Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Capacitor problem? TF5800

Page 1 of 1
freeair
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:50 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Oct 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Stockport
My 5800 does not get used very often but the other day I noticed the box display was cycling between C4.58 and 'run'.

I am not sure when I purchased the Toppy but the hard drive is dated March 2009.

Having read a number of threads on failed PSUs I have tried the following.

Connected toppy to my PC (XP Pro SP3) and tried to load 'empty settings' but nothing appears to happen, just the message 'Wait downloading'.

With the HD disconnected the toppy still exhibits the same symptoms.

I have checked voltages with HD connected but only have an analogue multimeter.

HD voltages 5V & 12V

Starting with the 4 way multi plug and working down towards the front of the box.

5V
12V
30V
24V
17V
7.6V
5V
3.2V
15V

Do the techie gurus feel this could be a capacitor issue?

Thanks

Dave
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3438
freeair wrote:
Connected toppy to my PC (XP Pro SP3) and tried to load 'empty settings' but nothing appears to happen, just the message 'Wait downloading'.


With which program/utility are you attempting to load EmptySettings?

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3393
freeair wrote:
Do the techie gurus feel this could be a capacitor issue?

The 3.3V is low at 3.2V - it suggests that C25 (tall green one) is failing and is probably slightly domed.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
freeair
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:32 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Oct 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Stockport
@alan_m I was using TFDN_USB

@andyfras I wish I was clever Very Happy On closer inspection C25 is slightly domed when compared to the other caps.

Can I replace it with a similar cap or should I go for a better spec one, if there is such a thing?

Also do I need to be concerned about high voltage anywhere, such as on the large heatsink? Is that likely to hold a charge from the C5 cap?

Thanks for your help.

Dave
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3393
Replacing just C25 may fix the immediate problem, but it wouldn't be long before the rest start to fail too. Only green Toppy capacitors ever show physical signs of failure.

I can supply a kit of 13 top specification capacitors (currently 7 including postage). PM me for details.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3438
freeair wrote:

Connected toppy to my PC (XP Pro SP3) and tried to load 'empty settings' but nothing appears to happen, just the message 'Wait downloading'.


TFDN_USB doesn't work with a 64 bit operating system, Assuming 32 bits and the topfield tool-set was installed prior to connecting the Toppy.

Reboot computer
Turn off Toppy at the mains plug
Start TFDN_USB and find Emptysettings and hit download
Turn on the Toppy at the mains
Emptysettings should only take a few seconds to download

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
XP Pro SP3 is 32 bit so TFDN_USB should be ok.

Note: you may have to connect the USB lead to the same pc port you used when installing the driver (assuming that you have previously connected to the pc)

Suggest you replace all capacitors before doing anything else (andy can replace them for you if you ask him)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
freeair
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:26 am Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Oct 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Stockport
Finally got round to replacing the caps supplied by Andy, sadly my Toppy exhibits the same symptoms, cycling between C4.58 & Run.

Guess it's time for it to be recycled into it's valuable metals Sad

Dave
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:51 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Even more environmentally friendly: send it to Andy. If he can't repair it, he can at least use the working bits for spares.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3393
freeair wrote:
Guess it's time for it to be recycled into it's valuable metals Sad

Not at all. Try disconnecting the hard drive to see if it works OK as a receiver.

If it does, the hard drive is probably corrupted and this can often be fixed by connecting the hard drive to a PC running TopfHDRW/Doctor.

Or, you could send the whole thing to me and I'll hopefully sort it out for the price of the postage and a pint (assuming that no other components need to be replaced).

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum