors' now LCN 38 rather than 35?
Correct. I meant to mention that in my earlier post - it does need changing.

Colin


I thought it moved from 38 to 35?
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 119
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 117, 118, 119  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum