Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Problems recording bbc1 and 2 following digital changeover

Page 2 of 13
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
albertd
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:34 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 403 Location: Crawley West Sussex. Crystal Palace transmitter.
As far as I know, Channel 24 is correct for the only Mux on Rowridge which has changed. Don't know where you got 34 from.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.51 Pre Beta (12/10/13 version); SecCache (UK) v0.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9
Sig mainly generated by MyInfo on 1/5/14

Chans 33 TV and 8 Radio
View user's profile Send private message
sdi2
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2008 Posts: 163
I got 34 from the list of mux's on the link I provided.

http://www.ukfree.tv/txdetail.php?a=SZ447865

I think I have it sorted now.
24 contains most of the bbc channels you need
28 do not use as it will give duplications
30 itv3 5usa and others
32 itv1 c4 c5 more4
33 film4
34 nothing
37 a load of dross

Just got to go through it all again next week.

Hope this helps, Nick.

_________________
TF5810, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/14
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 403 Location: Crawley West Sussex. Crystal Palace transmitter.
What that link says is that Mux 1 (which was BBC1,2 etc) was on 34 until 7 March, but not any more. Further up it makes clear that the current channel is 24.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.51 Pre Beta (12/10/13 version); SecCache (UK) v0.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; UK Subtitle 1.9
Sig mainly generated by MyInfo on 1/5/14

Chans 33 TV and 8 Radio
View user's profile Send private message
sdi2
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2008 Posts: 163
Thanks, I can see that now.
I was simply looking at the list of highlighted mux's.

_________________
TF5810, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/14
View user's profile Send private message
Fortune_17
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:04 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Mar 2012 Posts: 36
Question to SDI2:
Hi,
Have you solved the problem of recording via the EPG on the BBC channels, or is this still a problem?
Do you still get duplicates or timers referring to BBC1 when the BBC2,3 or 4 were originally selected?????

I'm in the same position as reported at the start of the thread.
I'm not as confident now that my problem will disappear on completion of the switchover. I have a friend with a 5810 in the Rowridge area and they are able to correctly setup timers via the EPG for the BBC channels. The only difference I can detect is that they are on Firmware 5.15.09PLUS. I'm wondering if I need to rollback to this firmware.

Before I try this, it would be useful SDI2 if you could let us know whether you have resolved the problem.

Thanks

Rob
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 1905 Location: E Yorkshire Belmont Transmitter
Fortune_17 wrote:

I have a 5810 on firmware 5.15.09T
This is the correct firmware for a 5810.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/13
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:07 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10354 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Fortune_17 wrote:
The only difference I can detect is that they are on Firmware 5.15.09PLUS. I'm wondering if I need to rollback to this firmware.
No. You'll just remove some bug fixes.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sdi2
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:41 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2008 Posts: 163
Early days at the moment, but all seems ok so far.
I have tuned to only these channels:
24
30
32
33

_________________
TF5810, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/14
View user's profile Send private message
Fortune_17
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:54 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Mar 2012 Posts: 36
Thanks for the info, SDI2,

Well I'm flummoxed.

I've done another factory reset, followed by a manual scan to pick up only the new BBC Channel 24. Can't be more minimalistic than that.
Same problem exists. If you use the EPG to set up a timer for a BBC2 program, a timer for BBC1 with the the title BBC1 is created.
If I try to series record a BBC2 program I get 2 timers setup for BBC1, each with the title BBC1
Same result using the EPG to setup timers for BBC3 and BBC4.

I'll wait for the completion of the switchover on 21 March to see if this resolves the problem, but as they are not amending C24, I don't see how it can.

Is it possible my firmware has been corrupted? (The Topfield is very slow to respond to the Remote)

Thanks

Rob
View user's profile Send private message
sdi2
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2008 Posts: 163
Quote:
If you use the EPG to set up a timer for a BBC2 program, a timer for BBC1 with the the title BBC1 is created.
If I try to series record a BBC2 program I get 2 timers setup for BBC1, each with the title BBC1

That is exactly the same problem I was getting.
I am using the settings for the Isle of Wight (rowledge) is it possible you should be using data for a different transmitter?
Just a wild stab in the dark.

PS. if you are using rowledge, remember to omit ch28 as I think this caused my problems.

_________________
TF5810, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/14
View user's profile Send private message
chris_s
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:28 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 373 Location: Coventry
I raised this problem a long time ago and, from memory, no bug was found. I just stopped using SLs, setting everything as one-off recordings, but I can't remember if that fully cured it. I do seem to remember that it was associated with DSO but, unfortunately for you I didn't carry on using that 5810 in the same way, so I can't tell you if it all corrected itself after DSO. If I get a moment I will try to find a link to the thread.

Chris.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
Fortune_17
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:33 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 08 Mar 2012 Posts: 36
I manually scanned for C24 alone , so I don't have C28 on board.
Rowridge is my local transmitter and its transmitting on so much power now on C24 that there's little chance I'm picking up a stray transmitter.
SDI2, are you using firmware 5.15.09T?
And can you now record BBC2,3 and 4 OK via the EGP?

Thanks

Rob
View user's profile Send private message
sdi2
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2008 Posts: 163
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.15.09T dated Sep 02 2010
Base firmware version: 5.15.09
aparrently.

I am no expert, but I am not convinced its a firmware issue

_________________
TF5810, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 23/9/14
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3062 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@sdi2

Although your signature shows yesterday's date, it indicates you are using MyInfo B5.4 whereas the latest is B5.6

Please upgrade to B5.6 and post a new Myinfo Log.

If you have a windows pc, install TopManager (link in my signature) and use the "Tools| Install Taps| MyInfo" option. Follow the onscreen instructions. Then use "Display| MyInfo Log" and cut and paste the output into this thread.

If you don't have a windows pc then you will have to install MyInfo manually. In this case, please also install its configuration file to \ProgramFiles\Settings.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:16 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10354 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Fortune_17 wrote:
If you use the EPG to set up a timer for a BBC2 program, a timer for BBC1 with the the title BBC1 is created.
If I try to series record a BBC2 program I get 2 timers setup for BBC1, each with the title BBC1
Same result using the EPG to setup timers for BBC3 and BBC4.
It would be helpful (as has already been suggested) to see a MyInfo log and signature, which would answer a number of questions about your setup. (See Help! in my sig.)
Quote:
Is it possible my firmware has been corrupted? (The Topfield is very slow to respond to the Remote)
That's probably because a Factory Reset switches Interactive Services on, which slow down the response to the remote.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 2 of 13
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum