Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  ASUS WL-500G alternative?

Page 1 of 1
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1055 Location: Sweden
I just got myself a second Toppy this week (a gift from a frustrated user) which I repaired and got into working condition.

So now I need another ASUS router (the toppies are in separate rooms), but unfortunately the shops here that carried it have stopped doing so. I guess the router is discontinued...

So is there an alternate solution that can be set up to work as the old one did to serve out the toppy as an FTP connection on the network?
I need it to be wireless because I don't have any networking cables installed.
And of course I would need some guidance too.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
stuchel
Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 28 Mar 2010 Posts: 138 Location: Nottingham
There is a guy selling 1 here i believe

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17714

Stuchel

_________________
Thanks Very Happy

Stuchel

TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.5; Font Manager 1.0d; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.3; MHEG On/Off A3; (FastScanGUI v0.6d);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/3/11
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1055 Location: Sweden
Update:
I was given a "faulty" ASUS by a Swedish forum member and after replacing the non-working power supply and loading the OLEG firmware into it I seem to have a working system. Laughing
Except for the strange connection behavior of ftpd-topfield as described in the other thread of course....

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
leona
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 2:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
I have not done any research on this, other than I know it has a USB connection, but wondered if this would work with our Toppies.

Belkin PlayMax Wireless Modem Router

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 4:22 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4733
leona wrote:
I have not done any research on this, other than I know it has a USB connection, but wondered if this would work with our Toppies.

Belkin PlayMax Wireless Modem Router
Yes it would if someone would write the software to enable it to talk to the Toppy. Alas, no one has. Same applies to any other gadget that can act as a USB master!
View user's profile Send private message
leona
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
jumbo wrote:
leona wrote:
I have not done any research on this, other than I know it has a USB connection, but wondered if this would work with our Toppies.

Belkin PlayMax Wireless Modem Router
Yes it would if someone would write the software to enable it to talk to the Toppy. Alas, no one has. Same applies to any other gadget that can act as a USB master!

Well I was wondering if it had an underlying Unix / Linux OS which could be 'hacked' to enable it to be used on the Toppy, there are some clever people out there that can do this, sadly not me! Smile Well you know, me straw clutching again Smile

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1055 Location: Sweden
Well, these units are mostly running some flavour of embedded Linux, that is why it is even possible to do. But someone has to dig into the adaptation of course.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3019 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@leona

While it may be possible to get this working, you don't profess to having the skills to adapt it or to fix if there is a problem.

This means that you should probably be only considering 'tried and tested' methods to do what you want; someone else has put in the hard work and others will be able to help you if you have problems/questions. This may mean that you have to pay a bit more for the hardware but you should at least have something that will work.

Having said that, we all have to start somewhere, so you could become the expert on this box!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
leona
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
Hi Geoff.

It isn't just the cost, its the availability of some devices.

I looked at some 'plug computers' last year which seemed like a good starting point, as they already run Linux. http://www.newit.co.uk/shop/products.php?cat=5 but its still an immature product at the moment, but has potential. Though having just checked back at the site, they have a new product, the DreamPlug, now this does look like it could do the job. but a bit pricey, so the older GuruPlug-Server Standard is another option. I guess the caveat is "Optional JTAG unit is recommended for programming and debugging" having no idea if that unit is required to enable modifications that we would require.

I think most NAS systems run a form of Linux, most have web servers, so it can not be too much of a stretch to 'enhance' them with 'toppy' extras?

Thing is this forum has concentrated on 2 devices which are now out of production, not to detract from the excellent work that has been done, this of course was great, but I think we need to find new, more widely, available devices to enable us to connect with our toppies.


Last edited by leona on Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:17 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4733
One Asus router for sale on ebay. These are still the best for use with the Toppy and available here and there and now and then.
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1055 Location: Sweden
leona wrote:
Hi Geoff.
Thing is this forum has concentrated on 2 devices which are now out of production, not to detract from the excellent work that has been done, this of course was great, but I think we need to find new, more widely, available devices to enable us to connect with our toppies.

Well, at least in Sweden the Toppies are running out as well... So soon there will be a lot less base of toppies around. The reason is that they have started broadcasting a lot of channels on MPEG4 exclusively, which the Topfield units cannot decode and to top it off DVBt2 is in wide use for HD as well.

No Topfield unit in sight that can handle these so people are not buying toppies anymore. Sad
In fact they are not even on offer at the stores anymore, just the darn Sagem boxes that cannot be customized or upgraded at all.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1676 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
leona wrote:
I looked at some 'plug computers' last year which seemed like a good starting point, as they already run Linux. http://www.newit.co.uk/shop/products.php?cat=5 but its still an immature product at the moment, but has potential.
I have one of the original SheevaPlugs attached to my Toppy (so JTAG included). Does a great job, but it probably helps to have some understanding of hardware concepts and Linux.
As you say - many NAS boxes run Linux (and let you login), so you could use a Synology or Q-Snap one. But it would need to be close to the Toppy - which may not be convenient. (Unless you are happy to run 15m USB cables - which some people seem to do).

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.5
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
leona
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:47 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
Might be over kill, but has anyone tried this router? TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ultimate Wireless N Gigabit Router as I see it has a USB Port and supports OpenWRT Firmware.

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum