Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  Any info on Toppy hardware problems anywhere?

Page 1 of 1
rosso
Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 337
'Toppy hardware problems' in Search doesn't result in anything.

My Toppy doesn't like MyStuff, results in a native Toppy live TV picture but is frozen on one channel and no remote button, except Standby, works.

But native Toppy works OK (no TAPs). This state of affairs is the same with two disks on the same machine.

Left panes in Altair are empty. All above repeated after formatting and MyStuff 6.6 reinstalled.

Is this a hardware problem? Any advice welcome - thanks.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Wf
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/12/15
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
Bizman
Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1381
Most hardware problems are posted under the 'Bugs' topic. First question, assuming your Toppy is as old as your forum joining date, have all the power supply capacitors been replaced? If not you will start to experience all sorts of problems that defy explanation. Forum member andyfras does a kit of quality replacements, PM him for details.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; (fsSave 1.1); Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/2/16

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser, EPG2MEI
PSU Caps 2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, DVD-R: Panasonic DMR EH-50, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
rosso
Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 337
Thanks for responding. Actually Andy knows all about this and has proffered great help without resolve unfortunately.

Would capacitor trouble not necessarily affect native mode operation?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Wf
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/12/15
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
ccs
Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2207 Location: E Yorkshire Belmont Transmitter
It depends on your PC, but altair is well past its sell by date.

You need to use Antares (or TM) - get that working first and then see how you get on.

I seem to remember you had the same connection issues just before Christmas.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3669
When you are running native, you are not making use of the disk (unless you tried to record - and please DON't try that now). If the capacitors haven't been changed (and I was under the impression that you said they had) then the disk may be generating spurious signals as it is being used and this could be the issue.

From what you have previously said, your original disk is corrupted and anything on it will be lost unless you send it to me or unless andy can get it back with TopfHDRW. Although the original disk is corrupted, it may still be usable if reformatted although I can't confirm this without seeing the disk.

Suggest you send the toppy and both disks to andy to sort out.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rosso
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:59 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 337
Thanks for responses.

I have used TM and Andy has seen the results.

Yes this problem occurred just before Xmas.

Using my old disk (reformatted and reMyStuffed) I did schedule a recording to test it and it recorded OK so I have decided to forget about MyStuff on that Toppy and use it in native mode when appropriate. I do have my other working MyStuff Toppy.

{I have another relevant query which I'll put in the MyStuff forum}

(I have returned Andy's disk to him at his advice)

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Wf
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/12/15
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
juwlz
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:05 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10638 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
rosso wrote:
'Toppy hardware problems' in Search doesn't result in anything.
There's some here:
Toppy Repairs

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3669
Quote:
Using my old disk (reformatted and reMyStuffed) I did schedule a recording to test it and it recorded OK so I have decided to forget about MyStuff on that Toppy and use it in native mode when appropriate. I do have my other working MyStuff Toppy.


MyStuff is a stable product and shouldn't be causing issues i.e. running in native mode is just masking the problem.

Still, if you are only using it infrequently when you can't use your main toppy then you should be ok - just hope your main toppy doesn't develop a fault as well!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum