Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAP and patch development  ~  Two 5810s in the same room.

Page 1 of 1
chris_s
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
Yes Jumbo, my central heating is broken Very Happy

Given that I doubt whether the people over on the TiVo forums will manage to solve the numerous technical problems to keep the EPG going after June, I am going to have to get another PVR. I am currently still firmly in SD land, and another Toppy would be a 'Devil I know'.

Who knows which models will be available for B-Grade and second hand sales, so I thought that I would ask the following question (I like my 5810, have no trouble with it, and like the MPDisplayLITE TAP).

Is there any way to run two 5810s in the same room (I note the recent suggestions about polarising the IR): R2-D2, is there, could there be a patch, along the lines of [Rx] and [Ry] which would allow a 5810 to be controlled by a 5800 remote (or its equivalent on a Harmony)?

Might have to look a bit closer at the Remote Sharer TAP.

Chris.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
chris_s wrote:
could there be a patch, along the lines of [Rx] and [Ry] which would allow a 5810 to be controlled by a 5800 remote (or its equivalent on a Harmony)?

Yes, there could, but this way round would lose a number of functions (since the TF5810 has more buttons).

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris_s
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
R2-D2 wrote:
Yes, there could, but this way round would lose a number of functions (since the TF5810 has more buttons).


1) Could you refer me to some tables showing the buttons on each RC so that I could see the difference (or I could just plough through the downloaded manuals)?

2) Would you be prepared to create such a patch if needed?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1611 Location: Shropshire
Of course the easiest way would be to buy a 5800 as your second machine Wink

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3945 Location: Buckingham
Does the remote_sharer TAP work on the 5810?

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:06 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10675 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
ryclark wrote:
Of course the easiest way would be to buy a 5800 as your second machine Wink
That's certainly the easiest way; I've had both in the same room for a long time (with TF5000 Display on the 5800).

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
chris_s wrote:
1) Could you refer me to some tables showing the buttons on each RC so that I could see the difference (or I could just plough through the downloaded manuals)?

Probably the most comprehensive one can be found by following the links from [Rm] to here.
Quote:
2) Would you be prepared to create such a patch if needed?

I could have a try at some point, if we were clear about what (if anything) would happen to the missing/changed buttons.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris_s
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
R2-D2 wrote:
.... if we were clear about what (if anything) would happen to the missing/changed buttons.


For my usage I wouldn't care about the 7 missing buttons:-

Aspect ratio is left at 16:9, and can be changed via the Menu.

Video Format is currently unused (CRT), but can be changed via the Menu.

Favourites, Subtitles and Audio Track are not used by me, but can be changed via the Opt Menu.

Next & Prev are little used: I can use 'Goto %' to access the ends of a recording, moving the PiP sub-image anti-clockwise wouldn't be possible but who cares, and they would not be available in QuickJump, but I can do without them.

So, for me, I would say ignore them.

I believe that all of the other buttons have equivalent functions.

Chris.

PS. This request is currently speculative: I have not yet bought a second PVR, 5810 or otherwise.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2250
chris_s wrote:
R2-D2 wrote:
.... if we were clear about what (if anything) would happen to the missing/changed buttons.
For my usage I wouldn't care about the 7 missing buttons.
Me too - assuming I can get my second 5810 working ok. Smile

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
chris_s has tested this and it appears to work (natively and also with [Rm]): [Rz] RemCodesToTF5800.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris_s
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:57 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
R2-D2 wrote:
chris_s has tested this and it appears to work (natively and also with [Rm])
Just to elaborate on the testing:-

My current build -Rm+Rz : with no TAPs running, all 46 '5800' buttons do what I expect them to do on my 5810.

My current build -Rm+Rz : with QuickJump running, some buttons work (e.g. Green, Yellow, Blue) and some don't (e.g. Red, Left, Right), because Rm is missing.

My current build +Rz : everything works as expected using the '5800' buttons.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3748
@chris_s

Where is QuickJump in the tap order?
Suggest you update MyInfo to B5.5, reboot and post the MyInfo Log file.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris_s
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
Geoff Bacon wrote:
@chris_s

Where is QuickJump in the tap order?
Suggest you update MyInfo to B5.5, reboot and post the MyInfo Log file.

Geoff
Geoff, I am not complaining about anything. [Rz] is something that R2-D2 created specifically for me (and possibly ccs), and only applies to the 5810. I am assuming that [Rm] is in the recommended firmware for the 5810, and I only made a build without it to thoroughly test [Rz], which works perfectly for me.

Chris.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3748
@Chris_s

I was trying to point out that the effect of the remote may be affected by the position of QuickJump in the tap load order.

I then noticed that your MyInfo is very old (B4.1), and so your signature may not be reflecting your configuration.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris_s
Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 11:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 May 2008 Posts: 393
R2-D2 wrote:
chris_s has tested this and it appears to work (natively and also with [Rm]): [Rz] RemCodesToTF5800.
Much appreciated R2, a few beer tokens are on their way.

Chris.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: QuickJump 1.72; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; QuickBlank 0.2; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/3/12
,
TV=Panasonic TX-32DT2 IDTV (32" CRT via CVBS-SCART), Tx: Sutton Coldfield. "My other PVR is a TiVo".
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum