Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Toppy reboots while watching BBC channels

Page 1 of 26
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26  Next
NickS
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:58 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 36
Please note that this thread is for technical information only. To assist the site administrators and users who are trying to find technical information, please do not post off-topic in this thread. A separate thread is available in the General disucssions area for those who want to complain about Topfield, software and other matters. Any off-topic posts that are made in this thread will be removed and locked. --Nigel


I've been running 5.12.04 for a few weeks now with no problems.

I was using it to listen to BBC 6 music (radio) this afternoon when the machine rebooted (C4.56 came up on the screen followed by run) Once rebooted the Toppy would carry on with the BBC station for about half a minute then reboot. I power cycled the machine using the remote but the problem carried on. In very quick testing (less than 5 mins worth) the problem seems to apply tonly to BBC stations; when I retuned to C4 the problem went away.

I have the following TAPs: Jags EPG, Power Manager & Quick Jump.

Any one else had this problem?
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:06 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 36
10 mins later the problem has gone away and I can't reproduce the fault.
View user's profile Send private message
AA
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:12 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 18 Aug 2005 Posts: 5 Location: Somerset
Yes. Exactly the same symptoms but on BBC 2 'Working Lunch' - but I am using 5.12.01 software and on Mendip transmitter. BBC1 was the same but ITV and C4 appeared stable. Problem seems to have gone (for now?)
PS No TAPS

AA
View user's profile Send private message
Vindictor
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 220 Location: Cornwall
yes, as mention in my own post, same problem here,
started with working lunch while waiting for the Snooker.

No problems now.

5.12.05, JAPS, UK Timers, Movieprogress.
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:24 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 36
Its 14.22. The box has just started the repeated reboots again (tuned to BBC6 music).
View user's profile Send private message
Vindictor
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 220 Location: Cornwall
Mine too, since 14:22, BBC2 watching the snooker.

It's 14:26 now, and still continually rebooting.
Reboots straight after the "Live Snooker i" appears in the top right.

Vin.
View user's profile Send private message
f4phantom
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:34 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Sep 2005 Posts: 4
I'm also having the same problem on BBC1,2 around 13:50 and again at 14:15ish on News24

No TAPs running and latest firmware
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:34 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 36
Quote:
It's 14:26 now, and still continually rebooting.
Reboots straight after the "Live Snooker i" appears in the top right.


If you do the old trick of turning on subtitles it seems to stop the reboot cycle.
View user's profile Send private message
Stormin
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 155 Location: Newbury
does the old work around of putting the subtitles on help?

edit doh ... too late as usual


Last edited by Stormin on Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Taps autostarting - Description Extender 2.1, EPGnavigator 4.1, Little Clock 2.2, Media Manager 1.4b4, Quickjump 1.53, Remote Extender 1.5, TF5000 Display 1.45, UK Auto Scheduler v0.72, UKOZ Surfer 0.11d, UK Timers 1.2, Tapcommander 1.0.2, SuperPip 1.1a.
FW 5.12.88PHT2b
View user's profile Send private message
Vindictor
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 220 Location: Cornwall
Oh yeah, being a new user I wasn't aware of that.

That seems to disable the interactive feature.

What a bleedin' pain though, I can't believe it.
I hope it doesn't do this often!

If I had a recording going on the other tuner, I guess I'd have lost that too. Smile

Vin.
View user's profile Send private message
Wildoat
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:37 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 532 Location: Diss / Tacolneston Transmitter
Same problem here - wonder if referting to the 'old' firmware that had the original problem might 'revers' solve it!!

W

_________________
TAPS: TF5000 Display : MyStuff : epg2mei : Extend : FontManager : seccacheUK : eit_sub_sng : SDS : MhegOnOff.
Topfield Model: TF5800PVR Silver (400GB UpGrade) - Firmware version: 5.13.65 Heavily Patched!.

Networked via Homeplug: Asus WL-500GX + Olegs firmware 1.9.2.7-7g + ftpd-topfield 0.7.4.
View user's profile Send private message
dedics
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Aug 2005 Posts: 310
if I could get to a state where I could do anything it would be good!

If it comes up in bbc 1 it reboots immedately after verifying files even with taps disabled.
dedics
View user's profile Send private message
SkinFlint
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:41 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Aug 2005 Posts: 6
Just lost 2 recordings due to this bug...grrr. Was watching BBC1. Latest software etc. (for what it's worth, which is'nt much at the moment) Confused Evil or Very Mad
View user's profile Send private message
Vindictor
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 220 Location: Cornwall
No, I'm bloody hellish with it at the moment.
My old ondigital box used to get fussy about interactive mode sometimes, but I didn't expect this with a new box.

I'm gunna pop out to the supermarket, and hope it's stopped by the time I come back Evil or Very Mad
View user's profile Send private message
Wildoat
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:46 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 18 Apr 2005 Posts: 532 Location: Diss / Tacolneston Transmitter
dedics wrote:
if I could get to a state where I could do anything it would be good!

If it comes up in bbc 1 it reboots immedately after verifying files even with taps disabled.
dedics


This is how I got back control - let it reboot to where it says verifying files and then switch into standby - the clock will come up but Toppy continues verifying files before going into standby - then switch back on and immediately you can choose say channel 3 to get it off a BBC channel - hopefully this will help.

For the record this happens to me with or without TAPS.

W

_________________
TAPS: TF5000 Display : MyStuff : epg2mei : Extend : FontManager : seccacheUK : eit_sub_sng : SDS : MhegOnOff.
Topfield Model: TF5800PVR Silver (400GB UpGrade) - Firmware version: 5.13.65 Heavily Patched!.

Networked via Homeplug: Asus WL-500GX + Olegs firmware 1.9.2.7-7g + ftpd-topfield 0.7.4.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 26
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum