Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Rowridge upgrade on 25 March - will I need to upgrade Toppy?

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
malw
Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:14 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 May 2006 Posts: 31 Location: Bournemouth
Hi! I've had my Toppy for about 3 years - clean, no TAPS, and no problems (touches wood!). With the upcoming changes to Rowridge and the scanning problems mentioned, I'd appreciate it if you could advise if I need to upgrade the Toppy firmware. System info is below - the only upgrade was done OTA so I've had no experience with using a computer to do it. I have a laptop so no problem with access to the Toppy. What do I need to download apart from the required firmware in order to connect to and update the Toppy? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Smile

System ID: 456
Loader V. C1.01
Device V. 5.3.35
Software V. TF-NPT 5.13.40
H/ware V. v1.00
Last update: 9 Feb 2007

Thanks!!
Mal
R2-D2
Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:49 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
You'll probably need a NIT-fixed firmware at least. See recommendations.

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:10 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1783
Assuming you are using a PC, you need Topfield Tools for Windows.

Download a recommended firmware, as above.

Then use TFDN-USB (included in the Tools) to upgrade your Toppy to the new firmware.

You may also wish to look at the ChannelManager TAP to help with re-scans.

A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
gomezz
Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:19 am Reply with quote