Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  TopManager V4.9

Page 18 of 34
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 32, 33, 34  Next
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3158 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@roga

There is no mechanism that allows TM to talk directly to the PcControl tap; all communication is done by passing files i.e.
1) TM stores a command file on toppy
2) PcControl detects the command file, processes the commands it contains and writes any requested results to a disk file
3) TM waits for the results file to appear (or times out if it is taking too long)

I'll be rolling out an update to fix the AV problem so might be worth hanging on a bit rather than trying to fix things at your end.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nvingo
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jul 2010 Posts: 102 Location: Norfolk
alan_m wrote:
I've just installed V4 on a Win XP machine.

Around 5 seconds after Topmanager fires up I get

Access violation at address 005899C) in module 'Topmanager.exe'. Read of address 00000000.

On closing this message Top manager appears to work.
The same on a Win7/64b AMD Phenom triple/6GB. Previous TM was V2, with the V4 installer used to update.
alan_m wrote:
The Signal Monitor Clone randomly times out and does not fetch all the data.
It failed to display on the PC the results for the last mux, vague recollection that an error about time-out appeared.

Quote:
There is no need to sort the channels numerically because this is done in TopManager (and, even if they weren't, the tap processes them numerically anyway!).

The reason you got the message is that the scan just didn't detect any channels on that Tx. It is normally the first Tx channel that gets missed but it could be any of them (and more than one Tx)
But like I said, it failed to detect channels on Tx24 when it appeared after Tx27 in the automatic list for Sandy Heath, but worked fine in a manually created ordered list of the same Tx. Confused

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
™
View user's profile Send private message
machare
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 111
What causes the error message:

"Access violation at address 005899C0 in module 'TopManager.exe'.
Read of address 00000000"

on a Windows 7 PC which can access a TF5800 via an NSLU2.

After the error message TopManger is able to connect to my Toppy but says:
Failed to retrieve \ProgramFiles\Settings\Freeview.dat

although browsing the Toppy with TopManger clearly shows that the file is there.

_________________
Michael Chare

TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +CwOtTd
TAPs: Power Manager v1.2; Jag's EPG v3.0 Beta 5 (Freeware Edition); PcControl X25a; MyInfo B5.6;
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3158 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@nvingo
Quote:
But like I said, it failed to detect channels on Tx24 when it appeared after Tx27 in the automatic list for Sandy Heath, but worked fine in a manually created ordered list of the same Tx.

As I said previously, this is an intermittent problem shared with FastScanGUI and ChannelOrganiser.
You can order the channels as you wish but it will always be processed in ascending numerical order (as you can see by looking at the scan display on the TV).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3212 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
machare wrote:
What causes the error message:

"Access violation at address 005899C0 in module 'TopManager.exe'.
Read of address 00000000"


It's the same error message I am getting on a XP machine. Topmanager appears to work if I ignore the message.

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news,November/December 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
roga
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:22 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jul 2006 Posts: 159 Location: City of London
@Geoff Bacon

Actually some of my tap problems may well be a problem with lack of memory, as your tap runs fine if I press "0", and other taps have a problem starting when all my autoruns are up. See here

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 15/10/14
™
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 751 Location: Hull
roga wrote:
It is a really handy app and tap, but I had to take the PcControl out of auto as it was causing my toppy to reboot just after start up on some occasions.

I'm having a similar problem.
On both my Topfields, PcControl caused a never ending reboot - taking it out of Auto Start solved the problem.
Starting PcControl from Program Files causes VF&F.
I may add that initially restarting the Topfields after PcControl was installed in Auto Start there was no problem. It was only after the first access of the machines with TopManager that the crashes started.
In the short period I was able to use the new PcControl facility I found it extremely useful and could see its potential.
PS I also get the access violation message.

Edit
Just seen that version 4.0.2 is available and I have just installed it.
Seems after a very brief test that all the problems I had have been solved! V.G.
A mere quibble - the snapshot facility only seems to be 4:3. Is there any way to make the aspect ratio the same as the TV?

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3158 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@billmars (and others)

I have recently uploaded 4.0.2 onto the site. This fixes the access violation caused when checking for program updates.
It also changes the file detection mode used by the tap (which appeared to cause timeouts for some users).
I have also changed the logic so that TM doesn't automatically talk to the tap when the connection is opened; you need to use the "Show PcC menus" option. This will prevent a error message being displayed to users who have moved the tap out of Auto Start.

Anyway, please try the new version to see if that fixes your problem.
(I can't do any more testing for the moment as my toppy is "in use")

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3212 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
Two minor issues

I believe that the "tick" at the side of the menu item "Show PcC Menus" is the wrong way around. The tick is visible when no menu is shown.
EDIT -- 4.0.2 fixes the above for me

A warning about a recording in progress is required if selecting the "Measure Signals" option. One, or both, of the tuners cannot be commanded to change MUXs to obtain the information.


Last edited by alan_m on Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:20 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news,November/December 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
billmars
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 751 Location: Hull
Spoke too soon - still getting VF&F randomly at a restart when PcControl is in Auto Start.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message
nvingo
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:34 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jul 2010 Posts: 102 Location: Norfolk
[quote="billmars"]
roga wrote:
A mere quibble - the snapshot facility only seems to be 4:3. Is there any way to make the aspect ratio the same as the TV?
The Freeview image size is one of 544x576, 704x576 or 720x576, depending on channel. This is what the Snapshot facility will return.
A TV automatically stretches the pixels horizontally to fill the screen.
You will have to do the same using an image editor to achieve the correct aspect ratio.
For widescreen the target size should be 1024x576.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
™
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3212 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
billmars wrote:
Spoke too soon - still getting VF&F randomly at a restart when PcControl is in Auto Start.



Same problems

With no USB cable connected my box came out of standby to record and went straight into a run/reset cycle. The picture appears and is stable for 6 seconds before going blank and the cycle repeating. I don't see Mystuff loading (no L or S roundals) EDIT An observation: the reset occurs at the same time (6 seconds in) as my laptop sees the USB connection from the Toppy

Putting the box into standby and switching back on results in the same cycling behaviour.

On every switch on the problem remains.

Booting TAPless - no problem

Booting again with TAP - same problem

Moving PCControl from Auto Start and booting with other TAPs - no problem

Moving PCControl back into Auto Start and booting with TAPs - same problem.

At this point I delete PCControl from Auto Start, reboot, connect up my computer via USB and use Topmanager to reinstall PCControl.

On a reboot with TAPS same problem.

Which files does PCControl create?

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news,November/December 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
billmars
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 751 Location: Hull
nvingo wrote:

billmars wrote:
A mere quibble - the snapshot facility only seems to be 4:3. Is there any way to make the aspect ratio the same as the TV?
The Freeview image size is one of 544x576, 704x576 or 720x576, depending on channel. This is what the Snapshot facility will return.
A TV automatically stretches the pixels horizontally to fill the screen.
You will have to do the same using an image editor to achieve the correct aspect ratio.
For widescreen the target size should be 1024x576.

OK, accepting what you say but what is the difference between the Topfield outputting 4:3 and 16:9 (the setting I have)? Doesn't this determine the final TV aspect ratio?
And using 'ScreenCapture with OSD V3.1' on the Topfield gives a captured image ratio of 16:9.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Jan 2007 Posts: 3158 Location: Bristol ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ Windows XP, USB
@alan_m

Is TopManager running when you get these VF&F's (I'm trying to establish whether or not TM is sending something to the toppy as soon as it detects the connection or whether the tap is causing the crash without commands from TM).

All files created and used by PcControl should be in the \ProgramFiles\PcControl folder; if you find any files starting with Pcc (any case) elsewhere then please let me know where (use Tools| Analyze - don't put PcControl in Auto Start Laughing )

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, IA On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzHsPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; QuickJump 1.72; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; CrashTrace v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 6/9/13
™
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 3212 Location: Southchurch Village, Southend-on-Sea
Geoff Bacon wrote:
@alan_m

Is TopManager running when you get these VF&F's


My problem is not VF&F but constant reboots.
For me the problem is not with Topmanager or anything else connected to the Toppy via USB. The USB was not connected.

Prior to the problem my toppy booted faultlessly many times with PCControl in Auto Start. Today I came home to find it in an endless run/reset cycle. The Toppy had switched itself on to record something.

EDIT I removed all files on the Toppy's Program file/PCControl folder and put PCControl back in Auto Start - the reboot problem remains.


Last edited by alan_m on Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:42 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
www.tap-room.com for TaP news,November/December 2014 edition now out
5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 18 of 34
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 32, 33, 34  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum