Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Problem after changing IDE ribbon cable

Page 1 of 1
Rosey
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:43 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 05 Feb 2012 Posts: 3 Location: Birmingham UK
I'm looking for advice please. I had problems with my 5810 not recognising the file list so suspected a hard drive fault. Then I read various Toppy forum topics and thought it wise to do the commonly recommended "capacitor" replacement mod. That worked OK but didn't solve the first problem. I tested the hard drive on my pc and it only ran intermittently, so I bought a new 500gb WD WDBAAY5000ENC - SATA drive and connected it to the 5810 PVR via a Maplins SATA to IDE converter (code N64HQ). The original IDE cable was too short to reach the new connection point without repositioning the H Drive so I tested Hard Drive first, with it sitting loosley (but safely isolated) above the pcb's etc. Fired it up - I followed the format instruction. Everything worked fine. I recorded some TV programmes as tests. Did rewinds & forwards etc. All performed OK. Very pleased. Then, to allow re assembly with the hard drive mounted as originally, I bought a new, longer ribbon cable (Maplins 40 pin, 80 cables on ribbon & slave connection - code DG40) and connected up as seems to be advised (blue to motherboard & black to H Drive converter, ignoring the slave connection). Tested it - Nothing, just a small "switch" symbol on the display It doesn't respond to the remote control at all. The only thing it responds to is being switched off - then it just shows the digital clock. Suspecting the new ribbon cable may be faulty I naturally tried it again with the original IDE cable again - no joy. Tried the new ribbon in reverse - again no joy. Anyone with experience of the same ?? Thanks if you can help.
View user's profile Send private message
mstombs
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:16 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 670
Not unusual to need a slightly longer cable and for some longer cables not to work, or to be intermittent/unreliable. You have to drill out a blank to make hole since Toppy motherboard doesn't have a missing pin to ensure correct polarisation? I and others found using the master to slave connection from a shielded round cable works. BUT I don't like the sound of what's happened to your Toppy. Since half the conductors are common earths sounds like something shorted and blown. I recommend you leave powered off till more specific advice...
View user's profile Send private message
Rosey
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:17 am Reply with quote
Joined: 05 Feb 2012 Posts: 3 Location: Birmingham UK
Thanks for the comments. I'd had a similar concern that something was Zapped but would like to think there may still be an avenue for a simple "re set" or similar action. After my initial elation with hard drive replacement success I'm begginning to wonder if all the previous effort was worth it.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3043 Location: Fleet, Hampshire (Hannington)
Which capacitors did you change and where did you get them?

I have recently repaired a 5800 (PSU capacitors). The owner was using the Maplin adapter with a 2TB WD HDD, which he had fitted thinking that the problem was the HDD (the original HDD was OK). He had used a 40 pin cable and although it seemed to format and load files OK, it was very flaky and would often cause the Toppy to hang. I replaced the cable with an 80 wire type (reversed) and all appears to be OK.

However, I have found the 5810 to be more picky than the 5800 as to which SATA adapters it will work with. Has anyone successfully used the Maplin adapter with a 5810?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.5 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : USB Accelerator : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 1TB with fan, Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rosey
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:42 am Reply with quote
Joined: 05 Feb 2012 Posts: 3 Location: Birmingham UK
I recall replacing 9 capacitors, which you supplied. I'm fairly sure the old hard drive was faulty as it only ran intermittently when bolted to my pc (for the purpose of testing) as a normal drive - it repeatly froze, so often as to stop it doing anything of worth.
View user's profile Send private message
RufusA
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:53 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 12 Jul 2010 Posts: 21
andyfras wrote:
However, I have found the 5810 to be more picky than the 5800 as to which SATA adapters it will work with. Has anyone successfully used the Maplin adapter with a 5810?


I've been using that Maplin adapter with a 5810 and a reversed 80 pin IDE since late October last year. No issues to report with it running an old 500GB Sata drive salvaged from a Dell desktop (apart from SWMBO tendancy to fill all the available space)

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19082&start=0

Rufus.
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1776
Whilst experimenting with a 5800 I found that some IDE cables just work better than others. One of my Toppies has a very old, 40-pin cable and does great. Note that for some cables you need to drill out the blocked-in hole (pin 21?) to get it to fit the Toppy motherboard.

_________________
5xTF5800PVR - 1 organ-donor, 1 for experimenting on, 2 x 250Gb and 1 x 500Gb (Seagate ST3500630A, no fan), one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.3; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; MEISearch 1.37; Various remotes - URC8820 (my fav.), URC8910 (for SWMBO), URC7562 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum