Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  TopManager V5.0

Page 35 of 36
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 34, 35, 36  Next
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:53 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
@Bizman
It is all relative (my tv seems to be telling me there are changes nearly every day).

Also, EMJB is now using his as2mei mechanism so may not be that bothered to update the file (updating it requires a lot of time/effort as there is no definitive source)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Laser
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:54 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2008 Posts: 421
Geoff Bacon wrote:

I'm assuming you used the TM "Tools| Install Files| Freeview.dat" option when updating the file

Yes, everything from within TM. No manipulation of files behind its back.

Quote:
I will look at the code again and update shortly

Thank you for looking into it. As I said, on previous occasions I've been deeply impressed by how smoothly it all goes compared to re-tuning manually.

I think a large part of what was tripping it up was the way that CBS Action was on 70 and had moved to 64 and was still available pre-retune on 70, but they have allocated 70 to CBS Horror.

_________________
TF5800 250GB Black Panther FW 5.13.65 (Patched)
TAPs: MS6.6, EPG2MEI 0.96, Extend 1.7, SecCacheUK, EIT_Sub, UKSubtitle, SDS
TV: Pioneer PDP-4280XD. AVR: Onkyo TX-NR807. Transmitter: Tacolneston
View user's profile Send private message
gramps
Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Jun 2007 Posts: 309
@Geoff

I have created a zip file that contains both logo.dat and smlogo.dat and uploaded it here on my website.

Code:
https://sites.google.com/site/toppylogos/home/dat_logos.zip

I've got TopManager working with it fine using the following changes in the script file.
Code:
! ***
! *** Gramps Logo files
! ***
1MyStuff Logos (gramps)=https://sites.google.com/site/toppylogos/home/dat_logos.zip
3logo.dat=#:\ProgramFiles\Settings\Logos\logo.dat
3smlogo.dat=#:\ProgramFiles\Settings\Logos\smlogo.dat
5=NB:  To use these new logos, reboot the Toppy (or restart MyStuff)


Makes things a bit easier to manage and the zip file is significantly smaller than the dat files.

gramps

_________________
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Modified the install script to
1) Use a zip file when downloading logos from "gramps"'s web site
2) Add an option to "Install Files| PruneEPG"

These changes should get picked up within 7 days (assuming you run TopManager!).
To pick them up immediately, use the "Help| Check For Updates option" (although it will say no updates, it will update this file).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:27 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
TopManager 5.0 is now available for download.

Changes to "Tools| Analyze ProgramFiles"
* Recognize MyStuff_Startup.flg and PruneEPG.tap

Changes to "Tools| Check MyStuff"
* Warn if PruneEPG not present in Auto Start folder
* Add [Ec] and [Ef] to patch lists (although not strictly required for MyStuff)

Changes to "Tools| Install Files| ..." (some may already have this)
* Add PruneEPG.tap
* Use a .zip file when downloading gramp's logos.

Changes to "PcControl| Channel Management"
* Warn if a LTM (Local Transport Mux) is detected on entry or selected by a new channel lineup. Note: this does not prevent you selecting an LTM; it just warns you that they are typically broadcast at low power and could lead to a disk wipe.

Bug Fixes
* Prevent access violation error if a .INI file is empty
* Back out the change that decided whether or not to rewrite or append to \ProgramFiles\Settings\ChannelOrganiserDeletes.txt. This means that the program will correctly remember the channel lineup again.

Other
* Add Filezilla.exe to list of PC programs that may prevent connection

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 8:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 677
Was using this and it mentioned that my HDDInfo TAP was out of date. So I went to the Install Files options and it failed to find the file when I tried to install the latest version. Sorry - I can't remember the exact URL it failed to find...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD5000AVJB added April '12
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 10:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Changed the install script to use the new location for Firebird's files (http://tap.topfield-europe.com/firebird/...)

This should roll out over the next week; if you want it faster, use the Help| Check for Update option (although it will say no updates, it will download the latest script file)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 7:56 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 677
Thanks for that, and thanks again for such a useful programme - it takes a lot of the drudgery out of maintaining our demanding hardware

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD5000AVJB added April '12
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
fhjones
Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 9:20 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Feb 2009 Posts: 160
@Geoff

Hello Geoff.

Yesterday I re-installed MyStuff, together with your new PruneEPG TAP. I then downloaded and installed TM5 to check that everything was OK with the MS installation. I did a File System check (Tools/Analyse/FileSystem...) and TAPCommander.ini was highlighted as a missing file. I did an Install Files/TAPCommander, but TAPCommander.ini is still highlighted as missing.

I have scanned this thread and I am sure that you must have been asked this before. If so, please excuse me for asking again, but do you know why this should be?

Thank you for your PruneEPG TAP and the very useful TopManager. Your work is very much appreciated.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 9:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
TAPCommander.ini is created the first time you run TAPCommander.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
fhjones
Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 11:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Feb 2009 Posts: 160
Sorted!

Thank you

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSyXl+UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/11/15
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
Windows defender is telling me that the TopManager download has a virus, and deletes it.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Thanks for the info (someone else alerted this to me at the weekend).

The zip file doesn't have a virus and the download on the site (which is currently down because I mucked up the DNS record) is binary identical to that I loaded on 18th April 2015. i.e. Defender is generating a false positive.

Defender does not have a very good reputation. It also doesn't seem to have a mechanism to appeal against it's decision (at least I couldn't find one by googling earlier in the week).

Please note that Defender is only complaining about the zip kit and not the TopManager.exe after it has been installed.

Geoff
[edit]The DNS changes have now propagated and my site is available again[/edit]

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slimgym
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:32 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 19 Aug 2009 Posts: 99 Location: Essendon, Herts.
On launch;

System Error. Code: 1722
The RPC server is unavailable.

then TopManager appears to launch and minimise to taskbar, on focus;

Access violation at address 005B18B6 in module 'TopManager.exe'. Write of address 00000074.

Short story; this happens if the "Print Spooler" service is not started.

Long story; re-built a very old machine to XP for this and everything working (including TopManager). Went through and switched all unnecessary services to manual which seems to be best practice to save memory and increase responsiveness. Then started getting this error with TopManager on launch.

Went through all services in turn and Print Spooler is the cause, which is an odd one for TopManager to require as I have no printers installed on this machine. Also, I was under the impression even manual services started themselves if required.

I could find a few posts with this error on this forum but no resolution so posting for others.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+Sc
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; (FastScanGUI v0.6b)
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
The problem is caused because you have no printers installed (TM is using the standard Print unit provided with the Delphi compiler and this doesn't handle systems that don't possess a printer).

If you want to use TM then you will need to configure a printer (even if you don't ever connect it).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 35 of 36
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 34, 35, 36  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum