Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Help - T5800 Dead!

Page 1 of 1
spiritfriend
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:48 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Oct 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Halifax West Yorkshire (Line Of Site To Emley Moor Transmitter)
Hi
I re-scanned the PVR last night to get the new Channel 4 prog and when it finished I had duplicate channels. As this had happened a couple of years ago I factory re-set, turned off, and rescanned again a few times but had the same problem. In the end I decided it may be a software problem(although I have loader C1.01 and software version TF-NPT 5.13.65T) so I took the PVR to my PC and plugged it in at the side ready to update via the USB. As the hour was late I turned off the PVR (got a display) at the wall socket and left it until now.

I have just turned the PVR on at the wall socket and it is dead..deceased...no lights..no sound.. Nada!
I was wondering if it could just be the internal fuse. I looked inside and noted that it was a T 2AH 250V not being an electronics expert perhaps someone could comment on my 'possible' diagnosis and also exactly what the fuse is so I can get one from Maplins.
I had one of the regulars on here repair the pSU 2 or more years ago and he worked from a workshop on the outskirts of Bolton Lancs....his phone number /email would be of great help, if someone knows it, as I have lost it.
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1540 Location: Shropshire
That would be MikeyP.

http://www.mpavservice.co.uk/

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/14
™
View user's profile Send private message
spiritfriend
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:16 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Oct 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Halifax West Yorkshire (Line Of Site To Emley Moor Transmitter)
Thanks a lot
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:22 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10327 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
spiritfriend wrote:
I have software version TF-NPT 5.13.65T
No problem there. That's the Recommended Firmware.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
Bad connection or fuse in the plug where it goes into the wall?
Try another socket?

(neither likely but worth a try)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spiritfriend
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:19 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Oct 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Halifax West Yorkshire (Line Of Site To Emley Moor Transmitter)
Thanks for the above comments....

Software is OK then...

Changed fuse in plug from 5amp to 13 amp and back to a new 5 amp.
Changed sockets in wall to 3 different locations......still dead as a dodo
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3042 Location: Fleet, Hampshire (Hannington)
If the internal fuse has blown, it will have blown for a reason, so it will blow the replacement too.

There are various causes of a totally dead Toppy; see the fault list on my website:

https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.5 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : USB Accelerator : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 1TB with fan, Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spiritfriend
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:28 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Oct 2009 Posts: 13 Location: Halifax West Yorkshire (Line Of Site To Emley Moor Transmitter)
OK will read up in the morning....thanks again
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum