Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  MyStuff  ~  Out of Memory: 19

Page 1 of 1
RufusA
Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 12:51 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
SWMBO has phoned to say that the living room Toppy (a 5810) is playing up displaying the above error message, then a black screen before scanning files and folders.

I asked her to kick off MyInfo and it reported only 3MB free Shocked which seems low.

I know the number after the Out of Memory error gives a clue as to the cause, but haven't seen 19 mentioned on these forums before.

I'll extract and post the MyInfo file tonight, but any helpful suggestions as to what specifically to look at would be appreciated.

If it's any help, we don't have too much in the was of dross or duplicate channels, have around 40 PowerSearches defined, but a 1.5 TB disc installed relatively full of short kid's programmes!

Thanks - Rufus.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 8:20 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I think we'll need to wait for BobD to tell us what code 19 means. (Although most of them are 100+, are you sure it wasn't 119?)

I have way more than 40 PSes, so I don't think that's the cause, but you memory is certainly critically low (see Toppy Memory). Anything below 5MB free is going to cause corruptions of some sort, so I think we probably need to see your MyInfo log to get an idea of why it's that low.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RufusA
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:35 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
Thanks juwlz. I'm pretty sure the error is 19 and not 119, but it only flashes up on the screen for a briefest moment so there is a small possibility we missed a leading 1!

Pasted below is the MyInfo log from the box before I started playing:

Code:

MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 27/5/2014 at 22:53

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 990 seconds from boot

System ID: 457
TV Output: Type = PAL, Video = RGB
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.15.09T dated Sep 02 2010
Base firmware version: 5.15.09

Running TAPS:
   Slot 0: PcControl B1.4  :  Toppy control from PC
   Slot 1: SecCache (UK) v0.4  :  Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
   Slot 2: EPG2MEI v0.96  :  Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
   Slot 3: Extend v1.7  :  Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
   Slot 4: Font Manager 1.0d  :  Manage TAP Fonts
   Slot 5: MyInfo B5.6  :  Displays & records Toppy basic info
   Slot 6: MHEG On/Off A3  :  MHEG control
   Slot 7: MyStuff 6.5  :  UI Replacement
   Slot 8: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6  :  Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
   Slot 9: TAP Commander 1.34  :  Configure and manage TAPs
   Slot 10: UK Subtitle 1.9  :  Toggle subtitles with a button press
   Slot 11: FFWD v0.7  :  Super fast forward and rewind
   Slots 12 - 15 not used

Installed patch list:-  Ab Af Bf Bq C0 Ce Ck Cp Cw De Ec Ef Eg Em Ep Er Es Ev F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot Pc Pe R Ra Rh Rm Rp Rs S Sd Sf Sl Sr Sx Td Te Tf Tp Tq Tt Vr Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009  modified thus:

Patch Decode Link - Will explain your patches:
   http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbAfBfBqC0CeCkCpCwDeEcEfEgEmEpErEsEvFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPcPeRRaRhRmRpRsSSdSfSlSrSxTdTeTfTpTqTtVrXwXl

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 47 TV channels and 0 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 22 are: 11, 12, 17, 29, 32, 46, 57, 82, 240,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 23 are: 1, 2, 7, 9, 70, 80,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 25 are: 10, 20, 25, 27, 30, 31, 34, 38, 44, 54, 55, 61, 66, 72,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 26 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 15, 28, 33,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 28 are: 18, 19, 21, 24, 45, 47,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 29 are: 8, 64, 75,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 4 MB,  Available: 3 MB
Disk - Total: 1397 GB, Free: 178 GB

1072 recordings (852 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 42 folders (+ 7 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:16 (d:h:m)


I've since removed TAP Commander and PcControl from the Autostart and deleted another half a dozen channels to give me a little breathing space.

I also deleted the EPG.mei file and allowed the box to recreate it.

After doing all that and allowing it to settle down I launched Tap Commander it shows that MyStuff is consuming 7.6MB which still seems quite high!

Rufus.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyStuff 6.5; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; FFWD v0.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 25/5/14
View user's profile Send private message
BobD
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:38 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 4215 Location: Nottingham
19 is an actual out of memory error (many of them really aren't). It is complaining that it cant get the memory to read in the epg data. It tries to chunk this, so never tries to read the whole thing in one go, so something must be eating up the memory on your toppy quite badly.

_________________
FW: ChunkyWizard Recommended
TAPs:
MyStuff (always one version ahead of everyone else!), and recommended support TAPS
MyStuff skins, manual and latest version: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk
Known bugs & forthcoming fixes: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk/Bugs.shtml
Changes coming in the next version: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk/NextVersion.shtml
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 9:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3942
The MyInfo.log looks ok and you don't appear to have any unusual taps that could waste memory (other than having both PcControl and TapCommander loaded - which you have now removed)

The only thing I can think of is that the EPG.mei was excessively large for some reason. This could cause EPG2MEI to consume a large amount of memory when it is generating a difference file with the previous EPG.mei.
Note: This is only conjecture; I've no idea what algorithm EPG2MEI uses.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 9:26 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Are you using rt2mei or as2mei?

If so, that can double or treble the size of your EPG.mei file, depending on your settings and which channels you collect RT / AS data for

As you have a 5810, that will mean you run out of memory very quickly.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RufusA
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 3:34 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
Good point about epg size / rt2mei.

I was experimenting with it a number of months ago, but my nslu2 has been sitting unplugged for the last few weeks. It's possible something has been left behind which I need to tidy up.

I'll take a proper look tonight, and also have a dig around at file sizes for various key MyStuff files, there could be a clue in there somewhere.

SWMBO has reported that the box has been stable today, so gaining back a MB or so memory has solved my immediate problems.

Thanks everyone for your help.

Rufus.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyStuff 6.5; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; FFWD v0.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 25/5/14
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 6:59 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
RufusA wrote:
Good point about epg size / rt2mei.

I was experimenting with it a number of months ago, but my nslu2 has been sitting unplugged for the last few weeks. It's possible something has been left behind which I need to tidy up.
Possible, but EPG2MEI should have cleared out everything old by now.
Quote:
SWMBO has reported that the box has been stable today, so gaining back a MB or so memory has solved my immediate problems.
That still only gets you to 4MB, and 5MB is generally considered to be the critical mark.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3942
Check that you don't have an old .mei file created by rt2mei on the toppy.
It may be that EPG2MEI is processing this (even though it is way out of date).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RufusA
Posted: Thu May 29, 2014 11:00 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
I have had a dig around on my Toppy and have the following files:

EPG.mei - 3.8MB
EPG.raw - 1.6MB
EPG_diff.mei - 2kB
MyStuff.mei - 2.5MB

The MyStuff.mei hasn't been updated in a while, and my settings are set to pull data from the EPG.mei.

Would it be very bad to delete all these files when the box isn't busy, and leave it tuned in to a suitable channel to grab fresh versions?

Rufus.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyStuff 6.5; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9; FFWD v0.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 25/5/14
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Thu May 29, 2014 12:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3414
RufusA wrote:
Would it be very bad to delete all these files when the box isn't busy, and leave it tuned in to a suitable channel to grab fresh versions?

Rufus.


Use the menu option in Topmanager to remove bad EPG files.
Mystuff on the Toppy will then complain about missing EPG and then recreate a new set within 10 to 30 minutes (if you don't mess around with the remote)

If you are not using RT data perhaps set the Mystuff menu option to only collect for, say, 3 days in advance - this may/will give more free RAM.

Also cold boot by switching off at the mains for two minutes. You could have some crashed software eating memory and just putting the box into standby doesn't reset all the software/firmware.

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mstombs
Posted: Thu May 29, 2014 2:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 935
There's an unnecessary lcn 240 in the MyInfo log above.

I wonder if the problem is the number of recordings on the disk, MyStuff is very slow to start up (Loading phase) with so many recordings (I have similar on a 5800). MyStuff reads the header of every file and reconciles with its recordingInfo file - which will also be huge.

Quote:
Memory - Free: 4 MB, Available: 3 MB
Disk - Total: 1397 GB, Free: 178 GB

1072 recordings (852 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 42 folders (+ 7 empty folders)


I believe the 178GB free, the 852GB must be a MyInfo bug (integer overflow?)

I know Toppy disks are not supposed to need de-fragmenting, but that's not a big percentage of freee space on that disk...
View user's profile Send private message TF5800
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3942
I've just had one of these "19 Out of Memory message" and the box crashed about 10 seconds later so didn't have a chance to run MyInfo Note: definitely 19 and not 119 as surmised in a prior post of this thread.

The remote hadn't been touched for at least 30 minutes.

After the system rebooted, I had a quick look around (MS reported 7.2 Mb memory unused and this was unchanged after 30 mins).

Ran MyInfo and saw that Interactive was enabled and I suspect this was the cause of the problem (had a couple of other funny crashes over the last 4 weeks (anfyfras has repaired the PSU)).

I used to have MhegOnOff in Auto start but removed it because I got annoyed at it turning on Interactive when I accidentally pressed Text (I thought just disabling it in the native menu would have been sufficient to stop it every starting, no idea how it got re-enabled).

Moral: Check Interactive is not enabled

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:00 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3942
Googling implies that Interactive Services is changed to a default value when the box is reset (e.g. as when performing a scan). My guess is that the reset turns IS On (I haven't checked that this is the case).

Have now reinstated the MhegOnOff tap (the tap name already prevents the Red Button being used to enable Interactive Services).

I have also modified "Quick Jump" to attempt to jump forward 5 seconds when the Text key (the alternative start key) is pressed.

This should prevent IS being enabled by accident

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3942
While it seemed ok at the time, I've just noticed that the Text key is still allowing Mheg to start.

So for anyone else afflicted with this :-
1) ensure QuickJump loads before MhegOnOff

2) If necessary, change the name of the MhegOnOff tap to MhegOnOffNowNrb1.tap (this configures the tap so that "you will not get confirmation that the MHEG engine has been shut down, the Red button will do nothing until the interactive services have loaded, and you will get the small top LH progress messages")

3) Configure QJ Text key to "Show Status" (I said +5 secs above)

4) In QJ, press OK when the "Text" item is selected (to show additional options) and change the "During live TV" option to Yes (this is what I had omitted to do previously)

Note: The QJ configuration screens can be accessed using "TopManager/PcControl/Tap Commander" ( or the TapCommander tap).You can also use either of these methods to change the tap load order

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum