Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  more noise on TV with Toppy on Freeview than with Humax on F

Page 1 of 1
tombar
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:46 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 51 Location: Kendal
Is it normal for a Toppy connected to Freeview to make far more background noise at the TV than a Humax connected to Freesat? This is what happens on my setup.

_________________
,
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:58 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3042 Location: Fleet, Hampshire (Hannington)
Do you mean noise through the speakers or from the box itself?

How is each device connected? If using scart leads, are they both the same quality?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.5 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : USB Accelerator : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 1TB with fan, Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:00 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10327 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Do you mean disk drive noise, or noise coming through the TV speakers?

If the latter, how is the Toppy connected to your TV? (I assume the Humax is using HDMI; obviously the 5800 isn't.) Have you re-seated all the cables? Have you tried using different cables?

Julie

P.S. If your signature is up to date, you should update to MyStuff 6.4 and MyInfo 5.6. MS 6.4 has an important fix that will reduce the likelihood of a disk wipe in certain situations with poor signal, and MyInfo 5.6 understands the recent changes in the way the EPG channels are handled. If you use the MyStuff installer, you'll get both (together with some useful Utility TAPs).

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:07 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3146 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
tombar wrote:
Is it normal for a Toppy connected to Freeview to make far more background noise at the TV than a Humax connected to Freesat? This is what happens on my setup.


Audio noise or picture noise?

The simple answer is .... not on my Toppy/Humax set-up. However, on both platforms the amount of audio compression used by the broadcasters on some of the lesser channels does produce some pretty poor sound.

Are you comparing the SD TV on the Toppy and the HD TV channel on Freesat? The sound quality can be a lot better on some channels if your TV can decode surround sound. SD carries stereo sound (or mono on some channels) whilst HD can have Dolby 5.1 surround.

How have you connected your Toppy box to the TV, SCART or aerial cable? For instance, if your Toppy is connected via the aerial cable from its own modulator the sound will only be mono, and not stereo as from the SCART etc.

Does you TV have a pseudo surround round mode that is getting completely lost decoding mono or poor stereo? When you perceive noisy audio does switching to mono or stereo (rather than surround sound) make a difference?

Often audience sounds in game shows, Xfactor etc, can sound overpowering when over-compressed audio is decoded by a AV amp to something other than stereo.

Define what you mean by "background noise". Is it a hiss or is it buzzing on the TV that may changes with picture content?

Is it a mechanical buzz or rattle from the Toppy box itself?

Is it a type of shhh noise on speech when someone pronounces a s or t sound?

Does your TV have separate configurable parameters for each of its inputs? If so, are the Humax sound (Bass/Treble) audio controls set to something sensible whilst the setting for the Toppy's input is for full treble?

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news, Jul/Aug 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tombar
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 3:41 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 51 Location: Kendal
What a lot of replies! Have just come in and had a quick read.

Both are connected by SCART leads, though probably not the same quality. The toppy one is a black one and the Humax one a silver one.

The noise comes from the TV. The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.

Both are not on HD channels - if that's SD, that's what they ae

For all the other suggestions, I'll have to work though them one by one.

_________________
,
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 3:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 939 Location: Taunton, Somerset
tombar wrote:
The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.
This sounds like the symptoms of 'vision on sound' which one got in analogue days if the tuning was off. Not sure how a digital TV reacts.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -AbFmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 31/10/12

PSU Caps 2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Bush L322LED (22"), UPS, DVD-R: Panasonic DMR EH-50, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:05 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10327 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
tombar wrote:
Both are connected by SCART leads, though probably not the same quality. The toppy one is a black one and the Humax one a silver one.

So lets say you currently have
H <--C1--> S1
T <--C2--> S2
where H is the Humax, T is the Toppy, C1 is Cable1, C2 is Cable2, S1 is the SCART connector on the TV that you currently use for the Humax, and S2 is the SCART cable you're currently using for the Toppy.

The obvious things to try are:

H <--C2--> S1
T <--C1--> S2
If the problem moves to the Humax, C2 is an inferior/faulty cable.

H <--C1--> S2
T <--C2--> S1
If the problem moves to the Humax in this case, then S1 on the TV is inferior/faulty/needs different config.

If the problem stays with the Toppy throughout, then there's an issue with the Toppy or its SCART connector. Which SCART connector are you using on the Toppy?

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3146 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
Bizman wrote:
tombar wrote:
The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.
This sounds like the symptoms of 'vision on sound' which one got in analogue days if the tuning was off. Not sure how a digital TV reacts.


I agree it does appear to be similar to the analogue tuning problems of the past.

tombar, what is the Toppy set for? Menu -> System Settings -> A/V output settings -> Video Output

The signals over the SCART lead are analogue so maybe the levels are too high.

The Toppy can output over the SCART lead:
Composite (CVBS)
Component (YUV)
Red Green Blue (RGB)
S Video

Ideally the TV should be connected RGB or Composite (via a SCART to component cable) but if tombar already has his Humax on RGB the other SCART input on his TV may not support RGB and maybe the Toppy input is via the inferior Composite standard. If this is the case it is probably a tuning issue and adjusting the TVs fine tuning when viewing the Toppy's output may solve the problem.

Alternatively, if there is no RGB support on a second TV SCART input socket consider an alternative method of connection. If you TV has separate component inputs try a scart to component cable or a s-video cable.

Also swap the scart leads to see if the problem changes. There are poor scart leads and better quality fully screened scart leads. Price is often not an indication of quality as fully screened scart leads can be purchased for 3 to 5.
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart2/

The shells of most scart leads are only clipped together (maybe with a screw collar where the leads enter) so you can usually dismantle the leads you have to establish if you have fully screened of poor quality cables.

My prefference is for ribbon cable scart leads as they put less stress on the connections at the back of the boxes
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart/
Available these days for a few quid from many sources on the web.

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news, Jul/Aug 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryclark
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1539 Location: Shropshire
How are you adjusting the volume, on the TV or individually from each set top box? Are the audio levels from the Toppy and the Humax similar or do you have to turn one up or down when you select between the two of them?

These sort of problems can occur if the volume on the set top box is set too low and you have to turn up the TV volume to compensate. Generally the volume should be set to more or less full level on the Toppy and Humax and the volume adjusted via the TV (or amplifier if you have sound going via a separate system).

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/7/14
View user's profile Send private message
nvingo
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jul 2010 Posts: 102 Location: Norfolk
The symptom as described would be interference from the video signal on the audio signal.
This could be by the scart cable having common earth for both signals, or by crosstalk between the video conductor and audio conductor in a scart cable without individually screened conductors.

As to whether the TV can accept RGB signals on both scart sockets or not, the devices could be connected thus:
H<--C1-->T(aux.scart)/T(tv.scart)<--C2-->S1

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum