Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Toppy stuck on one channel - Help!

Page 1 of 1
Andy77
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:12 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 05 Dec 2006 Posts: 3 Location: UK
Hi,

I have a TF5800 which has been working fine up to now, but earlier today duplicate channels appeared. When a family member rebooted the machine the below message appeared:

"all HDD data will be lost if you press okay"

They cancelled the message, rebooted again and now the toppy is stuck on BBC2 and the remote control is unresponsive.

I've rebooted whilst pressing zero on the remote and this allows me to see folders created for recordings in Altair, but I can't open them or see any other folders.

I'll be hugely grateful if anyone can help me with this problem.

Many Thanks in advance,
Andy.
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3201 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
Andy77 wrote:
Hi,

"all HDD data will be lost if you press okay"
Andy.



Try turning off at the mains plug for two minutes. This will give your Toppy a cold boot when the power is restored. This doesn't happen if you just put the box into standby

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news,November/December 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy77
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 05 Dec 2006 Posts: 3 Location: UK
I've switched the toppy off at the mains, left it for a couple of minutes and turned it on again, but unfortunately the problem is still occurring.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:15 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10371 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
You could try using TFDN_USB to install EmptySettings as if it was firmware. (You'll find TFDN_USB in the Topfield folder - the same one as Altair - from the Start menu on your PC.) Search the forums for a link to download EmptySettings.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3088 Location: Fleet, Hampshire (Hannington)
If your forum joining date is indicative of the age of your Toppy, it will be needing some new PSU capacitors - urgently (if they've not already been replaced).

I suggest that you switch it off at the mains until it is repaired, otherwise more damage may be done to the HDD and/or mainboard.

See my sig below.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.5 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : USB Accelerator : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 1TB with fan, Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum