Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  Win10 anniversary update - driver signing enforcement

Page 3 of 4
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Stu's TV
Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:07 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
Hi ccs, thanks for chipping in. Just had a look and both C:\Windows\Inf\usb.inf and C:\Windows\Inf\usb.PNF are on my PC's hard drive.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
I've just tried on my (up to date ) windows 10 pc and it works fine.

Reinstalled driver after the anniversary update last year.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Stu's TV
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:08 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
ccs wrote:
I've just tried on my (up to date ) windows 10 pc and it works fine.

Reinstalled driver after the anniversary update last year.



Hummmm, must just be my PC then! I have automatic windows updates turned on, so constantly (well, once every week or so) getting Windows updates.

I've looked in the Registry and I have 44 'folders' related to the Toppy! Is it worth deleting them all? I could them re-load the toppy software from scratch? Like I said - the Registry is a fair way outside my comfort zone.......

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
Maybe I should rephrase my last sentence...

Last year, I reinstalled the driver after the anniversary update.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Stu's TV
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 4:43 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
ccs wrote:
Maybe I should rephrase my last sentence...

Last year, I reinstalled the driver after the anniversary update.


Ah, yes I managed to connect a year or so ago with Windows 10, even tho z4t said Driver installation failed!

I've uninstalled some of the toppy software on my PC (only TopManager left on it now) and there is now nothing toppy related in the Registry, it all went with the uninstall. Still can't install the Driver tho!

Does the clever person who created to toppy driver reside in the forum?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 5:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
... he developed Antares, and you'll find him here....

http://haselgrove.id.au/antares/ or http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17286

z4t....

http://haselgrove.id.au/antares/z4t.html

dll....

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17310

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Stu's TV
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:25 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
Right, I've got my hands on another laptop running Windows 7, it's like traveling back in time!! Laughing

Anyhow, drivers loaded (using z4t), yippee!

However, when I try and connect TopManager I get:

Connecting to Toppy1...
Attempting to open USB connection using tfWinUSB.dll ...
USB connection to Toppy established
Checking visibility of directories on the Toppy
Error: DirectoryExists exception failure (#:\ProgramFiles\)
Error: DirectoryExists exception failure (#:\DataFiles\)
Error: Unable to detect top level directories
Please check that Toppy is switched On and connected to your server
Closed Toppy Connection
<<< Connection failed
TopManager has not detected any programs that would prevent use e.g. Altair
<<< Check Toppy is switched on and cable is connected

There is also a problem with DLL's - under:
Program Files:\Common Files\Portrait Displays\Drivers|
vista.dll has the yellow triangle next to it, Replace DLL will not work.

When I try MyStuff installer, it too fails to establish comm's:
TTW: Error: Unable to detect Toppy directories

[edit]Just downloaded Antares and it communicates with the Toppy!![/edit]

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
TopManager and the MyStuff installer use the same mechanism to access the toppy i.e. if one works the other should (if one doesn't then neither should the other)

My guess is that the disk is corrupted and that is why TM doesnt' work - it looks to see if it can access ProgramFiles and/or DataFiles and, as a safety measure, doesn't connect if they don't exist.

You could try using Antares - this probably doesn't check whether the directories exist. You could use it to load my fsCheck tap to check the current file system.

In the end, I suspect you will have to use the toppy native menus to reinitialize the disk (I'm assuming you don't have much on it as you reinitialized it recently). Don't use TopfHDRW and/or the pc to reinit the disk (they won't work).

The Vista.dll probably can't be replaced because TM didn't connect successfully (it replaces the dll with the one used to establish the connection). You can ignore this anyway as both TM and the MyStuff installer use their own set of Dlls (you would only need to change the Vista.dll file if it is used by another program e.g. tfCopy)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stu's TV
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:22 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
Thanks Geoff, that was where my thinking was taking me, figuring the problem had to be at the toppy end of thinks. Will give the re-formatting a go. Will post the results....

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
Stu's TV
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:56 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
Many thanks Geoff, finally, I have MyStuff installed and running, TopManager connects and I've finally escaped that standard Toppy interface.... Reformatting the toppy's hard drive did the trick.

Just the Windows 10 issue (if, in fact, that's what it is) to be sorted, I've PM'ed qubits, so let's see if he can shed any light.....

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:40 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Glad you got it sorted at last.

Just a couple of things:-
1) What caused the disk to be corrupted in the first place? e.g. capacitors not changed, disk full, drunken stupor/idiot on remote etc
2) Suggest run fsCheck tap and post results in the dedicated thread - this should show the SMART characteristics of the drive
3) Likewise, post your new MyInfo settings
4) Should you get TM to work on Win10, use the Snapshot| Save function to preserve your new settings (might be useful should it happen again). You could even do it on the borrowed pc as it doesn't use a lot of space (this assumes you can borrow it again!)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stu's TV
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:22 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
My Info:
MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 2/7/2017 at 15:34

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 60 seconds from boot

System ID: 456
TV Output: Type = Auto, Video = RGB, RF Channel = 36
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.13.65T dated Oct 10 2009
Base firmware version: 5.13.65

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: PcControl B1.4 : Toppy control from PC
Slot 1: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 2: MyStuff 6.6 : UI Replacement
Slot 3: Font Manager 1.0d : Manage TAP Fonts
Slot 4: Extend v1.7 : Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
Slot 5: SecCache (UK) v0.4 : Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
Slot 6: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 : Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
Slot 7: MHEG On/Off A3 : MHEG control
Slot 8: MyInfo B5.6 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slot 9: PruneEPG 1.0 : Program to remove unnecessary entries from the EIT table
Slots 10 - 15 not used


Installed patch list:- Ab Bf Bq Ce Ck Cp Cw Cy De Ec Ee Ef Ep Er Es F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot P Pc R Ra Re Rh Rp Rs S Sd Sl Sr St T2 Td Te Tf Tp Ts Vr Xp Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 modified thus: -Sy
Patch Decode Links - Will explain your patches:
MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 :- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbBfBqCeCkCpCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TdTeTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
Missing patches:- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=Sy

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 75 TV channels and 27 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 22 are: 11, 12, 17, 29, 32, 38, 41, 46, 48, 72, 132, 173, 175, 177, 723, 730,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 23 are: 1, 2, 9, 120, 121, 130, 131, 200, 601, 700, 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709, 710,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 25 are: 10, 20, 21, 26, 27, 30, 34, 37, 44, 54, 58, 59, 61, 66, 70, 80, 83, 92, 96, 122, 171, 182, 185, 226, 724, 727, 728,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 26 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 15, 24, 28, 33, 100,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 28 are: 18, 19, 25, 31, 42, 47, 64, 71, 73, 79, 90, 93, 125, 135, 172, 174, 199, 711, 712, 713, 714, 715, 716, 717, 718, 725, 731, 732,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 11 MB, Available: 8 MB
Disk - Total: 279 GB, Free: 265 GB

7 recordings (4 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 1 folders (+ 0 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:1 (d:h:m)

Suggested signature for Toppy forum - copy following lines to signature block at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=editprofile
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/17

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Myinfo looks ok although you have rather a lot of TV channels; suggest you look through them and remove any that you don't really need (use either TM|PcControl|Channel Management or the Channel Organiser tap to remove).

Note: In the past, the "recommendation" was around 50-60 channels total (both TV and Radio). My PurgeEPG tap probably means that you can get just about get away with the number you have (make sure that, after running for a bit, the free memory (as shown at bottom of MS archive screen) is over 4 GB

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stu's TV
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:32 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 18 Apr 2012 Posts: 34
Yeah, loads of scope for a prune - will do.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 9/3/16
View user's profile Send private message
qubits
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:58 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 May 2010 Posts: 165 Location: Australia
Hi Stu's TV,

PM received!

Unfortunately I have never tried using Antares on Windows 10, so I might not be very helpful in diagnosing your problems, at least not at the moment.

I've spent the last few years in the USA for work, away from my Toppy. I just recently got back to Australia, so I now finally have access to it again. And, my computer is now running Windows 10.

So... it might be a good time for me to think about how to make Antares and z4t run more smoothly on Windows 10. Although, I have forgotten everything about the internal workings of Antares, so it might be a few weeks or months before I make progress on this!

_________________
Antares homepage
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 3 of 4
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum