Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAP and patch development  ~  Using 2 Toppies: RemExt patch, RemoteExtender Toppy2 TAP

Page 2 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
gomezz
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3873 Location: Buckingham
R2-D2 wrote:
you can switch remote sets that the Toppy responds to (which is how the TF5810 can be used in conjunction with a TF5800), but your problem will be finding the codes to use for the alternate remote sets.

When I look up Topfield on the OFA web site for my URC 7556 remote it lists the following four codes:-

Setup Code : 1206
Setup Code : 1208
Setup Code : 1207
Setup Code : 1545


I am using 1206 for my current machine. Do these other numbers correspond to the other remote sets selectable by the RemoteSwitch TAP?

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
underquark
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1775
The URC7560 was marketed - and discontinued - long before the Toppy was conceived, I fear. I'm pretty sure those codes don't exist on it. Information I have says that Cable 0084 has the correct Protocol and Device number - I doubt that the buttons will match but the manual tells how to KeyMove and assign codes to buttons using KeyMagic so that would be one way.

_________________
5xTF5800PVR - 1 organ-donor, 1 for experimenting on, 2 x 250Gb and 1 x 500Gb (Seagate ST3500630A, no fan), one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.3; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; MEISearch 1.37; Various remotes - URC8820 (my fav.), URC8910 (for SWMBO), URC7562 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
gomezz
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3873 Location: Buckingham
underquark wrote:
The URC7560 was marketed - and discontinued - long before the Toppy was conceived, I fear. I'm pretty sure those codes don't exist on it.

Was that a response to my previous post about using a 7556? In which case you have only added to my confusion. Confused

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
underquark
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1775
Ah, I thought you were suggesting codes to try on the URC7560. What would work on the 7560 would be to set SAT to 0084 and then KeyMagic (i.e. manually enter) the Toppy2 codes for each button. Or make a JP1 cable.

I can't tell you the individual button codes for the Setup codes you mention for the 7556 since I didn't like my 7555 (same as 7556 but silver) and sold it. I can play about with codes for the 7560 since I still have a 7562 which has a very similar ROM code library.

_________________
5xTF5800PVR - 1 organ-donor, 1 for experimenting on, 2 x 250Gb and 1 x 500Gb (Seagate ST3500630A, no fan), one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.3; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; MEISearch 1.37; Various remotes - URC8820 (my fav.), URC8910 (for SWMBO), URC7562 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1775
For brave owners of 2 Toppies and a URC7560, try this (at you own risk, naturaly):

Get the Remote Extender Toppy2 TAP

Take you 7560 and press SAT
Press and hold Magic then enter 0084

Now use Key Magic and the codes from one of the following columns (probably the first...maybe, anyway):

Press and hold Magic until it blinks
Press 994
Press Magic
Enter the 3-digit code
Press the button that you want to assign that code to

Repeat ad nauseum

Note that there might be issues with RE's handling of the code for Power

Code:
power   087   42
mute   084   44
tv/radio   107   83
tv/stb   085   40
opt   100   84
1   153   49
2   151   50
3   155   51
4   148   52
5   152   53
6   150   54
7   154   55
8   021   56
9   025   57
0   149   48
recall   022   62
info   024   61
menu   023   58
guide   027   59
list   212   36
exit   216   37
up   213   32
down   217   33
left   219   35
right   215   34
ok   026   63
vol+   089   41
vol-   020   60
ch+   218   39
ch-   106   87
rew   104   85
play   102   86
fast fwd   229   88
slow   233   89
stop   231   90
rec   235   91
pause   214   38
pip   197   96
archive   201   97
text   199   98
red   040   77
green   088   45
yellow   086   46
blue   090   47
pip swap   070   110
white   228   92

_________________
5xTF5800PVR - 1 organ-donor, 1 for experimenting on, 2 x 250Gb and 1 x 500Gb (Seagate ST3500630A, no fan), one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.3; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; MEISearch 1.37; Various remotes - URC8820 (my fav.), URC8910 (for SWMBO), URC7562 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:36 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10275 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
underquark wrote:
juwlz wrote:
It's a URC-7560......No sign or recollection of a modem though.
Look closer! The modem is built-in. It was originally designed for over-the-telephone upgrades.
Yes, I'd forgotten about the over-the-phone stuff until we found a copy of the manual on the interweb Wink

Still not sure I'm brave (foolish?) enough to muck about with everything though. A good old-fashioned bit of stiff cardboard sounds like a good solution, especially as we'll still want to use the Harmony to control all the relevant AV equipment too, and that'll get horribly confused if it loses track of what's doing what.

Toppy Power is excluded from the Watch Toppy activity anyway, so that won't be an issue.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chunkywizard
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:48 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 9277 Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Hey Ju,

remember Bob has 2 Toppies. He has an unreleased solution to your problem....

CW

_________________
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
underquark
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:31 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1775
juwlz wrote:
Still not sure I'm brave (foolish?) enough to muck about with everything though.
RE Toppy2 is a TAP. TAP's can be removed if they are found unsuitable. If you "muck up" the URC7560 ot can be retail reset by Magic 980 and factory reset (wipes out all EEPROM data but retains ROM data) by Magic 981. I would be the first to admit, though, the URC7560 is far from ideal as a PVR remote as it doesn't have enough buttons. Can't your Harmony accept user-generated upgrades?

_________________
5xTF5800PVR - 1 organ-donor, 1 for experimenting on, 2 x 250Gb and 1 x 500Gb (Seagate ST3500630A, no fan), one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.3; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; MEISearch 1.37; Various remotes - URC8820 (my fav.), URC8910 (for SWMBO), URC7562 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:32 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10275 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Andy K wrote:
key stopper is a simple TAP. When the SAT button is pressed it ignores all keys except SAT.
That comment, plus something one of the MyStuff team said, has prompted the idea for a ToppySwitcher TAP. (This may be similar to BobD's own solution, but he's away at the moment, and anyway, there's a lot of MyStuff coding to do.)

The basic idea is that the ToppySwitcher TAP is first in the load order. If the Toppy is currently enabled it passes on any button other than the Activation button (TV/Sat by default). If disabled, it swallows everything except the Activation button.
If it sees the Activation button, it then listens for another button press within the next <n> seconds, and if it sees something it recognises, it acts upon it. Only the currently active Toppy will ever display anything. If the config files are different/conflicting, the config file for the Toppy which is enabled when the Activation key is pressed should be used to decide how to switch, and the ini file for the selected Toppy should be used for confirmation. (Of course, in most cases, both will be the same anyway.)

The Toppy selection button for each machine can be any button on the remote other than the Activation key or the Menu key (and is defined in ini file).
* Double press of the Activation key confirms which Toppy is currently active using the configured confirmation method (if confirmation method is silent, use Text display, method 1 for this)
* Activation key followed by Menu key brings up the config menu (if such a friendly things is implemented Wink )
* Activation key followed by an enable key for any of the Toppies enables one Toppy and disables all others

So, by default, TV/Sat followed by 1 enables Toppy 1, disables Toppy 2, and displays a message saying "Toppy 1" in black text on a white background one third of the way down the screen to confirm that Toppy 1 is enabled (i.e. listening for key presses).

Pressing TV/Sat twice brings up a text message saying "Toppy 1" to confirm that Toppy 1 is enabled.

Pressing TV/Sat followed by Menu brings up the config screen (of course this will need to be done on each Toppy, and to prevent confusion, each Toppy's config should be identical except for the Enable Button for this Toppy in column 2 of line 1).

Sample ini / readme file with default settings:
Code:
TV/Sat, 1, Verbose, 1
1, "Toppy 1", White, Black
2, "Toppy 2", Black, White

# Line 1 fields (global config):
# 1. TAP activation button (must be the same on all Toppies)
# 2. Enable button for this Toppy (must be different for each Toppy)
# 3. Switching style (Verbose | Silent)
# 4. Confirmation style
# 5 ... optional Confirmation parameters
#
# Config line for each Toppy
# 1. Enable button (anything except Activation button or Menu button)
# 2. Toppy ID
# 3. Background colour for confirmation
# 4. Foreground colour for confirmation
#
# Global config detail:
# Confirmation style and parameters
#
# 0 - Silent, no confirmation
# 1 - Text (display text in column 2 in Foreground colour text on Background colour
#      Options [Duration, X offset, Y offset]
#      Default is to display centered horizontally, and vertically ToppyNum/(NumToppies+1) down the screen (e.g. 1/3 way down for Toppy 1, 2/3 down for Toppy2, etc.)
#      Offsets of -1 (or omitted) mean "centred"
# 2 - Blob
#      Options [Duration, X offset, Y offset]
#      Default is to display first character of Toppy ID in Foreground colour text in a small circle of Background colour in top right corner.
#      Negative offsets are relative to right/bottom instead of left/top
# 3 - Frame
#      Options [Duration, numpixels]
#      Default is to display a 5 pixel border in background colour
#
# Example:
# TV/Sat, Red, Silent, 3, 2, 10
# Red, "Old Toppy - 160GB", Red, White
# Yellow, "New Toppy - 250GB", Yellow Black
#
# This uses TV/Sat as the activation key, doesn't display options when TV/Sat is first pressed, has the Red button as the activation key for this Toppy,
# displays a 10 pixel wide Red frame around the picture for 2 time units to confirm that the Red button has been pressed and the Red Toppy has been enabled.
#
# Example:
# TV/Sat, TV/Radio, Verbose, 1
# TV/Radio, "Silver Toppy", White, Black

# Opt, "Black Panther", Black, White
# 0, "Disable all Toppies", Red, Yellow
#
# This uses TV/Sat as the activation key, displays 3 lines of choices when the TV/Sat button is pressed:
#        TV/Radio:  Silver Toppy   (displayed in Black text on White background)
#        Opt:  Black Panther   (displayed in White text on Black background)
#        0:   Disable all Toppies   (displayed in Yellow text on Red background)
#
# When TV/Radio is pressed, it confirms enabled Toppy by displaying "Silver Toppy" in Black text on White background, 1/4 of the way down the screen
#
# displays a 10 pixel wide Red frame around the picture for 2 time units to confirm that the Red button has been pressed and the Red Toppy has been enabled.
#
Anybody fancy writing it for the growing (but niche) band of multiple Toppy households? I bet that other than a pretty config screen any of you TAP authors could knock this up in pretty short order Wink

NB: If there's a nice friendly configuration screen, the buttons and colours could be held in the ini file as the button codes and hex values without making it too obscure. Of course, that could still be the case even if there isn't a nice friendly config screen. It would just be less ... friendly.

NB: The default durations, positions and pixel widths may not be appropriate. I've just picked numbers out of the air. Duration could be counted as seconds, 1/10 seconds, milliseconds, whatever. I defer to the TAP author's better judgement.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:52 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
juwlz wrote:
The basic idea is that the ToppySwitcher TAP is first in the load order.
There are a few tricky buttons, but the majority would work with a scheme like this. The notable exception is the Power button, which would require some tricky hacking to work properly, although a simple solution may be to use [Po] on both Toppies (and no other power handling mechanism) so that you always have to confirm the power off (using buttons that are handled properly). Won't stop the Front Panel turning on a Toppy, though.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:07 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10275 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I'd just add the Power button (and any other tricky ones) to the list of non-allowed buttons and have done with it Wink

It's a pretty niche TAP as it is. There's enough configurability there to keep nearly everyone happy already. No point making life difficult!

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:17 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10275 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
i.e. we just live with the fact that the PowerOff button will work come what may. (Won't affect me anyway, mine's on all the time except when Power Manager turns it off at night.)

I guess a possibility would be an addition to the individual Toppy lines for each machine to be enabled or disabled on startup ... and/or for each machine to remember whether it was enabled or disabled when it was last running.

Actually, the fact that they might get out of sync reminds me of why the default position for the text was different for each Toppy - that way you can see if BOTH / all are enabled at the same time ... except, of course, that only one will be controlling the TV display. I knew there was a flaw in that plan.

(Maybe I need to ask for an enhancement to the front panel Display TAP so you can distinguish an enabled/disabled Toppy from the front panel somehow <g>.)

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomezz
Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:44 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3873 Location: Buckingham
Been playing with using both Toppys yesterday and run into a number of problems:-

1) Tried the Rx patch I saw mentioned but could not get that to work with any of the four remote control code sets listed for Topfield for my OFA URC 7556.

2) Looked at the RemoteExtenderToppy2 TAP (removing the Re patch) but cannot find anywhere the five digit decimal code numbers need to program the remote (I have no data cable).

3) Tried the KeyStopperON and KeyStopperOFF TAPs but the first one blanked the screen when the keys were unlocked and only showed the screen with the keys locked. But if I could sort this out it it may be my favoured option especially as it would mean using up only one of the device keys on my remote. Any ideas were I am going wrong? It is as though I have an anti-Ds patch installed.

For now the piece of cardboard continues to work well.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomezz
Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 3873 Location: Buckingham
I am now trying using KeyStopperOFF on both Toppies but this means turning one Toppy on and pressing the AV key *then* turning the other Toppy on so I end up with one locked and one unlocked.

Anyone got the KeyStopperON version to work for them? I was hoping it would turn the second Toppy on locked and with its AV light on.

_________________
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dannyc
Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 8:50 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 140
gomezz wrote:

2) Looked at the RemoteExtenderToppy2 TAP (removing the Re patch) but cannot find anywhere the five digit decimal code numbers need to program the remote (I have no data cable).


The code list a couple of replies back from underquark is what you want. Just left-pad the first code with 0s until it is 5 numbers long.

I programmed my remote via a JP1 cable, and have the function buttons also switching a scart box at the same time via macros.

Danny.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 2 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum