Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Does such a thing exist? Freeview recording to network?

Page 1 of 1
adrianlodge
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:08 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 May 2009 Posts: 50 Location: Winchester
I'm wondering if what I have in mind is possible?

I would like to be able to record freeview channels to a current shared network server (or other central device), so that they can be viewed on a couple of different TVs in the house. I don't mind having to have some sort of recording/playback device on each TV.

Basically a couple of Toppys that will record to a central disk would do.

All with a nice MyStuff type scheduling / playback interface of course!

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -PeXl
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/9/12
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2409
An enigma2 / ViX box can easliy do what you want.

There are a few threads on here describing them.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:30 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I'd agree.

Or, if you don't want indpendent playback (i.e. two different things playing at once), but just want to be able to play recordings in rooms other than where the Toppy lives, then you can distribute the output from the Toppy around the house in other ways. (e.g. HDMI transmitter + receivers, over a LAN connection).

If that's any use to you, I'll look up the ones we've been using.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
adrianlodge
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:30 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 17 May 2009 Posts: 50 Location: Winchester
ccs wrote:
An enigma2 / ViX box can easliy do what you want.

There are a few threads on here describing them.


I'll do some trawling - thanks for your help.

Just a quick question though -

Would I be able to schedule recording on a "master" device, but have a smaller/cheaper box for just playback?
I have a popcorn VTEN - would I be able to use that for just playback?

thanks again

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -PeXl
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/9/12
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:58 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
With an Enigma2 device, you only need a web browser for both scheduling and playback. Or something that will run Kodi (previously XBMC).

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:02 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Try this thread General Discussion on Toppy Replacements or Help With Migration To Enigma2 PVRs e.g. MiracleBox, XTrend

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Darucla
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1533 Location: Norwich
The Enigma 2 devices do record to network location if required. Very simple. But if you have a NAS, then you can also just copy files off your Topfield to the NAS, and they would then be available to any suitable device on the network. I have a few PopcornHour boxes. and they work well for this purpose. Many TVs now have network playback as well, and there are a number of other devices, including Xbox 1, android boxes, mobile phones etc.

To make life easier, something like a Plex Media Server (free program) running on a PC/NAS/Apple etc will provide meta data from the internet, and keep track of everything you have watched. Personally, I have ripped some of my DVDs/Blurays/Cds to the network as well as the recordings off-air, and really only ever watch/listen via this source. "Some" because I keep running out of space.
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum