Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAPs  ~  Info Viewer - replacement for topfields default infobox

Page 9 of 9
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
R2-D2
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:21 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
Nimbus wrote:
Does anyone know why these keys work with the RemoteExtender TAP, but not the [Re] Remote Extender patch?
Yes, because the TAP invented those short codes. There's a short mapping between the codes here as well as more detailed info in EMJB's Toppy Key Handling doc.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nimbus
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Jan 2006 Posts: 581 Location: Leicestershire. 7 miles from the Waltham transmitter...
Thanks R2.

I've actually already tried both these numbers for the various keys but neither seem to work when I have [Re] applied.

For example, I have the Exit key as 0x105 although I'm using the RE TAP. I can't get on the Toppy right now, but this how I have it in my current ini file.

_________________
5.13.65 Current Patches
WD20EARS 2TB - Tubosat SATA-IDE converter

TAPs in load order : Font Manager 1 | TF5000 Display v1.26 | Remote Extender 1.6 | Description Extender 2.23 | Info Viewer 1.7 | Media Manager 1.5 | mei2archive BETA 3.5 | QuickJump 1.64 | Goldfish 0.5 | Power Manager 2.0 | UK Auto Scheduler 0.73 | EPGnavigator 6.1 | WSSKiller 2.12d
View user's profile Send private message
R2-D2
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Dec 2006 Posts: 12149
If it's interpreting param2 at all (which it has to be, if those codes work when the RemoteExtender TAP is running) then it could easily be doing some "validation" first.

_________________
Troubleshooting -- User Manual -- Dark Side of the Matrix: Firmwares and Patches
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bytheedge
Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:06 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Oct 2008 Posts: 17
When changing channel the info box flickers a few times before it disappears.

I've got a 5810 with infoview 1.7. No other TAPS are running.

Any help much appreciated.

G.
View user's profile Send private message
DefineByte
Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 221 Location: UK
I've had it do that before. Have you tried changing the load order of your TAPs (I'm assuming you have more than one)?

_________________
TF5800 250GB 5.13.65+patches AutoStart: Power Restore 0.7.6, EIT Sub 0.6 SnG, SecCache (UK) 0.4, Extend 1.7, Info Viewer 1.9 DE, QuickJump 1.72, UK Auto Scheduler 0.73.1, EPGnavigator 6.1b (simonc/biggsd), Filer 2.21, TF5000Display 1.53a Other TAPs: Channel Manager 5.1, CutAds 1.3, FastScanGUI 0.6a, HDDInfo 2.3a, HDFW 2.4, JoinAds 1.3, Signal Monitor 0.53, SimpleCharEditor 3.09, Sudoku 1.5, TAP Commander 1.34, Testpatterns 1.2
View user's profile Send private message
bytheedge
Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:55 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 09 Oct 2008 Posts: 17
DefineByte wrote:
I've had it do that before. Have you tried changing the load order of your TAPs (I'm assuming you have more than one)?


Only that TAP installed, have removed the others to check if there was a conflict.
View user's profile Send private message
Andy2No
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:33 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 190
I was using just the standard built in info box for quite a while, but it's mostly nonsense now - random characters or info about a program from a different time of day.

I decided to try Info Box again. 1.7 seemed to work, but only when changing channels. It didn't open when I pressed the i button.

The most recent one before that one which I've kept is 1.3.1, so I put that one on. It seems fine, so far.

I'm not sure if there's an archive of older versions of taps. If someone wants the file, maybe to add to one, let me know.

_________________
TF5800PVR with recommended firmware
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:41 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2469
I doubt you'll get any takers, the last post on this thread was nearly 10 years ago.

Still, you never know.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Andy2No
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 190
Yes, I'm aware of that, ccs.

As the Toppy gets older, changes to the broadcasting standards will cause more and more problems with using it. At some point, it probably won't be usable any more. This is a solution to one of those problems.

I didn't feel the need for it, last year. I definitely didn't ten years ago. Now, I find it useful.

It's quite likely no one will find this thread, who needs to, but I happened to find it while looking for a solution to the problem, so I posted my findings here.

I don't subscribe to the "This thread is old, start a new one" philosophy. Keeping related ideas together is a lot more useful.

_________________
TF5800PVR with recommended firmware
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:20 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 89
Do you use use MyStuff ? or just the native Toppy interface

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800
Andy2No
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 190
I've never tried MyStuff. I find the native interface, with a few TAPs added, is fine.

I don't really see the point in loading it down with more software than I need to, especially as all the extra channels that keep getting added put more demands on memory - at least until I delete most of them.

UKAS (UK Auto Search) is the main thing that makes it work, for me, and QuckJump for ad skipping. TAP Commander is useful too. So if Channel Remover.

I use EPG Navigator, Power Manager, Line Bar and Automove too, but I could live without those.

I also use Remote Extender, which I guess I need, but I've forgotten which TAPs it's important for.

_________________
TF5800PVR with recommended firmware
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:17 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 89
The reason I ask is because you don't get this problem
Andy2No wrote:
I was using just the standard built in info box for quite a while, but it's mostly nonsense now - random characters or info about a program from a different time of day.

with MyStuff as it provides a replacement info box which works perfectly. The difference between MyStuff and the native interface is night and day I can't imagine living with the toppy interface on a day to day basis after using MyStuff
Cool

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 01/05/18
View user's profile Send private message 5800

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 9 of 9
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum