Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Top Tip!

Page 4 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
chunkywizard
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:56 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9321 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Nice tip dedics,

thanks!

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:09 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9567 Location: London
Tips for the standard Toppy firmware have been added to the FAQ database in a new Top tips section, which is also available from the Help menu at the top of the forum screen.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nelviticus
Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:38 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 07 Mar 2006 Posts: 78 Location: Hitchin, Herts
If you find your Toppy too noisy, try this:

Buy two squash balls from a sports shop;
Buy a cheap glass chopping board (preferably not one with pictures of carrots on it);
Cut the two squash balls in half with a craft knife (try to cut them exactly in half along the seam);
Put half a squash ball over each of the Toppy's 'feet' and sit it on the glass chopping board;
Marvel at how much quieter it is.

Regards

_________________
Regards

Nelviticus
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dragon Drop
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:26 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Jun 2006 Posts: 8 Location: Cirencester
A variation on the squash balls idea, as used by me (and other in various hi-fi forums) - less chance of slicing your pinkie open. Use this:

a. castor cups, from the local DIY shed. Normally used under the feet of sofas etc.
b. squash balls (don't cut them!) .
c. a platform (hi-fi people tend to prefer something more solid like the 12 Asda granite chopping board).

Place the squash balls into the castor cups. Place the platform on top, then the Toppy on top of that. The weight of the granite and Toppy will keep the balls in place. Works fine for me, for a CD player.

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR; Firmware: 5.12.25;
Autostart TAPs: eit2mei Beta 7;MyStuff 4.5;
Other TAPs: None;
View user's profile Send private message
Magic Man
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Jan 2006 Posts: 206 Location: South Wales
...and get the castor cups for hard floors that have a rubber or felt backing rather than plain plastic.
View user's profile Send private message
chunkywizard
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 4:43 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9321 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Hey Dragon Drop,

your brackets need to be square for your sig. to display correctly,

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dragon Drop
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:08 am Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Jun 2006 Posts: 8 Location: Cirencester
chunkywizard wrote:
Hey Dragon Drop,

your brackets need to be square for your sig. to display correctly,

CW


Thanks chunkywizard Cool

_________________
Toppy: TF5800PVR; Firmware: 5.12.25;
Autostart TAPs: eit2mei Beta 7;MyStuff 4.5;
Other TAPs: None;
View user's profile Send private message
paullawrance@tiscali.co.u
Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:45 am Reply with quote
Joined: 02 Aug 2006 Posts: 4
Can anyone tell me if the Toppy has to be left on for timer recordings to take place, or whether it can be placed on standby, like the Sky Plus box. I've looked in the manual but found no answer. Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere! Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
msteggalls
Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 8:15 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Apr 2005 Posts: 719 Location: Ipswich, UK
paullawrance@tiscali.co.u wrote:
Can anyone tell me if the Toppy has to be left on for timer recordings to take place, or whether it can be placed on standby


Yes, it can be left in standby - When the timer is due it will come out of standby, record and then, assuming you haven't touch the remote, will go back into standy

Martyn

_________________
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nudger1964
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:46 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Jul 2010 Posts: 1
my top tip is, if after 5yrs service your toppy dies on you...buy another one quick.
as you can guess, my old 5800 died, good lord how we come to take the functionality of this machine for granted...quick look on ebay finds me a 5800pvrt for 99 quid.
had a bit of problem getting it to load latest mystuff (i hadnt touched the last one for 4 years as it was just perfect) anyways, its got mystuff on there now and all is well. this is such a great machine...in no small way because of you guys having put so much effort into it.
View user's profile Send private message
Doct0r
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 353 Location: Birmingham
nudger1964 wrote:
my top tip is, if after 5yrs service your toppy dies on you...buy another one quick.
as you can guess, my old 5800 died, good lord how we come to take the functionality of this machine for granted...quick look on ebay finds me a 5800pvrt for 99 quid.
had a bit of problem getting it to load latest mystuff (i hadnt touched the last one for 4 years as it was just perfect) anyways, its got mystuff on there now and all is well. this is such a great machine...in no small way because of you guys having put so much effort into it.


You're better off trying to get one from Currys or PC World for sub 80. Ones from ebay are probably not new and you wouldn't have the warranty given from a new one.

_________________
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
simonc
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5620 Location: Cheltenham
The 99 is ex display, 6 month warranty, free delivery. I'd take that rather than drive 20 miles to see if the one remaining 79 one in Gloucester has a remote!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4733
simonc wrote:
The 99 is ex display, 6 month warranty, free delivery. I'd take that rather than drive 20 miles to see if the one remaining 79 one in Gloucester has a remote!
But if you're replacing an old one then you already have a remote or a nice One for All can be had for not much more!!
View user's profile Send private message
Doct0r
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:51 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 353 Location: Birmingham
I can't say much about ebay, I bought all 4 of my PVRs from there and they all worked (until I blew one of the Humax's, my mistake though).

Also, do you think people on ebay wouldn't lie? You could also phone the store 20 miles away to save yourself a trip or e-mail Currys to ask if there are any in stock local to your postcode.

_________________
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
simonc
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5620 Location: Cheltenham
I'd already quizzed them, more out of interest than actual need. If they'd had one in our local store I'd probably have bought it as a spare. Nearest are one solitary ex-display unit in Gloucester and another in Oxford.

Here's a thought: these ebay ones are ex-Curry's ones with a 20 markup.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 4 of 5
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum