Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  TF5810: bugs, quirks, annoyances

Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
nwhitfield
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:50 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9567 Location: London
Since we don't yet have the database set up to track information for the 5810, I'd be grateful if people can post summaries of specific issues, or requests for changes, in this thread, so I can keep track of them all easily.

Thanks,

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R2-D2
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
Bugs:
  • Silent startup: when it starts up on BBC4 (off air) then you can change channel (to, say, BBC1) and it will be silent. A press of V+ restores the volume.
  • Archive view ("File List"): line above the button descriptions at the bottom is wrong. Appears to be data from the previous item as you move around and the disk usage is usually missing (and when it does appear it's thoroughly corrupt).
  • EPG in grid view: "R" and "Rs" markers often appear on the wrong item in the grid (but are correct on the upper description box and in the list view).
  • Remote buttons generate wrong codes for TAPs (in particular the Red button).
  • Missing the start of programmes by a few seconds, even on "reliable" channels like the BBC ones.
  • Alternate instancing for clashes does not work deep enough before failing. So, for example, when two consecutive 30min programmes (both with alternative instances) are clashing with a new 1 hour timer, only the first 30min programme will be offered to be moved, then the mechanism will fail (because there's still a clash) and only offer to delete timers (exiting this deletion prompt and repeating the process will then offer to move the second programme, which will allow the clashing timer to be set).
  • PiP button does not work like on the TF5000 (giving different PiP sizes and then off), but instead rotates the PiP, making the Next button almost redundant. If the sizing is not believed to be useful then maybe the PiP button should just toggle the PiP on and off.
  • Unnecessary "A recording is starting..." (CYR) prompts (if the user can manually return to what they were watching before the prompt interrupted then the interruption is clearly unnecessary).

Annoyances:
  • "Series Link Clash" prompt does not explain which timer it's trying to set, and does not offer a choice to set the Series Link anyway in the hope that this new episode will appear at some point later as a non-clashing repeat.
  • Missing option to quickly include the timeshift buffer in a new instant recording (used to be in the "Recording" item on the main menu).
  • Inability to adjust an instant recording's duration once it's set to record until after the current or next programme.
  • Cannot get to the EPG by pressing the Guide button when in the File List (and maybe other places?).
  • Cannot get to the File List by pressing the Archive button when in the EPG and many other screens.
  • Timers view ("Timer Setting"): LCNs are not right-justified and channel names are not aligned.
  • Recording file names: multiple timers may be set at once for the same programme, and this messes up the algorithm that decides the filename (so you can get things like "Prog-2-2-2.rec"). Either the existing timers should be checked in addition to the recordings when a timer (and its filename) is set, or the choice of filename should be left to when the timer actually starts (and maybe left as "Prog.rec" until then).
  • Series Link limit: no idea what the "limit" of 16 Series Links actually means in real terms (and, if it's something significant, why is the limit not enforced?).
  • White button means different concepts on different screens (including the important "delete" concept), as do other buttons. Personally, I think this ought to be made consistent, at the expense of compatibility with the TF5800's button configuration.
  • The EPG in grid view allows you to type an LCN to navigate to that channel quickly. It would be nice if this were available in the list view, too.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:56 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4733
[Edit: Wrong thread!]
View user's profile Send private message
arronba
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:23 am Reply with quote
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 Posts: 1
Well bit the bullet and now a little lighter in pocket have a TF5810. Had a 5800 previously. Major problem though...... I don't get any audio when connected through HDMI. It works fine on PS3 on same cable and Input on TV settings. Strange though that it does pick the picture and audio up when scanning for channels on the TV, but it's not as good picture when TV input not on HDMI. As it works for the PS3 I presume it's the topfield at fault. Any ideas?!?!?!?
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:15 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9567 Location: London
I've made a start on updating the database, though I still have a fair bit to do - especially noting Freeview Playback issues that are present on both machines.

Meanwhile, here are details of 5.15.08 so far.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2326
5810 arrived on Monday. Set up a number of series links.

Monday's 2 recordings worked ok.

On tuesday, I realised that the number of timed recordings was
greater than 16 so removed a couple of recordings to get below 16.
(wasn't sure if the 16 limit referred to the total number
of different series linked programs.)

Sorted the timer list into time order. Unit left in standby.

Tuesday evening: First 2 recordings did not start.

Emmerdale at 19:00 and Eastenders at 19:30.

Holby at 20:00 worked ok.

Unit left in standby all this time.

After 21:00 checked timer list. Next tuesdays entries were there but in
reverse time order. ie holby 20:00, eastenders 19:30, emmerdale 19:00.

Sort put them back correctly.

Not a very good start !!!!

TU-CTH100 worked ok - very useful standby m/c.

Chris

Update:
******

19/3 Unit left in standby after above sort.
Emmerdale 19:00 wednesday recorded ok.

20/3 Checked timer settings - emmerdale missing 26/3, but
was in EPG with SL flag.
Appeared in timer settings a few minutes later but was
positioned after an entry for 27/3. Sort on time fixed it.
itv1 19:00 recorded ok
bbc1 20:00 recorded ok
bbc1 21:00 recorded ok
itv1 21:00 failed to record.
Left unit in standby throughout. At 21:00 the display was itv1.
Before switching unit on as 22:15 to check recordings noticed a tiny symbol
flashing on display - looked liked a square with an "x" in the top half segment. (Now worked this one out with a magnifying glass - it's a clock symbol)
The appauling manual has no section on the tf5810 display. If there is
then I can't find it.

Is it possible to check both tuners for signal quality ????

21/3 Checked timer settings - a new SL has appeared by magic.
more4 06:00 180 mins 22/03 - More4 preview
I've nothing else remotely linked to this.

Another little gem - I've got time shifting set to NO but I can still rewind live tv.

Set up bbc2 and itv1 SL for 14:00 today - worked ok. Indeed itv1 didn't start until nearly 14:05 but caught the beginning of the program.

Checked timer settings - eastenders SL has disappeared.
Checked EPG - No SL on eastenders and itv1 at 17:30 is broadcasting Q PM radio !!!!

I've not even watched a recording yet - just set up some SL's and monitored its progress. The phrase useless springs to mind.


Last edited by ccs on Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:26 pm; edited 9 times in total
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:42 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9567 Location: London
The limit is series links, not individual timers.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:48 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2326
Hi,

I've been updating my previous post in this section.

Let me know if this isn't appropriate.

Cheers
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:24 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
You can do it if you want, but I think a new message will get people's attention. I don't think merely editing your post will count as a new post, so it will probably go unnoticed.

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
Andy K
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3513 Location: Owner of 3 Topfields
I noticed it. You noticed it !
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:50 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2326
ccs wrote:
5810 arrived on Monday. Set up a number of series links.

Monday's 2 recordings worked ok.

On tuesday, I realised that the number of timed recordings was
greater than 16 so removed a couple of recordings to get below 16.
(wasn't sure if the 16 limit referred to the total number
of different series linked programs.)

Sorted the timer list into time order. Unit left in standby.

Tuesday evening: First 2 recordings did not start.

Emmerdale at 19:00 and Eastenders at 19:30.

Holby at 20:00 worked ok.

Unit left in standby all this time.

After 21:00 checked timer list. Next tuesdays entries were there but in
reverse time order. ie holby 20:00, eastenders 19:30, emmerdale 19:00.

Sort put them back correctly.

Not a very good start !!!!

TU-CTH100 worked ok - very useful standby m/c.

Chris

Update:
******

19/3 Unit left in standby after above sort.
Emmerdale 19:00 wednesday recorded ok.

20/3 Checked timer settings - emmerdale missing 26/3, but
was in EPG with SL flag.
Appeared in timer settings a few minutes later but was
positioned after an entry for 27/3. Sort on time fixed it.
itv1 19:00 recorded ok
bbc1 20:00 recorded ok
bbc1 21:00 recorded ok
itv1 21:00 failed to record.
Left unit in standby throughout. At 21:00 the display was itv1.
Before switching unit on as 22:15 to check recordings noticed a tiny symbol
flashing on display - looked liked a square with an "x" in the top half segment. (Now worked this one out with a magnifying glass - it's a clock symbol)
The appauling manual has no section on the tf5810 display. If there is
then I can't find it.

Is it possible to check both tuners for signal quality ????

21/3 Checked timer settings - a new SL has appeared by magic.
more4 06:00 180 mins 22/03 - More4 preview
I've nothing else remotely linked to this.

Another little gem - I've got time shifting set to NO but I can still rewind live tv.

Set up bbc2 and itv1 SL for 14:00 today - worked ok. Indeed itv1 didn't start until nearly 14:05 but caught the beginning of the program.

Checked timer settings - eastenders SL has disappeared.
Checked EPG - No SL on eastenders and itv1 at 17:30 is broadcasting Q PM radio !!!!

I've not even watched a recording yet - just set up some SL's and monitored its progress. The phrase useless springs to mind.


Just highlighting my progress
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
Andy K wrote:
I noticed it. You noticed it !


But I wouldn't have noticed it if he hadn't posted his message about the appropriateness of updating a post!

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
ccs
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2326
A bit of a clue, perhaps...

First, I tune my digital tv to itv1 and power off.
Switch back on and check EPG. itv1 has "now and next" entries but the rest of the week is "no event information". (same with channel4+1)
They never get updated. Tune to bbc1 and they both get updated.
Switch to standby and back straight to itv1 and they are still ok.

Nearly the same thing happens to the Toppy.
Tune to itv1 and switch to standby.
Switch on - itv1 EPG only ever gets "now and next" entries.
Tune to bbc1 and itv1 EPG is fine.
However, switching to standby, unlike the tv, looses the entries if the toppy was tuned to itv1.

I'm using the Belmont transmitter. Only itv1 and 4+1 appear to be affected. Other CH48 stations are ok.
View user's profile Send private message
billmars
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:26 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 761
ccs wrote:
Nearly the same thing happens to the Toppy.
Tune to itv1 and switch to standby.
Switch on - itv1 EPG only ever gets "now and next" entries.
Tune to bbc1 and itv1 EPG is fine.
However, switching to standby, unlike the tv, looses the entries if the toppy was tuned to itv1.

I'm using the Belmont transmitter. Only itv1 and 4+1 appear to be affected. Other CH48 stations are ok.


I did hear somewhere else that ITV1 had stopped transmitting something to do with its ID from Belmont. Maybe this pertinent.

Just checked this before actually posting, and it appears it is a problem with the analogue service, so probably not significant. But you never know!

_________________
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
ccs
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:51 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2326
ccs wrote:
5810 arrived on Monday. Set up a number of series links.

Monday's 2 recordings worked ok.

On tuesday, I realised that the number of timed recordings was
greater than 16 so removed a couple of recordings to get below 16.
(wasn't sure if the 16 limit referred to the total number
of different series linked programs.)

Sorted the timer list into time order. Unit left in standby.

Tuesday evening: First 2 recordings did not start.

Emmerdale at 19:00 and Eastenders at 19:30.

Holby at 20:00 worked ok.

Unit left in standby all this time.

After 21:00 checked timer list. Next tuesdays entries were there but in
reverse time order. ie holby 20:00, eastenders 19:30, emmerdale 19:00.

Sort put them back correctly.

Not a very good start !!!!

TU-CTH100 worked ok - very useful standby m/c.

Chris

Update:
******

19/3 Unit left in standby after above sort.
Emmerdale 19:00 wednesday recorded ok.

20/3 Checked timer settings - emmerdale missing 26/3, but
was in EPG with SL flag.
Appeared in timer settings a few minutes later but was
positioned after an entry for 27/3. Sort on time fixed it.
itv1 19:00 recorded ok
bbc1 20:00 recorded ok
bbc1 21:00 recorded ok
itv1 21:00 failed to record.
Left unit in standby throughout. At 21:00 the display was itv1.
Before switching unit on as 22:15 to check recordings noticed a tiny symbol
flashing on display - looked liked a square with an "x" in the top half segment. (Now worked this one out with a magnifying glass - it's a clock symbol)
The appauling manual has no section on the tf5810 display. If there is
then I can't find it.

Is it possible to check both tuners for signal quality ????

21/3 Checked timer settings - a new SL has appeared by magic.
more4 06:00 180 mins 22/03 - More4 preview
I've nothing else remotely linked to this.

Another little gem - I've got time shifting set to NO but I can still rewind live tv.

Set up bbc2 and itv1 SL for 14:00 today - worked ok. Indeed itv1 didn't start until nearly 14:05 but caught the beginning of the program.

Checked timer settings - eastenders SL has disappeared.
Checked EPG - No SL on eastenders and itv1 at 17:30 is broadcasting Q PM radio !!!!

I've not even watched a recording yet - just set up some SL's and monitored its progress. The phrase useless springs to mind.


22/3 Worked ok
23/3 Worked ok - including concurrent recordings bbc1/itv1 20:00

24/3 Checked timer settings - one has appeared between 30th and 31st march for 29th march 09:45 duration 1320 minutes. Its on channel 45, lottery Xtra - rather apt.
emmerdale 19:00 worked ok.
unit switched on at 19:59, bbc1, for eastenders but did not record, Timer icon was flashing but no red REC indicator. Checked timer settings at 20:50 - entry still there for 20:00-20:30

25/3 above entry now gone. All SL timers from Sunday onwards are 1 hour early - BST.
itv1 19:00 1hr worked ok
bbc1 19:30 1/2 hr worked ok
bbc1 20:00 1hr worked ok

26/3 Checked timer settings - another phantom series link has appeared. Fri 28th March 17:45 Newsbeat - a radio1 program linked to eastenders !!!


Last edited by ccs on Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:13 pm; edited 4 times in total
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 4
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum