Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Recording limit

Page 1 of 1
Bizman
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:47 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1702
Is there a maximum file size/duration that the Toppy can record? I was out for the start of the final stage of the 'Tour de Yorkshire' cycle race so it had been set to record, all 6 hours of it. I started to watch by chase-play about 2 hours after the start, skipping commercials and as the event was reaching its finale the recording unexpectedly ended. Luckily by then the highlights were being shown, so I am watching that.

Now my TV, a Samsung, has an annoying feature where auto shut down occurs after 4 hours, if the remote has not been used, so I change the volume setting part-way through to avoid it.

I was wondering if the Toppy has any equivalent feature to, for example, avoid recording all night if it misses the programme end.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
Have you got the Extend tap installed (it is not shown in your sig); this would extend an overrunning programme by up to 2 hours. Without Extend, the program should stop at the end of the "advertised" duration.

Unlikely, but is their a chance that the recording stopped because the toppy rebooted?

What duration does the recording show in the archive ?(although this can sometimes show the broadcast length rather than the actual length).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 8:03 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
As Geoff says, it seems most likely that the coverage overran its scheduled time, and without Extend, it simply stopped recording at the time that was expected. (Having said that, I'm not sure what the 5810 native firmware does in such cases, since you're running neither MyStuff nor Extend. I *THINK* the firmware makes use of the "Accurate" Recording signals in some way, but I forget how.)

There is certainly no Sleep function in the Toppy, and even scheduled shutdowns would wait until a recording had finished, if one was ongoing.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 9:57 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1702
The Toppy didn't reboot (it runs off a UPS), but it may be related to an incident with one of my cats landing on my lap causing remote buttons to be pressed at random. This stopped the chase play and I had to hunt to find how far I had got. It may be that the recording was stopped at the same time & I didn't notice it.
I did at one time install the Extend tap but I didn't notice it do anything so probably uninstalled it again. Must have another go. Thanks anyway for the suggestions.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 1:33 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1702
Looking through my files I see it was 2012 when I previously tried Extendv1.7 and I was not sure if I needed the [Ab] patch. My HDFW log files suggest I added it in June 2015, but I note that HDFW says it is not compatible with this firmware, so is it, or is it not needed on a 5810 [I have added it anyway]?

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 3:52 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
If you've got Extend running, and you haven't got MyStuff automatically padding your recordings, you'll have to edit Extend's ini file to not allow for the padding, otherwise, all of your recordings are likely to end up up to 2 hours longer than you expect because Extend's logic allows for Mystuff's default padding in the length of the timer, so it'll never see a signal when it's expecting one and will think it needs to extend the recording.

As to whether you truly need it, I've never tried using a 5810 without MyStuff, so I can't comment.

You don't need the Ab patch (that just enables the automatic addition of a bookmark at each signal, so that you can jump to the start of a recording easily).

You'll find more information about it at http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/taps.html#Extend

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 7:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1702
Thanks for the clarification, Julie, I will see how things progress.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 8:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
As Julie suggests, edit the .ini to specify 0 padding

In normal use, you may find that Extend doesn't appear to make any difference (this is to be expected as most channels do send end of programmes signals). Where it should come into it's own is where a programme is extended (e.g. an overrunning sports program) or has had a delayed start (and therefore still running when the expected stop time occurs).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 12:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3392
I have found that some of the .ini files generated by Channel Organiser have wrong operating hours, both for Extend and EPG2MEI. Some are shown as e.g. 0500 - 0700 instead of 0700 - 0500

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 1:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
You can't blame CO for the incorrect times in Extend.ini - it gets this info from whatever is stored in the Freeview.dat file - and this is unlikely to reflect current broadcast times because it is not being updated by anyone (unless I get around to updating/asking EMJB to put it on his site).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MikB
Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:42 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Sep 2006 Posts: 282 Location: West Midlands
Bizman wrote:
The Toppy didn't reboot (it runs off a UPS),


A logical quibble here, but mine runs off a UPS too and can still reboot when it has "a moment" -- think software glitch, period of bad signal, etc.

It may not reboot due to power loss, but there are other reasons Very Happy

_________________
Toppy Taps: http://toppy.signal11.org.uk

TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbCkEeEfEpHeKtRaRhRsSdStSyTeTfTpTsVr+Pf
TAPs: DescriptionExtender 2.1; MeiSearch 1.30; EPG Clean V1.01 Dev Version; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 12:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1702
Thanks for that snippet, I'll bear it in mind, although it has never happened while I have been watching during playback.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
MikB
Posted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 23 Sep 2006 Posts: 282 Location: West Midlands
One of the functions of the front panel board is to sense when you're not around, and do it then Smile

_________________
Toppy Taps: http://toppy.signal11.org.uk

TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbCkEeEfEpHeKtRaRhRsSdStSyTeTfTpTsVr+Pf
TAPs: DescriptionExtender 2.1; MeiSearch 1.30; EPG Clean V1.01 Dev Version; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum