Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Mystery error

Page 1 of 1
jimi
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:31 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 73
Was watching a recording and a box came up with
Quote:
memory deallocation error 160

Cleared after a minute or so, playback was unaffected. Anyone know what this is ?

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+PeTa
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 26/01/16
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 8:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
This just looks like a software glitch - suggest you just power the toppy off at the wall for 2 minutes to force a hard reset.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:22 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 73
Cheers
I'll give that a try, as soon as I get a gap in the wife's recordings Laughing

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+PeTa
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 26/01/16
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:30 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
That looks like a MyStuff issue with insufficient memory. How many channels do you have?

See Toppy Memory for more details.

I'd also suggest that you adjust your MyStuff settings to automatically shut down overnight, which should also help with temporary memory issues.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:52 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 73
juwlz wrote:
That looks like a MyStuff issue with insufficient memory. How many channels do you have?

See Toppy Memory for more details.

I'd also suggest that you adjust your MyStuff settings to automatically shut down overnight, which should also help with temporary memory issues.

Julie

Seems doubtful, I have 44 channels and 12Mb (11.5 to be exact) free memory Nothing has changed recently (other than the recent channel retune) I've been running the same settings for years and have never seen this error before (or since) so I don't see any reason to change anything else at the moment. Did the hard reset as suggested by Geoff and I'll see how it goes, thanks for the suggestions I'll keep them in mind.

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+PeTa
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 26/01/16
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:42 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
OK, fair enough. But I'd still recommend a regular reboot.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
I'm with Juwlz - use MS to shutdown at 00:30 (say) and perhaps use an EPG scan at 04:00. This will mean that the toppy will go into standby overnight resulting in freeing/cleaning memory. You won't miss any recordings as the toppy will startup from standby should it need to do a recording.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimi
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:23 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 73
Whilst I appreciate the advice, look at it from my point of view. I've run my Toppy 24/7 since I bought it in early 2006, obviously it's been powered down/rebooted quite a few times but never on a daily basis.
Now apart from a few glitches caused by a failing PSU (capacitors), the occasional manmade problem (normally my own fault) and the usual problems caused by channel lineup changes it (the Toppy) has been trouble free.
Why fix what isn't broke ? I think if I was going to get memory problems, I'd have seen them before 11+ years had elapsed ?
When I think about it, the Toppy is one of the longest lived, most used, most reliable piece of consumer electronics I own (and with the addition of MyStuff the most user friendly) Cool

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+PeTa
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 26/01/16
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 682
Just had the same error - I didn't find this thread before I started a new one at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21156

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD5000AVJB added April '12
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
jimi
Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:09 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 73
All I did was to power it down, unplug for 10 minutes and put it back on, haven't seen the error again (so far Smile )

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+PeTa
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 26/01/16
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum