Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  Raspberry PI and ftpd-topfield

Page 1 of 5
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Tobor1605
Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 6
Anyone out there who has managed to get ftpd-topfield working with RasPi using the latest Rasbian image?

I tried the armv5tel 0.7.7p versions (static & dynamic) compiled by birdman but no luck. I can browse the contents of the Toppy OK but trying to download a file ends up with a bunch of errors, all with "usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)".

The strange thing is that if I kill ftp-topfield and start it again, download works.

Tried "rollling my own" i.e. downloaded 0.7.7p source and compiled it on the RasPi but it still behaves the same.

Tried the same with 0.7.7 (with USE_LIBUSB=1) and everything seemed to work OK except sometimes navigating to a directory could time out or after aborting a Turbo mode transfer Toppy would still remain in Turbo mode not accepting any remote commands (detaching USB cable would bring it back) etc.

Using a NSLU2 & ftpd-topfield everything works without a hitch.

To put things in proper context, I mostly don't have any clue as to what I am doing here, as an example I've never compiled anything on Linux before, but somehow I have a suspicion that the root cause of the "0.7.7p works only after ftpd restart" and "0.7.7 very unstable" might just be the same thing.

Any thoughts?
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1651 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Tobor1605 wrote:
Anyone out there who has managed to get ftpd-topfield working with RasPi using the latest Rasbian image?

I tried the armv5tel 0.7.7p versions (static & dynamic) compiled by birdman but no luck.
If you post the error messages I'll fix it.
EDIT: Sorry, I now see you did...
I might even fix it if you don't, but knowing what problem you have simplifies things for me.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.5
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1651 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Well, I obviously had done my previous testing as root (!!), as I hadn't set up udev to give me access to the device file when the Toppy appears on the USB bus.
[If you want to do this add a file in /etc/udev/rules.d, call it 10-Toppy.rules and put this into it:
Quote:
# Set the Toppy device to group toppy
# This sets /dev/bus/usb/001/nnn, but not /dev/usbdev1.nn*
#
ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ATTR{idVendor}=="11db", GROUP:="toppy", MODE:="0664"
The edit the /etc/group file to add a line like this:
Quote:
toppy:x:2001:pi
(or whatever id you are using, if it isn't pi).]

Here's what I get when using the new_dev_scan-static ftpd-topfield.
Quote:
Non-turbo mode:
59774976 bytes transferred in 41 seconds (1.39M/s)
Turbo mode:
59774976 bytes transferred in 19 seconds (3.01M/s)
1173553152 bytes transferred in 364 seconds (3.07M/s)

Error code 16 is:
Quote:
#define EBUSY 16 /* Device or resource busy */
What else were you doing on the system at the time.
And how do you have it connected to the network (the Ethernet socket, or a Wifi dongle)?

While I was doing my test I had an OpenMalaria BOINC client running as well, so the system was running at ~97% CPU usage - sar gives this for the period:
Code:
00:55:01        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
01:05:01        all      0.31     89.56      7.09      0.00      0.00      3.04

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.5
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
Tobor1605
Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 5:27 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 6
To clarify my original post a bit...

Using -static version I can access the Toppy with no problems i.e. browse around different directories etc. and it's only downloading that does not work:

Code:

ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: CWD /DataFiles
usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)
ftpd-topfield[1536]: topfield_open(default) returned -1
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 550
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Failed to connect to Topfield PVR
ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: SIZE /DataFiles/Navigare.rec
usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)
ftpd-topfield[1536]: topfield_open(default) returned -1
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 550
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Failed to connect to Topfield PVR
ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: MDTM /DataFiles/Navigare.rec
usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)
ftpd-topfield[1536]: topfield_open(default) returned -1
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 550
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Failed to connect to Topfield PVR
ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: TYPE I
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 200
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Type set to I.
ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: PASV
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 227
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Entering Passive Mode (10,0,0,59,219,36)
ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: RETR /DataFiles/Navigare.rec
usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)
ftpd-topfield[1536]: topfield_open(default) returned -1
ftpd-topfield[1536]: <--- 550
ftpd-topfield[1536]: Failed to connect to Topfield PVR


If I use the 0.7.7 with LIBUSB I compiled myself:

Code:

ftpd-topfield[1560]: command: CWD /DataFiles
ftpd-topfield[1560]: topfield_open(0) returned 0
ftpd-topfield[1560]: <--- 250
ftpd-topfield[1560]: CWD command successful.
ftpd-topfield[1560]: command: PWD
ftpd-topfield[1560]: <--- 257
ftpd-topfield[1560]: "/DataFiles" is current directory.
ftpd-topfield[1560]: command: TYPE I
ftpd-topfield[1560]: <--- 200
ftpd-topfield[1560]: Type set to I.
ftpd-topfield[1560]: command: PASV
ftpd-topfield[1560]: <--- 227
ftpd-topfield[1560]: Entering Passive Mode (10,0,0,59,216,250)
ftpd-topfield[1560]: command: RETR Navigare.rec
ftpd-topfield[1560]: retrieve: /DataFiles/Navigare.rec @0
retrieve: srcpath=/DataFiles/Navigare.rec, current=0, ret=0
ftpd-topfield[1560]: <--- 150
ftpd-topfield[1560]: Opening BINARY mode data connection for 'Navigare.rec' (682936320 bytes).
Created data connection: fd=8
Trying to write to 65024 bytes to the client
Waiting for write for 2 seconds
select() returned 1
Wrote 14600 of 65024 to the client
Waiting for write for 2 seconds
select() returned 1
Wrote 32120 of 50424 to the client
...


Download works great (in Turbo mode I get about 3.4 MiB/s vs. 3.0 MiB/s using NSLU2) but if I abort a download, things go very flakey, timeouts trying to display contents of a directory, Toppy remaining in Turbo mode etc. and disconnecting and connecting again with FileZilla I may get:

Code:

ftpd-topfield[1570]: command: LIST
ftpd-topfield[1570]: topfield_open(0) returned 0
ftpd-topfield[1570]: <--- 550
ftpd-topfield[1570]: (null): Unexpected response.




birdman wrote:
[If you want to do this add a file in /etc/udev/rules.d, call it 10-Toppy.rules and put this into it:
Quote:
# Set the Toppy device to group toppy
# This sets /dev/bus/usb/001/nnn, but not /dev/usbdev1.nn*
#
ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ATTR{idVendor}=="11db", GROUP:="toppy", MODE:="0664"
The edit the /etc/group file to add a line like this:
Quote:
toppy:x:2001:pi
(or whatever id you are using, if it isn't pi).]


Running as root in which case I assume the above should not matter but did it regardless, rebooted RasPi and run as pi but still behaves the same way i.e. comes up with error (-16) etc.

birdman wrote:

What else were you doing on the system at the time.
And how do you have it connected to the network (the Ethernet socket, or a Wifi dongle)?

While I was doing my test I had an OpenMalaria BOINC client running as well, so the system was running at ~97% CPU usage - sar gives this for the period:
Code:
00:55:01        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
01:05:01        all      0.31     89.56      7.09      0.00      0.00      3.04


Connected via wired ethernet and in addition to the Toppy, nothing else connected to the RasPi at all (working over PuTTY).

Nothing else running on the RasPi, not even X.

Can't find sar but if is a suitable substitute, this is what top shows during Turbo mode download:

Code:

top - 20:05:53 up 31 min,  1 user,  load average: 0.44, 0.45, 0.24
Tasks:  55 total,   2 running,  53 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s):  7.1 us, 22.5 sy,  0.0 ni, 58.3 id,  2.4 wa,  0.2 hi,  9.5 si,  0.0 st
KiB Mem:    189144 total,   154712 used,    34432 free,    13756 buffers
KiB Swap:   102396 total,        0 used,   102396 free,   122592 cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S  %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
 1637 root      20   0  1868  716  508 R  37.6  0.4   0:04.44 ftpd
   32 root      20   0     0    0    0 S   0.4  0.0   0:12.69 mmcqd/0
 1635 pi        20   0  4648 1396 1048 R   0.4  0.7   0:00.19 top
   14 root      20   0     0    0    0 S   0.1  0.0   0:00.84 kworker/0:1
  952 root      20   0  1736  512  420 S   0.1  0.3   0:01.08 ifplugd
 1364 ntp       20   0  5452 1728 1356 S   0.1  0.9   0:00.39 ntpd
 1514 pi        20   0  9800 1672 1040 S   0.1  0.9   0:00.73 sshd
    1 root      20   0  1868  704  608 S   0.0  0.4   0:01.78 init
...


I wonder if something similar was going on in this thread?

BTW, thanks a lot for trying to help, very much appreciated!
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1651 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Tobor1605 wrote:
Using -static version I can access the Toppy with no problems i.e. browse around different directories etc. and it's only downloading that does not work:
Code:

ftpd-topfield[1536]: command: CWD /DataFiles
usb_claim_interface returned an error (-16)

That looks like a browse failing to me!

What client are you using?
Have you got it set to only ever use one FTP connexion? (There seem to be some GUI clients - such as your FileZilla - that try to make multiple ones, which won't work as the USB connexion is single-threaded on the Toppy).
and also wrote:
but if I abort a download, things go very flakey, timeouts trying to display contents of a directory, Toppy remaining in Turbo mode etc. and disconnecting and connecting again with FileZilla I may get:
Yes. Sort of a known problem. Aborting an FTP command may or may not actually abort the Toppy command associated with it.
and further wrote:
Connected via wired ethernet and in addition to the Toppy, nothing else connected to the RasPi at all (working over PuTTY).
OK. Just that there are reports that the USB driver can have problems, so I was just checking that you weren't running Wifi over it.
(The only problem I've seen is that when I got it swapping madly it wouldn't respond on the network - cleared when the oom-killer got the compilation process after ~5 hours. But then when people write C++ code that need >450MB to compile 1 file, what can you expect).

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.5
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
Tobor1605
Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:15 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 6
birdman wrote:

Have you got it set to only ever use one FTP connexion? (There seem to be some GUI clients - such as your FileZilla - that try to make multiple ones, which won't work as the USB connexion is single-threaded on the Toppy).


I was about to write that I am aware of the limitation and this is not the issue, without even checking, but decided to make double sure and of course "Limit number of simultaneous connections" was not checked. Not sure what happened, perhaps something related to upgrading FileZilla a week ago or maybe just a case of plain old PEBKAC at some point Embarassed

Now both your 0.7.7p and the 0.7.7 that I compiled on RasPi work as they should and even aborting a transfer does not cause issues.

FWIW, doing 3.4 MiB/s, according to top your prebuilt 0.7.7p uses about 10% less CPU than the 0.7.7 I compiled on RasPi.

Thanks for the help!
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 745 Location: Hull
Tobor1605 wrote:

I was about to write that I am aware of the limitation and this is not the issue, without even checking, but decided to make double sure and of course "Limit number of simultaneous connections" was not checked. Not sure what happened, perhaps something related to upgrading FileZilla a week ago or maybe just a case of plain old PEBKAC at some point Embarassed
I've seen this happen before when upgrading Filezilla. I know I have checked 'Limit number of simultaneous connections', and this hasn't been checked after the upgrade. Doesn't happen every time though!

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.5;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1054 Location: Sweden
Just noticed this thread...
I have used ASUS routers in the past to access my toppies, but now that I got me a 3rd toppy I found that the ASUS routers are no longer sold...
But I have a Raspberry Pi so I have a few questions regarding this possible configuration:

1) I noticed above that there was some hesitation concerning running the Pi with a WiFi USB dongle as network connection. Is this still the case or could I use that as the network connection. I have set up my Pi using wired network but I can't do this towards the toppy so I need WiFi. Any pointers regarding how to set that up? I assume that one needs to connect via wire first and prepare "something" on he Pi to make it able to connect to the WiFi network????

2) Setting up the ASUS with ftp to the topfield was not a straightforward thing but I managed thanks to Chunkywizard's guide and help here. What is the deal regarding the Pi? Is there some guide for this as well?

3) I also noted above that there was talk about running as root or not. Is this regarding the ftp access or does someone have to be logged on to the Pi for ftp-topfield to work?
If one wants to access by ftp over the network, does one need to connect as a regular Pi user or can anonymous access be used like on the ASUS?

Would be great if the Pi could be used for toppy access!

PS: I was also hit by the Filezilla multi-channel config.... DS

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
birdman
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:10 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 Dec 2006 Posts: 1651 Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath
Bob_Swede wrote:

1) I noticed above that there was some hesitation concerning running the Pi with a WiFi USB dongle as network connection. Is this still the case or could I use that as the network connection.
It will probably be OK. It was just that I'd seen the note about some USB issues.
and also wrote:
I have set up my Pi using wired network but I can't do this towards the toppy so I need WiFi. Any pointers regarding how to set that up? I assume that one needs to connect via wire first and prepare "something" on he Pi to make it able to connect to the WiFi network????
A laptop with a point-to-point connexion is helpful. Trivial to set up (for me) on a laptop running Linux, but I have no idea how to do it in Windows (and since I've recently found out that to add routing in Windows you need to use the command-line I'll leave that to others to figure out...).
My Pi is wired - but I have a Plug which uses Wifi, so the setup is the same. (The Plug is actually set-up as a router - -which is why my Pi can be wired...they are both sitting behind the TV).
You'll need to install the wpasupplicant package (if not installed) then create a /etc/network/interfaces file (root-owned, mode 600, it contains passwords) with this (edited to suit your situation) in it:
Code:
# Used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8). See the interfaces(5) manpage or
# /usr/share/doc/ifupdown/examples for more information.
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# See http://plug.noloop.net/sheevaplug-hacks/installing-debian/prism54usb-3com-officeconnect-3CRWE254G72-wlan-wpa-without-nw
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
  pre-up iw reg set GB
  post-down iw reg set GB
  address 192.168.1.51
  netmask 255.255.255.0
  broadcast 192.168.1.255
  gateway 192.168.1.1
  dns-nameservers 192.168.1.1
  dns-search local.domain
  wireless-power on
  wpa-ssid Your-Network-SSID
  wpa-psk Your-Network-Password
  wpa-ap-scan 1
  wpa-scan-ssid 1
  wpa-country GB

Not sure what Wifi regulation zone you are in, but all of Europe is the same anyway - AFAI. You may not need that at all - I was just trying to stop it using the US ones, as I wanted to use channel 13 at one point.
You may also need a firmware file (in /lib/firmware) for the specific dongle you have.
and further wrote:

2) Setting up the ASUS with ftp to the topfield was not a straightforward thing but I managed thanks to Chunkywizard's guide and help here. What is the deal regarding the Pi? Is there some guide for this as well?
There are two possibilities. Lets' get the network in place first.
he wrote:
3) I also noted above that there was talk about running as root or not. Is this regarding the ftp access or does someone have to be logged on to the Pi for ftp-topfield to work?
No-one has to be logged on to the Pi - this is just a matter of what account is used for the ftpd-topfield daemon process. It's not a good idea to run this as root if it isn't needed, which it isn't provided you have the device file permission set correctly. But it probably doesn't matter that much for a private system either when it's not connected to the Internet.
and additionally wrote:

If one wants to access by ftp over the network, does one need to connect as a regular Pi user or can anonymous access be used like on the ASUS?
It's just the same as the Asus. They are both Linux systems.

_________________

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.5
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_Swede
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:02 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Oct 2007 Posts: 1054 Location: Sweden
Thanks, I will dig into this later today (hopefully).
I got the Pi during the summer and I got it working headless using an image that started ssh automatically. Then I could connect (via wired LAN) using PUTTY and set it up with my account etc. I have not yet hooked it up to a monitor.
In order to make it run on my network I connected the SD-Card disk to a virtual (VMWare) Ubuntu so I could edit the script files and set it to use a specific IP address for instance, which I could use later for PUTTY.

Right now I don't have a WiFi dongle so I have to get that first, though.

_________________
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
View user's profile Send private message
leona
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
I defiantly need to keep an eye on this thread, this is exactly what I wish to do when I get hold of my Pi.

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:31 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10331 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Be as defiant as you like Wink

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
leona
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Nov 2010 Posts: 149 Location: Devon, UK (Tx: Stockland Hil)
juwlz wrote:
Be as defiant as you like Wink

Grrr, dam 'auto correct'!

_________________
Kind Regards

Leona
-------
Toppy: Pre facelift TF5800 Age: 2005 PSU Refurb: 04/2011 TV: Panasonic TH42PX60B 42" Plasma.
IA: Off TS: On F/W: MS6 Rec: 5.13.65T Dated: 12/9/09 -Sy+Pe TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; TAP Commander 1.34; HDDInfo; MyInfo Sig 14/4/11.
HDD: WD / WD5000AADS / 500Gb Topfield SATA Adaptor PC OS: Ubuntu (12.04)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2980 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
or even "damn" (suggest ditch your 'auto correct'er)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rustek
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:42 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Apr 2008 Posts: 14
reading some of these threads is interesting - especially when a so-called 'newbie' leaves me standing! I have no idea how Linux does things but there seem to be so many flavours and gui's that threads like above leave me totally baffled.

so for clarity can anyone help with
1. How to make my pi (running raspbmc) see the toppy (connecte to the pi via usb) as a video source?
2. How to transfer files from my toppy (connected to the pi via usb) to an external drive (also connected via usb to the pi)

Be very gentle with me.

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 5
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum