Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  AV & other discussions  ~  My New Remote

Page 1 of 1
Bizman
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 2:32 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
I have just received a new replacement remote control for my 5810 and it is a great improvement on the old Toppy remote. The old one was well past its 'use by' date as the 'ok' button had failed catastrophically. The replacement has all the functionality of the original, although the button layout is slightly different and there are two additional buttons.

One of the 'extra' buttons acts as a shift key which in conjunction with a second button enables direct access to submenu items, only normally accessible with multiple button presses, e,g sleep timer

The case has a more solid feel to it being slightly wider and with a metallic faceplate. It comes with an A4 sheet explaining what all the buttons are for in both English and German. I was initially confused over the record button (with the red dot) and the red function button. On the new remote they are both red and the one that does the recording is not the one in the old Toppy record button position!

There are similar modes on the website other Toppy models. Use the remote finder at http://www.cpc.twelectronics.co.uk/ to locate.

Inside the battery compartment there is a 5-pin connector not mentioned elsewhere, so I suspect this is for testing/diagnostics during manufacture.

So far, for under 10 I am very happy with it.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3393
Which is the 'White' button?

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bizman
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
The white button with the >|< symbol is now the one below the 7 with two down arrows. Took me a while to fathom it Smile

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
Paladin
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:59 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 20 Apr 2006 Posts: 99 Location: Lichfield
I cannot see one for the TF5800, will the one for the 5810 do the job?
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:03 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Paladin wrote:
I cannot see one for the TF5800, will the one for the 5810 do the job?
No. They use different codes.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3393
Paladin wrote:
I cannot see one for the TF5800...

Just search for TF5800 on eBay; there's a few to choose from.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Paladin
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:03 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 20 Apr 2006 Posts: 99 Location: Lichfield
andyfras wrote:
Paladin wrote:
I cannot see one for the TF5800...

Just search for TF5800 on eBay; there's a few to choose from.


Thanks, I do not need one yet but was just wondering in case I do in the future.
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1707
When you do, you could try http://www.genuinecopies.tv/index.asp?brand=topfield&model=tf5800pvr if like me you have an aversion to eBay.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum