Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  TopManager V4.8.1

Page 23 of 32
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 30, 31, 32  Next
EMJB
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3460 Location: Maldon Essex
Just updated Freeview.dat to reflect the BBC3 hours during the olympics.

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:55 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
@EMJB

That was quick; I hadn't got around to asking you!

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
I have uploaded version 4.2 of TopManager to my website.

Geoff

Changes in Version 4.2

TopManager
* Add a link to the forum thread on the Help| About dialog
* Disable all checksums when performing USB file operations (previously only when copying complete files)
* Allow skin files to be edited (*.mcf)
* Remove unnecessary space before "[b ]" in MyInfo signature
* Select new PcControl file detection mechanism (this allows the disk to spin down when inactive)
* Add a new menu (PcControl| System Settings) to display/change Toppy System Settings
* Add a new menu (PcControl| Display PcC Info) to produce a similar report to MyInfo Log.txt
* Requires PcControl version B1 or later
* Various minor changes to support new functions

PcControl Menus
Channel Management
* Warn if taps are loaded in the incorrect order (PcControl should precede EPG2MEI)
* When scanning, automatically rescan any muxes that don't detect any channels (up to 3 attempts)
* Warn user if mux names are not unique (and set so that user can easily access "Identify My Transmitter")
* Allow Find (Ctrl F) and Find Next (F3) operations when displaying the "Identify My Transmitter" dialog
* Adjust timeout when "finalizing" (based on the version of MyStuff; i.e. effectively increase time allowed by an extra 21 seconds for MyStuff pre version 6.5)
* Changed signal measurement time to 2 seconds (previously 1 second)

Measure Signals
* Change initial measurement period from 1 seconds to 2 seconds
* Add extra space at start of header when copying to clipboard as padded text

TapCommander
* Advise user about moving taps when arranging load order
* Add hints to controls

Display PcC Info (new)
* Produce similar information to MyInfo tap (but based on current information rather than when MyInfo.tap last ran)
* Shows mux names e.g. PSB1; warn if two or more muxes have the same name i.e. multiple transmitters
* Identifies transmitter (requires at least 4 muxes)

System Settings (new)
* Allow display/changing of items shown on the native “System Settings” Menu

PcControl.tap
* Uses a different method to detect command files sent from TopManager, This allows the disk to be spun down when PcControl in "inactive" while allowing "instant" detection of a command file.
(Users who haven't already updated this tap should use the "Tools| Install Files" option)

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mavison
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 223 Location: Kent, UK
I have just loaded TM 4.2.0.1 on to a new W7 64bit laptop, and am very impressed with how it has improved since I last tried it. A very useful facility!

A couple of problems, though.

First is that on the PcControl Channel Manager page, there is a button 70% hidden behind the divider below the list. I think that after the scan it says Delete channels, which seems to work if I click on it. But after that there is no visible 'Finalize' button, so I can find no way to finish the process off! I have tried resizing everything, but it does not affact what buttons are visible.

The next is that even tho I have MyKeys installed (!!) it stays shaded in the tools menu. What have I not done?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEvEzFsIPePsScUUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5; ScreenCapture with OSD V3.0; (Power Restore V0.7.7);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/6/11
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911 Location: Winter Hill
I am having problems trying to reorder the launch order of PcControl. I want to place it at the top of the list (to launch first). I get an error stating 'Failed to create temporary directory'. Can't think why as previously I had reordered PcControl successfully, but then read that it was better to be launched first. It was then that it failed.

I have rebooted the Toppy and restarted TopManager but still get the same result.

EDIT: Sorted. I FTP'd into the Toppy and deleted the ~PcControl~ folder from the autostart folder. Then I loaded TopManager (and PcContol) and this time it was OK.


Last edited by Wallace on Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:43 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
@mavison

Thanks for the comments.
I'm away on holiday at the moment so can't check the sources

Re the Finalize button; this should be directly below the Delete Channels button; my guess is that it is not being displayed because the laptop is wide screen - I'll do some checks next week.

I seem to remember that TM looks in the registry for the MyKeys entries; perhaps the location of the entrirs is different on W7.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
@wallace

Thanks for the info; I suspect that it doesn't like the temporary directory name (it has a ~ at the start and end), possibly because you are using FTP.

Again, I'll experiment next week when I return (though I use a Slug so I may not experience the same issues)

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mavison
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 223 Location: Kent, UK
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Re the Finalize button; this should be directly below the Delete Channels button; my guess is that it is not being displayed because the laptop is wide screen - I'll do some checks next week.

Yes - it is at 1920x1080. However, I have tried it with 1280x1024 and 1024x768, and both show much the same - ie the very top of one button showing, the rest hidden under the bottom area.

Geoff Bacon wrote:
I seem to remember that TM looks in the registry for the MyKeys entries; perhaps the location of the entrirs is different on W7.

I suspect there are two problems here - one mine, one yours! My problem is that when I created MyKeys v1.21 I lost the Registry entries that had been added in v1.20. This did not show when testing, as the v1.20 entries were still there, and so TM still worked. However, as I installed it on a new laptop, the old entries were not there! I will change the download later today.

Your problem is I suspect that TM is looking in the wrong place for W7, as you suspected. On XP the entries started 'My Computer' but on W7 they now seem to start in just 'Computer'. They are identical after that. I am unsure what W6 (Vista) uses.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday!

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEvEzFsIPePsScUUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5; ScreenCapture with OSD V3.0; (Power Restore V0.7.7);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/6/11
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
@mavison

Thanks for the info about the registry

I had assumed that the button was truncated because the wide screen had a low vertical size e.g. 576 but, from your description, this is not the case.

Check to see if you have a splitter bar truncating the button. If so, you may be able to drag it down below the buttons.

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mavison
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 223 Location: Kent, UK
Geoff Bacon wrote:
Check to see if you have a splitter bar truncating the button. If so, you may be able to drag it down below the buttons.

Yes, it is the splitter bar which is across the button.
But if I drag it down (or up), the button (and the bottom of the list above) moves as well. I have tried many window sizes and split positions, all to no avail.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEvEzFsIPePsScUUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5; ScreenCapture with OSD V3.0; (Power Restore V0.7.7);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/6/11
View user's profile Send private message
mavison
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 223 Location: Kent, UK
Another related odd thing: when I first start TM, MyKeys is NOT shaded. If I click it, it says I have to Display Options first. But when I connect and do that, MyKeys is shaded and cannot be clicked!

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEvEzFsIPePsScUUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; TF5000 Display v1.53; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.5; ScreenCapture with OSD V3.0; (Power Restore V0.7.7);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 2/6/11
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3146 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
Wallace wrote:
I am having problems trying to reorder the launch order of PcControl.



I've noticed that when PCControl isn't loaded first it causes the Toppy to double start

C458 -> run -> channel number + picture -> blank screen -> C458 -> run -> channel number + picture -> Mystuff L and S roundals -> fully working.

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news, Jul/Aug 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EMJB
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:12 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 08 Jul 2005 Posts: 3460 Location: Maldon Essex
alan_m wrote:
I've noticed that when PCControl isn't loaded first it causes the Toppy to double start

C458 -> run -> channel number + picture -> blank screen -> C458 -> run -> channel number + picture -> Mystuff L and S roundals -> fully working.


Have tried putting PcC last in load order, and have not seen this effect.

In any case, I would have expected the Toppy conditions to be the same on the second attempt as the first, so I would expect a continuous reboot cycle rather than just one if there were a problem. The only thing I can think of is that TopManager or something else was trying to communicate with the Toppy the first time, and had given up before the second - is that a possibility?

EMJB
View user's profile Send private message
Wallace
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 22 Mar 2008 Posts: 911 Location: Winter Hill
I have been using PCControl for months now. It has always been second to last in load order and has worked fine. The only trouble I have had was when i tried to alter the load order in this version (4.2.0.1). I moved it to second position OK but then realised it was best if it loaded first. When i tried to move it a second time i got an error message from Windows saying it couldn't create the temporary ditectory.
I got that sorted as my previous post.
Not experienced the issue you have. Sorry.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:32 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 2967 Location: Bristol ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ Windows XP, USB
Removed "Announcing" from the title of this thread (Juwlz's suggestion)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 23 of 32
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 30, 31, 32  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum