Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  ADMIN: Info on the current BBC/TAP crashing bug.

Page 1 of 1
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:28 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
This thread is solely for administrative announcements related to the current bug. Please use the discussion thread for comments

The following summary has been posted to the forum's Announcements group:

Quote:
Some users of the Topfield TF5800 have been experiencing a problem, starting earlier today, where their box will freeze or crash when viewing BBC channels. This has not been happening in all areas, or to all users, but it's sufficiently important that we are sending this notification.

If you find that your box is not responding, or the picture is becoming jerky and freezing when starting up on a BBC channel, or after switching to a BBC channel, do not panic.

The UK distributors, Turbosat, are aware of the problem, and are working with Topfield to resolve it as soon as possible. We will provide details of a permanent resolution as soon as one is available. In the meantime, it is possible to avoid the problem in the following manner.

1. If your box crashes, switch it off, first with the remote, if possible, and then at the wall. It is important to completely remove power.

2. Turn the power back on at the wall, and then turn the box on using the remote control, if it does not start automatically. While it is starting up, hold down the 0 key on the remote control. This will prevent any TAPS from loading; the box will start up, and when it has finished starting, the screen will change size as long as you are holding down the 0 key.

3. Stop pressing 0 when the screen is the correct size.

4. Your box will now work as standard, but without any TAPs that you have installed. If you have been experiencing these crashes, do not run any TAPs until we have a permanent resolution. To avoid the need to hold down the 0 key during start up, either leave your box running, or move any TAPs that you have in the AutoStart folder.

There is no need to report the issue individually to Turbosat; they are aware of it, and working on a permanent solution; we have agreed with them to send this email so that users are aware of how to work around the problem, if they are affected.

No individual TAP is responsible for the problem; it can occur on BBC channels when any TAP is running on your system, but has not been reported as occurring on any other channels.


If you would like to join the Announcements group, here's how:

At the top of the Forums, you'll see a link that says Usergroups. Click on that, and on the screen that appears, select Announcements from the list of Non-member groups, then click the View Information button. On the next screen, click the Join button, and you'll be added to the list, so you can find out when updates are available, even if you don't have time to sign in to the forums.

Nigel.


Last edited by nwhitfield on Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:46 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:59 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
A brief update, to save you all phoning Turbosat.

They're talking with Topfield (who have a team who work to British time, rather than Korean), and I've spent hours uploading a recording from a BBC channel - though whether that will help, I can't say at this stage.

Contact is also being established with the BBC, since it seems to be affecting only their channels.

I've been asked to pass on thanks from Turbosat to all those who have provided useful reports via the forum and other means. Obviously they're a little busy to respond to everyone individually, but they are keeping an eye on the information here, and when there's more to report, I shall let people know as soon as possible.

You don't need to phone Turbosat yourself to report this issue. Rest assured that they do know about the problem; they are working on it.

More later.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:36 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
Additional information, which may help users avoid this issue.

Even when you have removed TAPs from your system, you may experience crashes if the box remains on a BBC channel for extended periods. This appears to be due to an issue with the MHEG (interactive) material on those channels, which may be the root cause of the problem.

To completely avoid this issue, you can disable MHEG, which can be done simply by turning on subtitles.

To turn on subtitles, press the Opt key on your remote control, select Subtitle Track with the arrow keys, press OK, and then select DVB[eng] and press OK again.

You will need to turn on subtitles each time you power on your Topfield.

If you have subtitles turned on, you should be able to run TAPs, however unless you are a confident user, we would caution against putting TAPs in your auto start folder, since if the box is on a BBC channel when it starts up, you may not have an opportunity to turn on subtitles before it crashes.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:35 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
A technical summary of the issue so far:

1) This issue is not restricted to the most recent (August 2005) firmware; it is also affecting people with the May firmware. It is not related to signal strength.

2) The issue appears to be related to MHEG (interactive) functions, specifically on BBC channels. It is known that some new features are being introduced or tested on BBC interactive services, which may be related to this crash.

3) MHEG can be effectively disabled by switching on subtitles, as described in the previous note on this thread.

4) Testing by users reveals that available memory on the box drops substantially as soon as a BBC MHEG application loads. This problem is exaggerated by the presence of any TAPs on the system, but will still eventually occur even without any TAPs loaded.

Some users have reported additional work-arounds:

a) Turn on subtitles in the system menus; this will ensure that they are enabled each time the box starts
b) MHEG is not available in timeshift mode, so pressing pause for a short time, or rewinding live TV, will disable it. However, you may still experience a crash if you drop out of timeshift on a BBC channel, for example when a recording starts or stops, or if you press the Stop key to return to live viewing.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:59 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
A possible interim fix for this issue is being tested this afternoon.

More details will be posted as soon as possible; please note that the possible fix is not available from Turbosat, or by asking forum admins. Normally, the distribution of test firmwares is not announced; I've simply mentioned it here to reassure people that there is definite progress on this issue.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:43 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
An interim fix, which will alleviate the problem, will be available later today.

It will be announced via the Announcements group on the forum, and also in the site news section.

It is anticipated that a complete fix will be available around the middle of next week.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:42 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
The interim firmware update is now available for download, from the locations given in the associated news story and release information.

Please do not distribute the file on other sites, and ensure you read the information on the news page before deciding to install the update; it is an interim update, and a full fix is scheduled for next week.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:38 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
Testing is in progress on a final update at the moment. It is anticipated that the final update will include a complete fix for the widescreen switching issues introduced in the August firmware.

More details will be added as soon as I have them.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nwhitfield
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 1:36 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9568 Location: London
Firmware version 5.12.03 has now been released, and resolves this issue.

More details in the news story at http://www.toppy.org.uk/static/septBugfix.html

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum