Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Toppy clashing with DVD player

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:55 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
We have just bought a new TV which only has one scart socket, so I have bought a two input scart switch to connect the Toppy and a DVD player, both of which only have scart outputs.

But when the DVD player and Toppy are both on, for example when watching a DVD and the Toppy comes on to record, we get a corrupted version of the Toppy screen scrolling across, with the sound from the DVD. Otherwise, everything works fine - the Toppy picture with the DVD on, the TV picture with both or either on, etc.

I cannot figure out what is going wrong. I have tried swapping over the scart inputs at the switch, but get the same problem, so I don't think it's the scart switch. The scart switch has a two position switch - in for one input, out for the other.

Does anyone have any idea what the problem might be, and how to fix it?

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
Sounds like the switch button doesn't work, or if it does there is still interference generated between the 2 inputs.

Reviews on ebay (if that's the one you got) vary from works to doesn't.

Toppy manual.....

10. VCR SCART

This is a secondary SCART socket. It is intended to be used to allow other devices to record the material you are watching or playing on your PVR,
and can also pass their signal through to your television, so that even if you have only one SCART connector on your TV
you can use, for example, both the PVR and a DVD player, selecting one or the other via the Satellite button on the remote control.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:41 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
Thanks for the very quick reply. I got it from Maplins - I have now had a look at the reviews online and someone else is describing the same problem.

I connected up as you say - TV to TV scart (9), DVD player to VCR scart (10), and took out the switch. The TV and Toppy work fine, but when I pressed button 4 on the remote (TV/STB button) when watching the Toppy it switches to the DVD player for a second, then back to the TV. Is this the right button?. I can't see any others that might be the right one.

Thanks again for your help.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
I think you're doing it correctly.

Are you saying that when watching the toppy, pressing 4 switches to the dvd player and then back to tv, even though the dvd player is switched on?

I've got a 5810, the button is labelled AUX, can't find a 5800 manual.


Last edited by ccs on Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:52 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:50 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
Yes, that's right. Any thoughts? Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
I've got a 5810, the button is labelled AUX on that remote.

The only 5800 manual I can find is the one on this site, but it isn't the pdf version.

When you say switches to tv, do you mean switches to the television (as opposed to live tv on the toppy)?

Have you another scart cable to try?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:59 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
Yes, it switches to the TV as opposed to TV on the Toppy.

It is a 5800. The manual labels button 4 as TV/tSTB Button, which "changes the Terrestrial TV and STB mode".
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
From the description, it sounds like it's doing what it says.

I'm looking at

http://www.toppy.org.uk/newusers/manual1a.php

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:26 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
I've had a look at the manual in your link, and it saying what I want it to do, but it isn't. My manual has a slightly different description, switching the view back to terrestrial TV. Has the remote control function changed?
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
I don't know, is there another button to try with the description you want?

In the manual I've just found, 4 is the same as the one I linked to earlier.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:04 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
Doesn't look like it. Could the function on the remote have been changed at some point? My Toppy is overe 10 years old.
View user's profile Send private message
dur
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:24 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 9 Location: Cambridge, UK
This is really weird. I've turned it all on again, and everything seems to be working as you describe. So I'll just keep my fingers crossed that it carries on working, and take the duff switch back to Msaplins for a refund.

Many thanks for your efforts. Much appreciated. With best wishes.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
THere's an A/V menu setup setting....

Use the VCR SCART setting to change how the signal from the
VCR SCART connector is passed through to your television.

When set to Standard, it will be automatic, and so will depend
on the device you have connected to the VCR SCART; for example,
a video recorderís picture may display only when it
is playing, while a DVD player may display all the time.

If you set this option to External A/V, then the picture from the
device you have connected to the VCR SCART connector will
only appear on your television when you select it via the Satellite
button on the remote control.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4041
Just checking that the SCART cable is plugged into the TOP socket on the 5800 (I expect it is)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
ô
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2470
TV scart is top, VCR scart is bottom.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum